RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

JetJoe OWNERS thread

Reply
Old 10-19-2010, 09:20 PM
  #3126
BJ64
 
BJ64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,470
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Adrian Lewer

[sm=shades_smile.gif] Get ready for the bang...
I like a Man who's confident... [sm=bananahead.gif]

BJ
BJ64 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 10:27 PM
  #3127
Adrian Lewer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: melbournevictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 106
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Have ordered my bits this morning, I got the 2 pice tail pipe, shaft tunnel, o ring set, set of ceramic bearings, and a new fuel pump (just in case). When it all arrives I will let you all know. (my first order from jet joe china )
Adrian Lewer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 09:37 AM
  #3128
BJ64
 
BJ64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,470
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Your bits come in from China yet, Adrian?

BJ
BJ64 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 08:14 PM
  #3129
DaveJohansen
 
DaveJohansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Taber, AB, CANADA
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Quick question. In the picture I have 2 FOD screens. Mark sent me a FOD screen for my 1400, it's on the right . I had bought one from dream works, the left one. The larger on will not fit unless I cut the smaller ring, as it does not fit over starter motor.

The one Mark sent looks like it has to be installed inside the inlet underneath the starter motor inside of the 3 legs? Is that right?

Thanks

Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf98635.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	49.6 KB
ID:	1524207   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gc91356.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	133.8 KB
ID:	1524208  
DaveJohansen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 08:32 PM
  #3130
fw190pilot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mt. Vernon, IL
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

The fod screen goes under the cowl. Remove the cowl place the fod on the inlet and reinstall the cowl on top of the fod screen. Just be sure not to pinch any lines or wires whenn reinstalling the cowl. If nothing else have to give Jetjoe credit for a very clever fod screen design.
fw190pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 06:40 AM
  #3131
BJ64
 
BJ64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,470
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Adrian Lewer

Have ordered my bits this morning, I got the 2 pice tail pipe, shaft tunnel, o ring set, set of ceramic bearings, and a new fuel pump (just in case). When it all arrives I will let you all know. (my first order from jet joe china )
Anthing arrived yet mate?

BJ
BJ64 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:17 AM
  #3132
hapyjac2
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: tamarac, FL
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DaveJohansen

Quick question. In the picture I have 2 FOD screens. Mark sent me a FOD screen for my 1400, it's on the right . I had bought one from dream works, the left one. The larger on will not fit unless I cut the smaller ring, as it does not fit over starter motor.

The one Mark sent looks like it has to be installed inside the inlet underneath the starter motor inside of the 3 legs? Is that right?

Thanks

Dave

Dave,

just remove the blue cover and insert. The smaller FOD screen works great and is easy to install.
hapyjac2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 02:41 PM
  #3133
f6hlct
 
f6hlct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: kanata, ON, CANADA
Posts: 137
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

I just bench ran my new/used JJ1400 for the first time and it displays a bit of an odd start up. Once it gets to idle, everything else is ok though. I was told in the past with my JJ1200, that I should shut off my propane at 30K, but it will not start this way as it just sinks in RPM. Even if I let the propane stay connected up to 45K which is the set idle speed, it will sink to 37K on removal and take about 15 seconds to get back up to 45K again. As mentioned, it seems to run fine once stable at 45K. It sounds like there may not be enough Kero on the ramp up, but I am not sure what parameter to look at. Any suggestions?
f6hlct is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 09:08 PM
  #3134
fw190pilot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mt. Vernon, IL
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Set parameter27 to 27 or 28 and raise parameters 28,29, and 30 by 1 and try that. This should help but make sure it doesn't get too hot during fuel ramp.
fw190pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 04:36 AM
  #3135
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

I would also up the stability delay to about 50, decel delay to 20+ and reduce the egt max to 800
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 12:12 PM
  #3136
Mavericksa
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Louis TrichardtLimpopo, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Hi all jet joe owners,

I bought a second jj 1400 a while ago without any manual. I need an assembly and/or owners manual to replace parts etc. Is there any one that could help me with this???
Please mail me a copy to dreamwings@mweb.co.za
Will appreciate any help

Cheers
Mavericksa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 12:16 PM
  #3137
DaveJohansen
 
DaveJohansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Taber, AB, CANADA
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Quote:
dreamwings@mweb.co.za
sent you a copy

Dave
DaveJohansen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 03:05 AM
  #3138
Mavericksa
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Louis TrichardtLimpopo, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DaveJohansen

Quote:
dreamwings@mweb.co.za
sent you a copy

Dave
Dave,

Thank you so much for the owners manual and all your help!!! Appreciated.

Any one that still have an assembly manual for the JJ1400 specifically............please help.


Thanks !

Mavericksa
Mavericksa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 03:27 AM
  #3139
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Mavericksa

Any one that still have an assembly manual for the JJ1400 specifically............please help.

Thanks !

Mavericksa
I done a stripdown/rebuild thread sometime back on here, [link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=9458885]JJ1400 stripdown/rebuild[/link] you should get all you need from that.

Would be interesting to see Jetjoes instructions for the JJ1200 kit if anyone has them.
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 04:55 AM
  #3140
john4648
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 56
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Have a JJ1400 that am getting ready to list. Complete full autostart. Has new combustion chamber, NGV etc. Serial #606. Thinking in the $900 range.
email me at j@neb.rr.com if interested.
john4648 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 12:54 AM
  #3141
Mavericksa
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Louis TrichardtLimpopo, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Hallo all Jet Joe experts

Firstly, I wanna thank Xairflyer and Dave for their help with my assembly manual request. Xairflyer..........great thread and job done!!!!!!!

