RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

s/m 1/6 f16 in my hot little hands!

Reply
Old 09-27-2017, 05:29 AM
  #1901
loukos
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Ronnie,
thank you for the prompt and detailed response! I think you have covered all of my conserns!

regards Luke
loukos is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 10:04 PM
  #1902
loukos
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Pushing on with my f16 and i must say I am rather disappointed with the quality of this kit...I am a bit baffled by the photos of the fuel tanks in this thread. I had to sand quite a bit of fuselage around the main hatch area to accommodate the center fuel tank supplied by skymaster. Even after opening the area around it its a very snug fit...in all photos in this thread there seems to be plenty of space around the tank, not so in my kit???
loukos is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 05:35 AM
  #1903
Craig B.
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PERTH, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mine was the same as you described with yours. Not easy to get in or out.
Craig B. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 09:25 AM
  #1904
raron455
 
raron455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waco TX
Posts: 976
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loukos View Post
Pushing on with my f16 and i must say I am rather disappointed with the quality of this kit...I am a bit baffled by the photos of the fuel tanks in this thread. I had to sand quite a bit of fuselage around the main hatch area to accommodate the center fuel tank supplied by skymaster. Even after opening the area around it its a very snug fit...in all photos in this thread there seems to be plenty of space around the tank, not so in my kit???
Same here my friend with both of my gen 2s I had to go in with a sanding wheel and open up the main hump both the sides and feather the former's to get everything in kind of a pain in the ass but worth it, the Gen 1 f16 had a considerably bigger access hatch and didn't require near as much attention to get the tanks in, there was more room and it was definitely easier.
raron455 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 08:06 PM
  #1905
loukos
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks guys, it seems the G2 center fuel tank is bigger...probably to cater for the larger turbines being used
loukos is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2017, 07:22 PM
  #1906
RONW
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 86
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loukos View Post
Pushing on with my f16 and i must say I am rather disappointed with the quality of this kit...I am a bit baffled by the photos of the fuel tanks in this thread. I had to sand quite a bit of fuselage around the main hatch area to accommodate the center fuel tank supplied by skymaster. Even after opening the area around it its a very snug fit...in all photos in this thread there seems to be plenty of space around the tank, not so in my kit???
I am pretty sure they changed or extended the inlet duct at some stage (maybe when they offered the full turbine ducting kit) from when the manual was produced which does not leave enough room to install the tanks as shown.
I emailed SM about 6 times on this subject and never broke through their rock solid wall of silence.
RONW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 06:36 PM
  #1907
Thai Tiger
 
Thai Tiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I cut my ducting to accommodate the larger main tank & I use the full bypass, no problems with the gear doors & stock rams. I replaced the Pneumatic nose tire with a solid BVM one because it wouldn't fit in the bay once inflated. Mains are inflated to a max dia of 103 mm.

The Skymaster kit does need a bit of "tailoring" but it all comes together well & fly's very well. The landing gear is amazingly robust.

One thing you will notice is the Elevons, or Elevators are not level once you've made your first flights, there will be a very large maybe 3/8 inch difference on the right in a nose up direction, this is normal, I'm not sure if the wings are twisted or if the fuselage is twisted, but it seems to be there on many of them.
Thai Tiger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 07:34 AM
  #1908
Thai Tiger
 
Thai Tiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Flew again today, just over two years since the Maiden flight. The power of the JB220 is phenomenal, but frankly it needs to be, this thing is HEAVY on take-off, needs lots of power to fly straight & level, at least 50% throttle to pull out of a dive, or she will pancake, you can switch to high alpha mode but thats a bit advanced.

Landing needs a high approach, speed brakes deployed, 50% throttle coming out of the final turn, high nose, balanced with the power & fly her all the way down, flare in ground effect, apply a little brake and roll to a stop an the runway to avoid a tip up.

I'd suggest anyone flying this aircraft needs to be very aware of the power requirements to make it fly, if in the turn you back off the throttle too much the nose will drop, of fall out of the groove, just keep the power on.

I'm kinda writing this for my self but wanted to share my thoughts.

I fly for a Minimum of 9 minutes before attempting a landing due to the excess fuel weight in the main tank.
Thai Tiger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 11:10 AM
  #1909
dbsonic
 
dbsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: san jose, CA
Posts: 815
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've got a G1 that was built light, not using the stock center tank. Using a much smaller one. Sounds like it flies a bit different than what you describe but then I don't get that flight time. I think mine does 7 min but overall flies a bit lighter on a 180 and no bypass. Really like the way it flies this way.
dbsonic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 09:38 PM
  #1910
loukos
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

after a lot of fiddling they seem to have settled in
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2017-10-23 08.02.04.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	1.64 MB
ID:	2242146   Click image for larger version

Name:	2017-10-23 08.02.15.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	1.56 MB
ID:	2242147  
loukos is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 10:45 PM
  #1911
raron455
 
raron455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waco TX
Posts: 976
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loukos View Post
after a lot of fiddling they seem to have settled in
It will be even more fun when you put them in there plumbed together with the fuel lines and all safety wired, gotta go in just right.

Also pressure check and clean those tanks at least twice,,all 3 of mine had trash in em.

Last edited by raron455; 10-22-2017 at 10:47 PM.
raron455 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 11:31 PM
  #1912
loukos
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raron455 View Post
It will be even more fun when you put them in there plumbed together with the fuel lines and all safety wired, gotta go in just right.

