RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Reply
Old 09-19-2012, 11:43 AM
  #4426
TimWatson
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 346
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Xairflyer

When you say super falcon made me think it must be bigger, than normal 120
All the 120's are the same size and in effect design. Some are just made better than the others
TimWatson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:23 PM
  #4427
Dc2LightTech
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: palm bay , FL
Posts: 128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

if I mount the engine center in the center of the "boulbious bart" of the fuse, spinning a 15x8 3 bladed prop, I think I only have 4 or 5 inches hanging under the plane. if thats true (i need to measure the length...) what retracts would you recomend..
Dc2LightTech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:49 PM
  #4428
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,746
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Would think prop clearance would be a problem with a petrol engine, really a bit big for this plane, when you said super falcon I thought it was bigger when you mentioned fitting a petrol engine.
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 11:49 PM
  #4429
vincedecaledo
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: noumea, NEW CALEDONIA
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

hi guys;
i'm Vincent from new caledonia,
i'm the happy owner of a falcon with a k80 turbine for 2 years now
i'm actually completely rebuilding it , with complete covering and fiberglassing wings
i'm also planing on fiting a single servo for the elevator , but i have to admit that 177 pages on this thread is not very easy to collect infos !
i've of course download the pdf of a great conversion........but no info on that.....bad luck !!

So guys please.......heellllllllpppp !
what kind of servo should i install as a single elevator servo ?

every advise is of course welcome

thanks a lot

and sorry for my bad english, i'm just a little frenchie lost in south pacific


Vince

vincedecaledo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:51 AM
  #4430
aquaskiman
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I would just split the elevator and run two mini servos
aquaskiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:24 AM
  #4431
ticketec
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane, QLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I run and have done so for many flights with 1 Hs-5645MG in the centre of the elevator with no problems.

Thanks

dave
ticketec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:30 AM
  #4432
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,746
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Single servo works well, I have done it to two tailplanes now, very easy to do to the standard falcon, little bit more difficult to the fully sheeted tail versions.

Details of one of them [link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=10964241]here post 4244[/link] using a Spektrum DS821 servo
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:37 AM
  #4433
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,746
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

If you are looking for something in this thread but dont want to go through all the pages just use search at the bottom of the page.
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:48 AM
  #4434
vincedecaledo
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: noumea, NEW CALEDONIA
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

thanks a lot for your input guys !!! !
what kind of torque will you put in minima?
8kg ? 10 kg ? more?
i should have a look if i haven't a 5645 mg somewhere on my workshop...
Xair, you think 6KG is enough for this plane with a K80 ?
i have a futaba 9202 just in front of me...do you think it can do the trick...should be a bit short isn't it ?

thanks
vincedecaledo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:57 AM
  #4435
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,746
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

The spektrum DS821 is 5kg toque
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 04:39 AM
  #4436
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I use a Hitec HS5625 on the elevator of my Sprint and did use two on my Elan, all have been without problems, on the Sprint I use a metal ball link and twin carbon horns to try and offset any heat that may get to them.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 06:06 AM
  #4437
aquaskiman
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

If you use two elevator servos and you have one fail you have a chance of getting the plane back. If you have one and it fails you get a crash. All of my high end jets have two elevator servos. Look at the field and see how many use only one elevator servo.
aquaskiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:09 PM
  #4438
ticketec
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane, QLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Yes, but if the the servo motor burns out then the remaining servo may not be able to overpower it. Not being properly rigged could cause them to fight each other and end up causing a failure, etc etc.... there are aguments both ways. it ends up with the user deciding what works best for them.

In 20 years of R/C flying I have never had an elevator servo fail... will it happen? maybe some day, but there is a greater likelyhood of something else like a R/X pack failing first which is why I do run two of those. I also try and stick with servos which I know are reliable.

Thnaks

dave
ticketec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:39 PM
  #4439
aquaskiman
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I said to slpit the elevators ( cut in half ) so each half works independent of the other.
aquaskiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:44 PM
  #4440
aquaskiman
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: aquaskiman

I would just split the elevator and run two mini servos
here is the post
aquaskiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:32 PM
  #4441
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,746
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I am not sure that two elevator servos would be an advantage if you lost one, most of the time the servo will go full to the end of its travel if say it was a conventional tail you now have tailerons and it will cause the model to roll, just as many jets like F15 & F16's are flown that way without ailerons.
If you lost a servo and it stayed neutral, I still think when you pulled up on the other it would again cause a roll.

Split elevators inside twin booms like on the falcon & boomerangs would probably work different and not notice as much if one failed unless again it went to full travel.

If you fitting twin servos for the elevators as normal on the falcon then it would make sense to cut the elevator in half to give you the best advantage of using two servos, if you dont then you are better of using just one.
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 04:14 PM
  #4442
chw757s6640
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, MO
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi Guys,

I am pursing a new project, so I have decided to sell my Falcon 120. I have a new Falcon 120 (White/Orange). The only work performed is:

1. Modified fuselage formers to mirror the Tornado design. Added Hysol on the seams.
2. Installed a Modellbau Tornado V3 Engine Mount.

