RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Reply
Old 07-03-2007, 04:33 PM
  #76
ubirajaramarques
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: belem, BRAZIL
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Hi E.Banner, yes the retract works well with direct air supply. What you mean with air throttle?

thanks
ubirajaramarques is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 05:28 PM
  #77
Eric Banner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Norwich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 206
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight


Hi ubirajaramarques,


Air throttle:-
http://www.jetlegend.com/showaccessories.php?ShowSN=43

OK. Do the mains work if you isolate the nose gear such that the air circuit includes every thing else except the nose gear?


Eric



Quote:
ORIGINAL: ubirajaramarques

Hi E.Banner, yes the retract works well with direct air supply. What you mean with air throttle?

thanks
Eric Banner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 10:11 PM
  #78
Achillesfilho
 
Achillesfilho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sao Jose do Rio Preto- SP, BRAZIL
Posts: 246
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Thanks Eric.
Achillesfilho is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 03:56 PM
  #79
ubirajaramarques
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: belem, BRAZIL
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Hi Erick, yes, the mains and the nose retracts works well when they are isolated.

Can anybody send me a drawing squeme for instalation of the air circuit for retracts, doors and brakes using jettronic valves and bvm micro switch?

thanks
ubirajaramarques is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 07:49 PM
  #80
ubirajaramarques
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: belem, BRAZIL
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Dear friends, my kit original retract valve doesnt work, its linking a lot, I changed the o ring but it didnt work too. I decided to buy a new one.What would you recommend, a BVM Hi-flow valve, a UP3 valve or a Robarts 5 port air valve? Thanks.
ubirajaramarques is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 11:49 PM
  #81
FalconWings
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ubirajaramarques

Dear friends, my kit original retract valve doesnt work, its linking a lot, I changed the o ring but it didnt work too. I decided to buy a new one.What would you recommend, a BVM Hi-flow valve, a UP3 valve or a Robarts 5 port air valve? Thanks.

UP3 and forget about micro switches, they are a pain in the ass. This is the setup used on Yellow's F-16 and works great.
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 04:43 AM
  #82
E.Banner
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norwich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Hi ubirajaramarques,

Attached is a sketch of system using Jetronics valve and micro-switch. Well, at least one way of doing it...

Eric


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ubirajaramarques

Hi Erick, yes, the mains and the nose retracts works well when they are isolated.

Can anybody send me a drawing squeme for instalation of the air circuit for retracts, doors and brakes using jettronic valves and bvm micro switch?

thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75720.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	32.7 KB
ID:	718833  
E.Banner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 05:19 AM
  #83
extra 300
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,074
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Eric,

According to your flying experience with the JL F-16, could you please advise how short can you take off and land with this jet? How much can you slow her down? would it be recomanded for short strips?

As i am planning to buy one of the JL F-16, would very much like to have a clear idea on the above before i jump in.
Thanks for your input which is much appreciated.

Best regards.
Dany
extra 300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 11:35 AM
  #84
drdoom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belton , MO
Posts: 3,125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

I am getting Blow By the piston on the mains and the nose gear. both Ive done everything still a few bubbles comming past the piston and out the other side.
Ive changed the 0-Ring, put tape under the 0-Ring in an attempt to enlargen the diameter. I don't know what else to do. It is slow enough now I could possibly get in a flight.
Anyone have No Leakage??? I am using NAPA Sil-Glyde Lub Compound. Harmless to rubber, 600 deg melt. Water proof. but is super O Lube Better. 3 autoparts stores and not one has it.
drdoom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 02:17 PM
  #85
Eric Banner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Norwich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 206
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight



Hi Dany,

With the MW54 MK3, the JL F16 gets airborne easily within an estimated 60m on tarmac.

Landings for me at the moment are a little on the long side as I haven’t pinned how to slow it down enough! With coming in too fast it tends to balloon on flair out. My best landing so far looks about the same as Lasse Palms first! See post #1.

Sorry I can't be more specific.

Best regards,
Eric


Quote:
ORIGINAL: extra 300

Eric,

According to your flying experience with the JL F-16, could you please advise how short can you take off and land with this jet? How much can you slow her down? would it be recomanded for short strips?

As i am planning to buy one of the JL F-16, would very much like to have a clear idea on the above before i jump in.
Thanks for your input which is much appreciated.

Best regards.
Dany
Eric Banner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 02:15 AM
  #86
extra 300
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,074
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight


[quote]ORIGINAL: Eric Banner



Hi Dany,

With the MW54 MK3, the JL F16 gets airborne easily within an estimated 60m on tarmac.