Also pressure check and clean those tanks at least twice,,all 3 of mine had trash in em.
Yeah really not looking forward to that...
loukos is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 06:36 PM
  #1913
Thai Tiger
 
Thai Tiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Loukos, from the photo to looks like the saddle tanks are in upside down.

I had to epoxy the originals closed & cut new holes to miss the former on the FWD section. Otherwise the main tank is too high, resting on not much & when you pull G's it will split the FUS under the wing. Ask me how I know this.....
Thai Tiger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 07:02 PM
  #1914
raron455
 
raron455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waco TX
Posts: 976
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thai Tiger View Post
Hi Loukos, from the photo to looks like the saddle tanks are in upside down.

I had to epoxy the originals closed & cut new holes to miss the former on the FWD section. Otherwise the main tank is too high, resting on not much & when you pull G's it will split the FUS under the wing. Ask me how I know this.....
Good catch Thai, Loukos those saddle tanks are in wrong,, My fittings also hit my formers, I sanded a curve in the former to clear the lines more than I wanted to, I also had to remove the small wood cross brace that goes across the fuse to be able to access all my lines and connections.
I used BVM high flow tank hardware kits for my tanks, to make it easier.
I also got my saddle tanks in place, then made a ply mount and hysoled it to the bottom corner of the tanks, it sits flush against the main former on the sides, I then put a screw through the plate into the former holding those saddle tanks in place. Then I put Velcro on top of the saddles and on the bottom of the main upper tank, and put a piece of foil between them, slid the tank in and pulled the foil out, allowing the Velcro to latch and hold the main tank in place on top of the saddle tanks. If not they can shift around some.

Last edited by raron455; 10-23-2017 at 07:07 PM.
raron455 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 08:18 PM
  #1915
loukos
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thai Tiger View Post
Hi Loukos, from the photo to looks like the saddle tanks are in upside down.

I had to epoxy the originals closed & cut new holes to miss the former on the FWD section. Otherwise the main tank is too high, resting on not much & when you pull G's it will split the FUS under the wing. Ask me how I know this.....
Thanks Thai, I was scratching my head about that one...I was sure they were upside down, but then when I put them the right way up the tanks fittings are obstructed by the from FUS former...another re-engineering that need to be done. I will also make some sort of rigid mounts for the tanks to hold the weight of them so as to take it off the fuselage.

Regards Luke
loukos is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 08:21 PM
  #1916
loukos
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raron455 View Post
Good catch Thai, Loukos those saddle tanks are in wrong,, My fittings also hit my formers, I sanded a curve in the former to clear the lines more than I wanted to, I also had to remove the small wood cross brace that goes across the fuse to be able to access all my lines and connections.
I used BVM high flow tank hardware kits for my tanks, to make it easier.
I also got my saddle tanks in place, then made a ply mount and hysoled it to the bottom corner of the tanks, it sits flush against the main former on the sides, I then put a screw through the plate into the former holding those saddle tanks in place. Then I put Velcro on top of the saddles and on the bottom of the main upper tank, and put a piece of foil between them, slid the tank in and pulled the foil out, allowing the Velcro to latch and hold the main tank in place on top of the saddle tanks. If not they can shift around some.
Thanks Dean, i think i will follow your solution, looks simple and straight forward.
loukos is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 08:10 AM
  #1917
icepilot
 
icepilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thai Tiger View Post
Flew again today, just over two years since the Maiden flight. The power of the JB220 is phenomenal, but frankly it needs to be, this thing is HEAVY on take-off, needs lots of power to fly straight & level, at least 50% throttle to pull out of a dive, or she will pancake, you can switch to high alpha mode but thats a bit advanced.

Landing needs a high approach, speed brakes deployed, 50% throttle coming out of the final turn, high nose, balanced with the power & fly her all the way down, flare in ground effect, apply a little brake and roll to a stop an the runway to avoid a tip up.

I'd suggest anyone flying this aircraft needs to be very aware of the power requirements to make it fly, if in the turn you back off the throttle too much the nose will drop, of fall out of the groove, just keep the power on.

I'm kinda writing this for my self but wanted to share my thoughts.

I fly for a Minimum of 9 minutes before attempting a landing due to the excess fuel weight in the main tank.
Hi guys! As many of you know I have had 3 SM 1:6 F-16s, the first 2 were gen 1. The first one was very heavy, all tanks in use + a quart of water for a special afterburner effect. The first 50 flights or so I had a 16 kg turbine, and she flew just great. No tendencies to drop the nose, landings were slightly fast with the plane parallell to the ground (any attempt of a nose high would make it almost stop in the air). Even with such a small turbine, I never had a nose drop or a spin of any kind, just very easy, pleasant flying. The same was true after I put in a JC 180. The gen 2 is lighter, I had a BF220 and never really flew straight and level on full throttle, only on incredibly high verticals. I landed that the same way as the gen 1 planes.
Yes, it was a bit more hazzle to put the tanks in - I fitted Festo couplings on all 3 tanks, then glued them in and put the tubing in last, around the formers.

Tor
icepilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 05:47 PM
  #1918
F106A
 
F106A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 1,837
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Tor,
What CG did you use on your Gen 1 F-16.
Thanks,
Jon
F106A is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 02:51 AM
  #1919
icepilot
 
icepilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 1,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Jon! On the gen 1 my CG was at 220 mm. Hope you are good and fly a lot - I recently sold my F-16, but am already regretting it... There will probably be another one in the future!
Tor
icepilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:16 PM.