The kit is complete and ready for final turbine conversion.

I will also include a set of Tornado V3 wings and composite tail booms that I received from a friend. They have some damage, but can easily be repaired. The landing gear mounts broke and one boom has a crack along the join seam. I repaired one wing by putting in new hardwood stock for the gear mounts, which are extended to the fourth rib, re-inforced all joints with hysol and re-covered with balsa. I will include the wood stock and balsa to repair the other wing. An extra used Tornado V3 canopy and tub will also be included.

I am just looking to recover some of the money invested in the Falcon. If you are interested, give me a call or send me an email. I have pictures and a solid market place rating. I will gladly give someone a good deal on this to clear up some space in my shop.

If you need a turbine for it, I have a P-70 listed on RCU.

Thanks,

Chris Wilson
St. Louis, MO
Phone: 314-452-8379
Email: cjw_mcp@msn.com
chw757s6640 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:18 PM
  #4443
tim777jet
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maidenhead, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi Guys, not being pedantic, ref the use of 2 sets of RX batteries in the plane, many guys do this, however i never hear of guys running 2 sets of TX batteries. Batteries are batteries, weather they are fitted in the plane or a transmitter. Many many years ago, i built a LOWBoy, maidened it, it flew great. Refuelled, everything was good, TX battery Meter reading way up the scale, flew for about 10 mins, then lost control of the plane, it flew off quite a way and crashed into a nearby forest. I found it and managed to repair her. I sent the radio back to the manufactures and they stated a cell in the TX pack had failed, strangely, after an overnight charge, it would perform well, but would suddenly fail dragging the other cells with it, it was not old radio equipment.
I also got involved with electric powered gliders way before they were seen at flying sites. I bought a new nicad battery pack, an 1800ma, my most powerfull pack at the time, fresh from the manufacturer. The first few flights were good, but battery drastically reduced in power in a short space of time. I stripped the pack down and found 1 Cell, fitted the wrong way round, unbelievable. I replaced the cell with a similar capacity cell, and the pack was good again, you just cant cover every eventuality.
cheers tim
tim777jet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 01:07 PM
  #4444
jetdeck
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: springhill, FL
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

to gary travis, or any other jet jockey. jetdeck here, live in springhill florida, i have a nitroplanes super falcon 120 in the USAF trim scheme, and no this is not a knockoff from hobbyking or anywhere else in the world, it is NEW in box. did take it out to inspect for any damage and there is none. the wings, booms, elevator, rudders are all fully sheeted. i;ve done nothing to it, just describing what i see. i am selling mine for what i paid for it from nitroplanes which is $180.00 can work out shipping details if anyone is interested, you can contact me by e-mail at georgemangold@yahoo.com. i have taken pics of it so if you e-mail me i can e-mail to you, have lost interest in it, are now biulding a vmar f4 phantom with a o.s.95 and robart retracts.
jetdeck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 01:47 PM
  #4445
Boomerang1
 
Boomerang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,832
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Quote:
I am not sure that two elevator servos would be an advantage if you lost one, most of the time the servo will go full to the end of its travel if say it was a conventional tail you now have tailerons and it will cause the model to roll, just as many jets like F15 & F16's are flown that way without ailerons.
If you lost a servo and it stayed neutral, I still think when you pulled up on the other it would again cause a roll.
I recently had my first in-flight servo failure on a medium size electric.

One aileron servo went to about 1/2 travel & stayed there solid whenever power was on, power off & you could move the servo
against the gears & motor.

I landed the model ok with a heap of opposite aileron.

Two ways of looking at redundancy.

With one aileron servo I would have crashed?

Or, with one aileron servo my chances of aileron servo failure are halved?

Me, personally, the extra elevator servo is just like that heavy fire extinguisher I carry to the field & never use. - John.
Boomerang1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:38 AM
  #4446
Wcox
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Has anyone been lucky in finding a good tank for the Falcon that is not too expensive?
Wcox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:30 AM
  #4447
Dr Honda
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Wcox

Has anyone been lucky in finding a good tank for the Falcon that is not too expensive?
Not to sound like a jack-off... but that is addressed in the first few pages.

But... to make it easy... I use a 64oz juice bottle. it's free once you finish the juice.
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:39 AM
  #4448
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Wcox

In the UK use a Lenor fabric conditioner bottle with a bit of heating and the back spar in place it fits perfectly, as Tony said above have a look at the start of the thread I am sure I posted a pic.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 01:27 PM
  #4449
alasdair
 
alasdair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Scotland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 598
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I moulded my own from fibreglass & epoxy over a blue foam plug.
Hold 2.3 litres.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11886.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	53.9 KB
ID:	1808416  
alasdair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:39 PM
  #4450
ticketec
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane, QLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Berri brand fruit juice bottle, holds 2.2lts $3.47 comes with free juice!

Thanks

Dave
ticketec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:52 AM.