Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Confuss on which engine to get

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Confuss on which engine to get

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2002, 12:58 AM
latinowl-RCU

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Confuss on which engine to get

I'm new to jets so please bare with me.
I've picked up a F-15 Sport Eagle made by Sunset
Models which I understand is no longer around.
It is a balsa / ply kit.
Wingspan 42.5
weight 7 lb
Engine 45 -77 DF
Fan Turbax 1 - 111
My question is what would be a better motor for this jet? I live in Colorado which has high elevation. Would a Rossi 53 or Jett 50 be enough
power for this jet? Any help will be welcome.
Old 01-03-2002, 01:13 AM
smaze17
My Feedback: (60)

Default Which Engine?

Hello latinowl. It sounds to me like a K&B .48 with a Turbax III fan unit would be perfect. I'm not, however, to familiar with the smaller DF models so make sure you get a second opinion. You can contact Jet Hanger Hobbies (Hawaiian Gardens, Ca. I believe) for more info.

Hope this helps at least a little.

Spencer Maze
CRCJA
Old 01-03-2002, 02:18 AM
latinowl-RCU

Thank You Spencer! It's a start.
Old 01-03-2002, 03:00 AM
Macgyver