Landings for me at the moment are a little on the long side as I haven’t pinned how to slow it down enough! With coming in too fast it tends to balloon on flair out. My best landing so far looks about the same as Lasse Palms first! See post #1.

Sorry I can't be more specific.

Best regards,
Eric


[quote]ORIGINAL: extra 300


Hello eric,

Thanks very much for your input. I would eventually install a P-60 in the JL F-16. Do you use flaps for landing?
One more thing if you were to try slowing down this jet a t a fair altitude by throttling down and lifting the nose, how slow would you think this plane would go before getting into a stall. I understood from other posts that you could slow down this F-16 to a waking pace. I am just wondering if this is true.

Thanks again for your support and feedback.
Best regards.
Dany
extra 300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 09:57 AM
  #87
ubirajaramarques
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: belem, BRAZIL
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Thanks Erick, wonderful sketch, it will help very much.
ubirajaramarques is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 10:01 AM
  #88
ubirajaramarques
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: belem, BRAZIL
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Hi Falconwings, I tryed a up3 valve, but it seems to not support too much air pressure because it has a linkage when I introduce more than 100 psi in the bottle. When it gets around 50 psi it stops the linkage and works well, but at this point, I have air just to 3 or 4 cycles. Does yours works like this?
ubirajaramarques is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 11:35 AM
  #89
FalconWings
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

There's something wrong. Mine would hold 120psi without any problems.

There is a pair of set screws that regulate the speed of Landing Gear vs door retraction/extension. You may have one fo those set screws too loose or something, therefore creating a leak. You should try spraying some water with soap to try to determine where the leak is coming from.
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 01:31 PM
  #90
F106A
 
F106A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 1,832
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

I have the same problem on my SM 1/6th F-16 with a UP3 valve leaking. It's leaking at the two small holes (vents) on either side of the valve. I can only get about 80 psi because of the leaks and maybe two cycles. I called UP and spoke to someone who said to pinch off the air out, gear up lines and see if it still leaks. Also, for the door side of the valve pinch off the air out, door closed. If it doesn't leak, the valve is not at fault. If it still leaks to give him a call back.
I've been too busy to fool with it right now, maybe over the weekend.
BRG,
Jon
F106A is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 04:43 PM
  #91
ubirajaramarques
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: belem, BRAZIL
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Its exactly the same problem I have, did you have any problem with the retracts during the flight? because even if it support just 2 cycles it is suficient to takeoff and land. I didnt tried the valve with the doors, I just link the two holes of the doors as the air doesnt link. There is a small alen screw on the valve that I dont know what its used for.
ubirajaramarques is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 09:58 AM
  #92
FalconWings
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Are HS-5125's really enough power for the ailerons?

I tried fitting some 9411's, but no way!! The servo compartement is way too small!
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 10:20 AM
  #93
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

The JL F16 fly's very well on elevons. I used the ailerons as flaps at around 15 degrees. Mine is very light. I have installed a Wren MW 44 with the Wren tailpipe.
In a light breeze, you can almost land vertically.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 11:09 AM
  #94
mikedenilin
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,686
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Wow, you put a Wren 44 on it. A gold or just the regular. Now you got me thinking about doing the same on my spare wren.

Mike
mikedenilin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 11:16 AM
  #95
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Hi Mike. It is a Wren Gold & the performance is great, especially if you throw away that heavy JL tailpipe. I use two 1500 lipos through a Powerbox sensor switch.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 11:39 AM
  #96
drdoom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belton , MO
Posts: 3,125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Quote:
ORIGINAL: FalconWings

Are HS-5125's really enough power for the ailerons?

I have the HS-125's in mine.They work well. Same servo but it is NOT digital.

drdoom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 11:58 AM
  #97
FalconWings
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight


Quote:
ORIGINAL: drdoom

Quote:
ORIGINAL: FalconWings

Are HS-5125's really enough power for the ailerons?

I have the HS-125's in mine.They work well. Same servo but it is NOT digital.

Good, that's what I wanted to hear.
My other option were the DS-3241's, but I think they are not small enough either.
FalconWings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 04:26 PM
  #98
xurifle06
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 164
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Does anyone know if Hitech 5245 servos will fit in the wings and the rudder? thanks

Rich
xurifle06 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 01:50 PM
  #99
extra 300
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,074
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Exactly the same question i would like to have an answer for. Will Hitec 5245 servos fit rudder and wing of the JL 1/8 F-16?

Regards
extra 300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 08:00 AM
  #100
Asif
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Edmonton, AB, CANADA
Posts: 281
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JetLegend F-16 (1/8) Testflight

Guys,
I would like to know if anyone is using flap for landing?

Regards
Asif
Asif is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:35 PM.