Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

New to Turbines - Need direction

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

New to Turbines - Need direction

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2007, 10:49 AM
Square Nozzle
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to Turbines - Need direction

I say I'm new to turbines but that only means models. I've been an Engineer at Pratt & Whitney for 40 years and have worked on Commercial (PW2000, JT9D, GP7000) and Military (TF30, F117, F100, F119) engines. Currently on the F22 Exhaust Nozzle. I have been involved with sport flying almost anything, for 40+ year with occasional time off for regeneration of my enthusiasm. Been flying faster and faster prop stuff to get used to the speed and now I want to step into turbine power. Nothing extreme, something like an entry level Sport Jet with some looks (Discovery Jet, Reaction 54, Turbinator) with a 13 to 15# engine. I'm here asking you all for advise and direction. I'll be flying out of our club (Norther Connecticut Radio Control Club) field with a 400+ foot grass runway with minor obstructions (called trees) at a distance from either end of the runway. I am convinced that something that I can slow down with flaps will get in and out of there without to much concern. Once I have your advise I'll be building over the next several months and looking to show up at a local Jet Rally for help and my waiver. You will probably also see me poking around at Gardner Mass. and Albany this summer. Look for the short older guy on a Harley Sportster with the white full face helmet or a red NCRCC hat. I'd like to get to Brooklyn but I really hate driving through NYC. Maine is also a possibility.
Old 05-13-2007, 01:33 PM
Wayne22
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New to Turbines - Need direction