Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

removing ppg paint advice

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

removing ppg paint advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2006, 12:33 PM
Vincent
My Feedback: (61)

Received 23 Likes on 17 Posts
Default removing ppg paint advice

I am looking at repainting a carf Mig-15 that is currently painted with ppg and clear coat. I was hoping to remove the paint and get it back to the original silver finish that it came with from carf. Does anyone know if i will damage the original factory finish while removing the ppg paints?? I have been told to just paint over the existing finish but i still have to remove the markings which are clear coated over?? I am no paint expert so any experienced advice would be helpfull.
Thanks V..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl28899.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	59.0 KB
ID:	387386  
Old 01-14-2006, 01:32 PM
GoeKeli
My Feedback: (18)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: removing ppg paint advice

Vin, going with a aircraft grade stripper might (probably) go into the plane. You might experiment with it. Sanding IMO would be the way to go. The heavy wet/dry used with water then go up to fine grades. Maybe have a sanding party with some friends and weight each piece before and after, ie wing panels. Offer a prize to the best sander!haha!
I have not done this to a plane but have removed auto paint at work. I am a set painter. Experiment is an unseen area. Painting over would be the easy way out and the weight savings from removal might not be a big deal to you. Is there a texture to your current design or is it smooth?
I like you paint scheme now, but it is a bit busy.

Joe Kelley
Old 01-14-2006, 02:59 PM
Cooper
My Feedback: (4)

Vin, my friend,