RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Reply
Old 12-05-2012, 11:34 PM
  #4476
polishedbrother
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Country Club Hills, IL
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

http://youtu.be/1OS5jek1W7E
polishedbrother is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:51 PM
  #4477
polishedbrother
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Country Club Hills, IL
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Heavy mods.
polishedbrother is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:57 PM
  #4478
polishedbrother
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Country Club Hills, IL
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Polishedbrother's falcon 120 w/ jetCat p-120


http://youtu.be/K74t0qC7Crc
polishedbrother is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:12 AM
  #4479
polishedbrother
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Country Club Hills, IL
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Polishedbrother's P-120 Falcon

http://youtu.be/zFSFdmoK3xo
polishedbrother is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:32 AM
  #4480
sidajili
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wuse Zone 5Abuja, NIGERIA
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi Henry... do you ship to Nigeria?
sidajili is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:17 PM
  #4481
Mike06659
 
Mike06659's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mercersburg, PA
Posts: 758
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hey Guys,

Any links for some cheap main struts for the Falcon or Tornado? I came across these but wasn't sure if anyone gave them a try?? I fly from grass as well.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Class_Jet.html

Thanks,
Mike
Mike06659 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:56 PM
  #4482
Dr Honda
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Mike06659

Hey Guys,

Any links for some cheap main struts for the Falcon or Tornado? I came across these but wasn't sure if anyone gave them a try?? I fly from grass as well.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Class_Jet.html

Thanks,
Mike

Doesn't mater. They show -12 on their stock. So... who knows when they will get them again.
Dr Honda is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:01 AM
  #4483
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Looked at these before, going by the measurements they are a bit short, asked what dia the strut itself was but no one replied.
Xairflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:01 AM
  #4484
aquaskiman
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

You get what you pay for on landing gear
aquaskiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:02 AM
  #4485
pulsar110
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I have a couple sets of these struts. I wouldnt use them on this plane as a turbine setup. IMO its too much weight for them. They are fine for Id say 12-13 pounds or less.
pulsar110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 05:58 PM
  #4486
Mike06659
 
Mike06659's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mercersburg, PA
Posts: 758
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Has anyone used Savox servos in the Falcon all around? If so what numbers?
Thanks,
Mike
Mike06659 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 01:19 PM
  #4487
RAPPTOR
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: WEST PALM BEACH, FL
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

C/G IS FROM L/E AT FUSE JOINT OR FUSE CENTER ??
RAPPTOR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 01:23 PM
  #4488
Dr Honda
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RAPPTOR

C/G IS FROM L/E AT FUSE JOINT OR FUSE CENTER ??
From where the wing meets the fuse.
Dr Honda is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 01:25 PM
  #4489
RAPPTOR
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: WEST PALM BEACH, FL
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

KOOL.. CANT FIND BRAKES I LIKE.. SHULMAN HAS ELECTRIC BUT DONT SEEM GOOD FOR 20 LBS JET. SHULMAN RETURN EMAILS.. SAID BRAKES ARE GOOD FOR 20 TO 44 POUND PLANES..
RAPPTOR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 01:42 PM
  #4490
Aussie1
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: AdelaideSth Australia, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 185
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RAPPTOR

KOOL.. CANT FIND BRAKES I LIKE.. SHULMAN HAS ELECTRIC BUT DONT SEEM GOOD FOR 20 LBS JET
I use these from Trim aircraft. About $180. Email tony and he will send you details, plus they are excellent quality. I have them on a set of Dreamworks oleos.

http://trimair.com.au/product_info.p...products_id=65
Aussie1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 04:57 AM
  #4491
RAPPTOR
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: WEST PALM BEACH, FL
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

thanks
RAPPTOR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 11:18 AM
  #4492
BORLEX
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: HERAKLIONCRETE, GREECE
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Do you know a Falcon 120 retailer in Europe?

Lindinger in Austria was selling it at €199 with free shippng in Europe, but they are out stock.

Also a reliable Chinnese retailer that ships to Europe is welcomed.

BORLEX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 01:58 PM
  #4493
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Not for the Falcon, but the Tornado a Falcon derivative with lots of upgrades to make it turbine ready can be obtained from : http://www.modellbauuk.com/tornado-v...vt80-241-p.asp

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 02:49 AM
  #4494
CrocEnd
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Darwin, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 682
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Well today My Falcon 120 Rabbit VT 90 clocked 384kp out of a low grade DIVE not straight down the feild not possible.
Useing a Voltron meter GPS The first flight did not set Voltron correct 2nd go reg., 331kp 3rd well 384kp., Magic.

