RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Reply
Old 09-18-2007, 05:12 AM
  #376
wingart
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ipswich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Bigtop.
Sorry to hear of the problem with ecu.
Hope you get it sorted.
The back up from Wren is 100%needed parts for my new 54 kit, orded yesterday lunch hear this morning.
Super service from both Wren And the good old Post Office.
Hope too see you soon.
Regards wingart.
wingart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 07:40 AM
  #377
digitech
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,282
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Quote:
ORIGINAL: BiGToP


Quote:
ORIGINAL: wingart

Hi Big Top
Hows the Falcon coming on ,by the look of your photos you must nearly be ready for the big one.
A group of us are flying Raydon on Wednesday this week if thats any good to you.
Keep in touch regards Wingart.
Hi Wingart,

Plugged my FADEC in to see if everything was still ok and guess what................... Nothing! Then I got the GSU displaying "RC SIGNAL LOST" So I made sure that all the batteries were charged up and checked again in the morning and then NOTHING AT ALL!!!
So I spoke to Wren and they said to send it to them and they'll check it out to see whats wrong. A new one will be around £110.
So I won't be there Wednesday unfortunately [&o]

Regards
BiGToP

dont hold your trannie to close to the receiver ....
you have a a futaba? try to see if your programming is ok and not reversed.
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 04:15 PM
  #378
deadstick69
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hello every one,
I realize this a Jet Forum but there is not much going on in Falcon 120 thread in Ex. Speed Prop Forum so I decided to post my question here. I'm in the process of putting a Falcon together and planing to power it with my new Moki 1.80, and looking at the instruction Booklet (I know it is used for amusement purpose only) it seems that they are installing the fuel tank with the stopper facing aft. Looking at the last Former I can even see round hole in it obviously designed to encompass the fuel tank stopper. It is wrong right? What I've learned in the past Fuel Tank Stopper should always face toward the nose of the plane. I thought it is better if I ask. Thanx in advance for your response.

Arya
deadstick69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 04:21 PM
  #379
BiGToP
 
BiGToP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southend, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Thanx digitech & Wingart,

It shouldn't be reversed as I copied the model memory over from the Hawk to the Falcon. Yes it is Futaba. I have to ring Wren tomorrow as I haven't heard anything yet? I had to get my fuel valve changed when I 1st got my turbine and Wren's service was brilliant, they sent me one and I got it the next day and they said just post the old one back when I was ready.
Good homely service...like the old days.

Cheers Guys


BiGToP
BiGToP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 10:15 PM
  #380
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,044
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

A friend of mine just purchased a Bob Cat 120 he says he is going to make his
own elevator as the original one seems too flimsy, he also wanted to know if
anyone had any issuses with the horizontal stab?
ira d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 03:36 AM
  #381
wingart
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ipswich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi ira d
If the bob cat 120 is the same as a Falcon 120,I have had no issuses with the elevator or the stab.
IF you use 2 servos on the elevator one each end as in the instructions you will have no problems.
My Falcon has now had over 40 flights and has performed faultlesley,its wren 54 powered and is flown off grass with no issuses.
Get it built and enjoy your self.
Regards Wingart.
wingart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 07:15 AM
  #382
Woketman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,333
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I too will be using a Wren 54 Mk III. Wingart, any issues at full throttle, straight & level? Can the airframe easily handle that? Or are you very cautious? UPS says mine is "out for delivery" today!

Thanks.
Woketman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 08:31 AM
  #383
wingart
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ipswich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi woketman.
I have flown the Falcon flat out several times straight and level no problem, it does climb slightley but nothing to worry about.
My mate Kieth has just finished a Falcon for the jet mag nov/dec issue and is doing a full revue.
Kieth has fitted a Wren super sport in his and boy that does move he is very carefull about power use,but so far its still in one piece.
We have put theFalcon through the mill yanked and banked severall times ,seems to take it in its stride,
i think for the money its one hell of a good ship.
Get it built and have fun.
Regards Wingart.
wingart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 08:35 AM
  #384
Woketman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,333
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

OK, sounds fantastic. Thanks!
Woketman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 05:37 PM
  #385
BiGToP
 
BiGToP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southend, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi digitech & Wingart,

Wren sent me a new FADEC, I got home late tonight so I just went out there to check to see if it worked. I'll have to re-route the cables as this is a later design FADEC, same plugs, just different place!
Plugged it in and the Data Terminal came on saying "Trim Low" so I put the trim up and it said "Ready" I put the thottle to full and it said "Trim Low" errm??? I thought. I tried it twice then all of a sudden I remembered what Digitech said about the reversing of the throttle. Despite the fact that I copied the memory over from the hawk... I tried it and BINGO buzz buzz whir whir....she started to spool up. So well done Digitech.
So I susspect that this new fadec would not normally need to be revered[&:]
So all I've got to do now is finish the plane, get the wings fitted and try the turbine and then get it test flown!
Cheers boys.

BiGToP
BiGToP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 05:48 PM
  #386
Woketman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,333
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Who has the best price in the USA on in-stock Spring Air 302's? Anyone know?