I also experienced the next problem and hope you guys can help me.
I have a JJ1400 #716. Since I bought it and installed it on a test bench, I have started it about 7 times ....... it run great!!!! I basically emptied a 1,5 liter tank with each run. The EGT never went higher than 400C. With the last start I heard that my starter engage and then released............engaged and release with the ramp up. I decided to dismantle the starter (still the starter that was on the JJ1200's) from the turbine and to check and clean the o-ring. I saw that the o-ring was worn out a bit and also cleaned the "bendix". The replacement o-ring I installed is a teeny little bit oversized (OD). When I started after o-ring replacement it seems that the starter/bendix did not release. My temps went up to 780C - and turbine shut off. Could it be that the starter/bendix did not release and more fuel was pumped by the pump to reach rump up revs and resulted in hot start??? I mean.......before o-ring replacement my turbine was working 100%.......[&:]

Please.......any ideas??

Mavericksa
Mavericksa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 08:22 PM
  #3142
fw190pilot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mt. Vernon, IL
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

If the starter doesn't release it will cause the turbine to overheat. You will also be lucky if it didn't destroy the starter motor. Easy fix for a worn starter oring is to simply flip it over. It will work at last almost as long as a new oring.
fw190pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 10:07 AM
  #3143
GSR
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 1,919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

If your temps never went over 400C your engine is not running. Adjust or replace your thermocouple.
GSR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:34 AM
  #3144
hapyjac2
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: tamarac, FL
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Hello Gents.

I have a jet Joe 1400 thats been in a box for a while. I'm not going to use it. I know it probably needs bearings and some TLC Comes with start up equip. 2 valves, ECU, (Regal), wire harness, engine mount, etc. no battery.
It may need a new starter motor since the leads are not attached to the starter motor. Even have the GSU and manual. I'm looking to get $500.00 for the whole box of stuff. shipped free in US, out side we can work a deal. If your interested write me a note for photos. Great for parts or could be fixed. It did run fine, before the bearings started geting noisy.

hapyjac2@aol.com

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca80576.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	36.6 KB
ID:	1542140   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw73561.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	34.7 KB
ID:	1542141   Click image for larger version

Name:	Us52588.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	36.6 KB
ID:	1542142  
hapyjac2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:22 AM
  #3145
streakflyer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Hi Everyone
                          Hope I'm in the correct thread as i have purchased a second hand JLT Turbine which i believe is a rebadged JETJOE 
                          I'am new to RC turbines and purchased this one just to bench run, I have read this forum thread and am now aware of the                                                 problems that have been encountered, This hasn't disheartened me as I do like to tinker.
                          I believe my engine to be basically ok at the moment although I cant feel the preload so that will need looking at.
re">   My main problem is the GB Hobbies ECU will not ramp the fuel pump on start up, it will run the pump to Prime ok
re">   I'm not sure if my radio set ( SANWA VANGUARD) will work with the ecu, although i know the radio gear works
                          I have set the radio to ecu as per instructions,
                          my manual start method is to spin on starter, apply glo power, open gas, it will then light up as expected then further motoring on the                               starter the engine will accelerate up to 25k rpm and 250c egt on gas, but no power to the fuel pump (0.0v) to ramp.
re">   Does this sound like an ecu fault

                          please help and many thanks  Adam
streakflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:52 AM
  #3146
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Yes, the minute the ecu see's 100c it should start running, check the ecu to make sure there are no burnt tracks on the pcb, I have fixed a few with this problem.
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 02:14 PM
  #3147
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,743
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Also check your GB ECU paramaters "start allowed RPM" and "start allowed EGT" to make sure theyre dialed in right.
i3dm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 12:55 PM
  #3148
streakflyer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Hi Xairflyer and i3dm

many thanks for your reply's
the ecu parameters are start allowed rpm =7 (7000rpm i guess) and start allowed egt =100 the engine has been to 25000rpm and 250c egt on gas and starter according to the display unit and it wont start the pump
so i opened up the ecu and found a burnt track (bottom right in pic) however there is good continuity across the track so I'm not sure if thats the problem, any thoughts ?
also should i strip the engine down to sort out the preload before attempting another start ?, Xairflyer I have read your thread regarding your rebuild of your jj1400, were there any ill affects of leaving out the rear o'ring? I'm assuming the rear bearing must be a good interference fit to stop the outer race rotating to leave the o'ring out ?

Regards Adam
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf99067.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	111.3 KB
ID:	1551345  
streakflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 12:57 PM
  #3149
streakflyer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

oops the burnt track is bottom left in the pic as it uploaded
Adam
streakflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 04:12 AM
  #3150
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetJoe OWNERS thread

Obviously if there is a burnt track, there is a problem with the ECU, chances are the component (more likely a mosfet) burnt out just before the track did, can you take a pic of the other side of the board.

Also can you make the pump run by connecting a battery, 1.5v is enough, disconnected from the ecu of course.

Removing O ring is not a problem, last tunnel I got for my wren did'nt even have the groove anymore, so it is obviously a better job.
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:39 AM.