A GOOD day. One main gear let go on last langing causing lh main to turn 90deg like a sideways brake. The strut just straight up and down type.
CHEAP and dead set easy fix.

Boxing Day next time flying, today was its 25th flight.Now priced at $204 a flight till now.

IT WILL COME DOWN won't it D's that is.
CrocEnd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 03:31 AM
  #4495
alasdair
 
alasdair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Scotland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 596
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I believe that any of these single shot, max speed memory devices is a complete waste of time. I looked up the website, and there is no information except that it is more accurate than the previous version.
Accuracy will depend a bit on the frame rate. They work by calculating the position, then calculating another position, then calculating the distance between those 2 positions and dividing by the time interval to get the average speed.

If the time interval is very short, then the two positions will be close together and the line between them will be short and almost straight. The trouble is that the positions have a random error. Is the positional error plus or minus 1 metre or 5 metres or what? So if position A is calculated 1 metre too far forward, and position B 1 metre too far back, then the distance error is 2 metres and if the time interval is very short you get a large speed error. Too fast, or too slow.

If the time interval is very long then the position error doesn't matter so much, but in a turn or loop the distance between the two points (straight line) will be shorter than the flight path, so the speed calculated will be wrong (too slow).

The only valid speed data you can obtain from GPS would be a continuous graph of speed (ground speed obviously), so that you can spooth out the spikes and dips due to position errors.

I have used an Eagletree GPS add-on to their data recorder and obtained some useful data. The data can be downloaded as a continuous stream that can be graphed. You can also download heading data (so you know which bits are upwind and which downwind) and if memory serves you can even download the number of satelites locked.
I found that the graph of groundspeed had many spikes and dips, and if I turned with too much bank the number of satelites used dropped and so did the accuracy, while if I rolled or looped I lost the signal altogether. Even a tight turn could lose the satelites.

You can only believe GPS speed data if it is averaged from part of a continuous data stream.
A single maximum spike is laughable nonsense.

alasdair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 05:02 AM
  #4496
aquaskiman
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I am not buying 216 MPH on a falcon
aquaskiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 07:11 AM
  #4497
ticketec
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane, QLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,741
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I've seen falcon120's with k-80 radar'd at 160mph flat chat with a dive so about 260kph

Alastair is very correct on GPS error on speed calculation over the sort term. Flying fpv with GPS data onscreen will quickly show you what he is talking about

Thanks

Dave
ticketec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 10:42 AM
  #4498
ModellbauUK
 
ModellbauUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: AltonHAMPSHIRE, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Just popped the swept back turbine mounts and thicker canopies on my website.

Turbine mount has the required amount of down thrust plus allows a FOD guard to be used. No need to dremel the rear fairing and wooden brace away.

Ian
ModellbauUK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 08:59 PM
  #4499
CrocEnd
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Darwin, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 682
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Got a couple bites,
ME to don't buy it as well but VOLTRON might not agree.I have all the Eagle Tree gear and able to graph it will get to it one day.
Have the air speed tubes as well both ET and spectrum whom I think is made buy ET for spectrum, some of my FPV gear records the flight plus video.We can't get a hit with the radar gun for some reason it's a Bushnell 2. at part power we get readings of 212 use more thr.,full power nothing
I'll get to it But we did have FUN name of the game
CrocEnd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 03:11 AM
  #4500
alasdair
 
alasdair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Scotland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 596
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

The latest Eagletree data recorders are very good for accuracy, and easy to use.
You can download the data as a stream and analyse it. You can spot and eliminate obvious errors.
If you couple the GPS add-on you can corroborate some of the readings and get a heading (or rather track) readout which helps you tell which bit of the readout is for which bit of the flight. I recorded flap position for the same purpose.

The big problem is getting a reliable static pressure source. In my model I used the supplied pitot/static probe. But my height readings turned out wrong at high speed. In a high speed pass at 10 feet above the runway, the data recorder claimed it was 80 feet below the runway. Because of the error in the static pressure the speed calculated was underestimated, but the superimposed GPS speed trace helps make sense of the numbers.
The speed and height readouts when landing, or stalling high up, seem to be spot-on.
alasdair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:47 PM.