Thanks.
Woketman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 06:51 PM
  #387
littlepiston
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carlsbad , NM
Posts: 1,319
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Quote:
ORIGINAL: BiGToP

Hi digitech & Wingart,

Wren sent me a new FADEC, I got home late tonight so I just went out there to check to see if it worked. I'll have to re-route the cables as this is a later design FADEC, same plugs, just different place!
Plugged it in and the Data Terminal came on saying "Trim Low" so I put the trim up and it said "Ready" I put the thottle to full and it said "Trim Low" errm??? I thought. I tried it twice then all of a sudden I remembered what Digitech said about the reversing of the throttle. Despite the fact that I copied the memory over from the hawk... I tried it and BINGO buzz buzz whir whir....she started to spool up. So well done Digitech.
So I susspect that this new fadec would not normally need to be revered[&:]
So all I've got to do now is finish the plane, get the wings fitted and try the turbine and then get it test flown!
Cheers boys.

BiGToP

Hey Bigtop they did the same with me!! both worked fine but they desided to send my the new one anyway??? GREAT SEVICE from wren!! heres a pic of the two.. can you see im working one another!! its the bobcat not the falcon
littlepiston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 03:49 PM
  #388
BiGToP
 
BiGToP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southend, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi littlepiston,

Yes it's brilliant service from Wren. Yes the ali one was the one I had and now I have the blue plastic one.
Can't see much of your Bobcat in the picture, please post one of the aircraft. Which Wren are you running in the Bobcat?[:-]

BiGToP
BiGToP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 04:51 PM
  #389
littlepiston
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carlsbad , NM
Posts: 1,319
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

WREN 44!!!
littlepiston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 04:30 PM
  #390
BiGToP
 
BiGToP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southend, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet


Nice Wren 44 there budy I love the engine mounts!

Been out in the hanger for a few hours today. I've installed my new FADEC re-run the wiring, got some new bolts for the wings and bolted them on. I used some studding and wing nuts to hold the wings to the fuzz (I saw someone else do it and liked it) That's the good thing about these forums, you can get good tips (and some bad ones lol)
I've taken a couple of snaps with my phone I'll take some more shots with my camera tomorrow.
I've got to finish this project soon.

BiGToP
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35402.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	768485   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gb90082.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	768486   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xd80786.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	768487  
BiGToP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 05:50 PM
  #391
littlepiston
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carlsbad , NM
Posts: 1,319
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

mounts are nice ,if you lived here in the states i would make you some ,, all i need and the mesurments.
littlepiston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 09:50 PM
  #392
RcNewbie2
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: , MN
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

hey im very new at this and i ordered the falcon 120.I got it with a manual that does very little help.I have never flown one so any help with the build will help
RcNewbie2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 01:28 AM
  #393
jitendra.gurjar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: pune, INDIA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

hey there guys
I have finished 5 fights of the falcon . it is simply amazing,dosen't drop a wing,good slow flying modle.I have a 1.08 with a 14*8 . I am not reving it up now since it is still in the running in phase. will post photos soon
jitendra.gurjar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 01:36 AM
  #394
jitendra.gurjar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: pune, INDIA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

hi there john(nitro staff)

hey i have not yet received the wheel wells that u were suppose to send
jitendra.gurjar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 03:38 AM
  #395
wingart
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ipswich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi big Top.
Great too see your nearley there.
My Falcon passed its 50th flight on saturday,then i had a little turbine problem.
The engine started surging so i had to get it down fast,think it may have been a flat ecu batt have recharged and iam testing today.
Keep my fingers crossed.
Regards Wingart.
wingart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 04:37 PM
  #396
BiGToP
 
BiGToP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southend, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet


Thanx for the help tonight Steve, I hope that your jet has sorted itself and you have many more flights.

Got the elevators completed tonight...thanx Steve!
Had a little bit of a set back when it came to conecting the Hi-Tec aileron servos up via a Y lead in channel one for the first time together. Only one would work, they both worked on their own but when connected together; only one worked! So with the advice from my mate Dave, I connected two Futaba servos in the same way; and they worked fine, So now I've gone out and purchased two JRDS811's (the same as Steves) and hopefully they will work?
So it means more waiting......will she ever fly![:@]
BiGToP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 05:16 PM
  #397
BiGToP
 
BiGToP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southend, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I've been busy in the hanger tonight:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...36#post8248993
BiGToP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 05:34 PM
  #398
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

GUys,

here is a nice trick i learned to get a geometric lock of the flap when it is in the up position - hope this might help you guys out with your setups.
Check out the angle of the servo arms of the flap servos.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ax73249.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	34.0 KB
ID:	770798  
i3dm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 05:43 PM
  #399
Woketman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,333
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Do you use two elevator servos (one on each side)? If so, did you spilt the elevator into two halves? Have you guys found the included control horns to be adequate for this airframe in turbinized flight?
Woketman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 05:47 PM
  #400
Woketman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,333
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I3dm, I've been doing a similar trick for years on Isobar flaps: use a programmable Hitec or MPX servo, program for 180 deg. travel, and set it up so that the servo arm is parallel to the control rod when flaps are all the way up & all the way down. Then there is basically a zero servo load during flight (both with flaps up & down). Only load is when transitioning from up to down or vice versa.
Woketman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:36 AM.