Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Yellow Aircraft F18 Single Prototype

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Yellow Aircraft F18 Single Prototype

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2005, 01:47 AM
schematic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yellow Aircraft F18 Single Prototype

Ok i am a aero student engineer who has been given a kit yellow F/A 18 Hornet Single (ducted fan) to modify into a platform for some diagnostic equipment. What i need to determine is am i venturing into the abyss or can i satisfy the following strict design requirments.

Firstly 3kgs of sensitive fragile equipment is being added to the aircaft and it is not compact. Options currently are to attempt to slot the equipment into the cockpit area, however this is going to make a very nose heavy aircraft. If this option is taken i will need to make a new air intake just forward of the cockpit windshield to ventilate the equipment and probably two side outlets just forward of where a standard 24oz fuel tank would be located. (I can already hear people asking am i trying to destroy the aerodynamics and make a brick)

Option two: Is to undersling the equipment beneath the fuselage (ideal for maintaining aerodynamic center). This will virtually add a blended box to the bottom of the aircraft, about 170mm wide *270mm back *80mm thick. This will need a new air inlet again for ventilation and an outlet. Weight still 3kg.

Question 1: How strong are these model aircraft and can it take this amount of weight addition. or is it going to rip itself to pieces on landing. (If we get it off the ground)
Question 2: Aerodynamics, how will the flyability be. (I have only ever flown a trainer configeration but we will be seeking an experienced pilot for this project)
Question 3: If option 2 is selected, how is heat distribution from the ducted fan engine, we do not want it propagating to the equipment underneath.