RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

kangaroo turbine mount help!!!!!

Reply

Old 12-28-2002, 08:14 AM
  #1  
MP7.5
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bukit Panjang, SINGAPORE
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default kangaroo turbine mount help!!!!!

Hi,
the instruction manual stated that 4 washers are required at the rear of the turbine mounting(not included in the kit ). Can some one out there tell me what is the total thickness of the 4 washers plaese. Thanks in advance .....

Cheers,
MP7.5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 01:55 PM
  #2  
cairoman
 
cairoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nicosia, , CYPRUS
Posts: 1,016
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default kangaroo turbine mount help!!!!!

About 4mm (5/32#).

BRG and a Happy New Year,
Chris
cairoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 02:13 PM
  #3  
MP7.5
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bukit Panjang, SINGAPORE
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default roo help

Hi Chris,
Thanks for the info!!!

BRG and a Happy New Year
MP7.5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 03:23 PM
  #4  
Countryboy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (25)
 
Countryboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 2,652
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Compensation

Washer's may be the quick way out to correct for the high thrust line, but if you want that sleek Hotspot look, just whack the mount out and lower the thrust line.

Don't really suggest this method, but it can be done if you want to put in the effort. Only other person I know of that did this was Mark "Wocketman" & Richard Newman. Of course, this would take all the fun out of it for the Lott family. What's a Roo without a "Chicken Flop"?

Attached is a pic of my started modification to lower the turbine thrust line. Project always seems to be taking a back seat to other thing's; namely that dreaded word "Work".
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	43463_693.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	13.1 KB
ID:	27113  
Countryboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 03:26 PM
  #5  
Countryboy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (25)
 
Countryboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 2,652
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default One more

Side view
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	43464_693.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	14.4 KB
ID:	27114  
Countryboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 11:13 AM
  #6  
kerosenedevil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default wondering if you ever got anywhere

hiya buddy im stuck trying to remount my behotec j66 turbine ive lost the aluminium strap that was gripping the turbine .. so im thinking hmm maybe i should lower the thrust line and use my conventional turbine mount then that would be fine clampin onto 2x very simple blocks .. have you any pics to help me ,im not that good a builder but this might within my capabilities
kerosenedevil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 02:58 PM
  #7  
kerosenedevil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Toying with

I really can't find a suitable mount for the behotec j66 the strap it did have has completely vanished
kerosenedevil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 07:47 PM
  #8  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by kerosenedevil View Post
I really can't find a suitable mount for the behotec j66 the strap it did have has completely vanished
when I built my kangaroo (19 years ago now holy crap) it was just a plywood curved base and the straps were nothing more than hardware store hose clamps. Never loosened up or caused any issues.
LGM Graphix is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 06:16 AM
  #9  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,239
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

A good thing to do in the Kangaroo is lowering the turbine thrust line, opening the fuse top (like pictured above 16 years ago, yikes) and adding two blocks of reinforced balsa with plywood, using plenty of filler to do nice filets that will improve airflow and appearence. By doing this you can use a standard turbine mount on it not to mention that the plane will fly better too.

Dont worry about the extra weight doing this or even installing the turbine back a inch or two.
erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 08:44 AM
  #10  
Woketman
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,358
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

We flew Richard's modded Roo many times. It was a wonderful plane. I still have one that I modded. Need to get that thing in the air!!!
Woketman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 11:32 AM
  #11  
kerosenedevil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

im going to tackle it this weekend mate . just filling the hole and having it look normal again will be quiet a challenge for me . i believe it is worth doing though
kerosenedevil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 12:36 PM
  #12  
Woketman
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,358
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It has been a while, but I believe that I did it this way. I filled the bays between the ribs best I could with some light weight foam I had lying about, glued it in whilst integrating some hard wood rails for the engine mount. Then I sanded, carved, shaped to the look I wanted, a nice gentle swooping shape down under where the turbine would go. Then I glassed over it all with epoxy and filler, primed and painted. Came out great!
Woketman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 01:24 PM
  #13  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,239
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Pics from mine if they are of any help.. did the mod in 2004 (!)

Mark,great to hear from you.
erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 02:07 PM
  #14  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I went a little further on one many years ago not sure where this one ended up to be honest.
Pictures in the last 2 posts of that thread.

My new Kangaroo, MAJOR modifications =o)
LGM Graphix is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 12:49 PM
  #15  
kerosenedevil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

oh good lord thats great work, im going to copy .. ile get on it tommorow ile go hobby store and buy some ply ,filler and ile grab some finishing resin and some glass cloth ...awsome work guys .
kerosenedevil is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service