RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Reply
Old 07-23-2008, 09:29 PM
  #1426
Ed
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bemis, NM
Posts: 2,889
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Yes, I realize that the nylon screws must go, but just replace with steel metric screws, or change and replace the screws, and blind nuts to SAE ?

Seems to me that I also read somewhere, that someone tapped the existing metric blind nuts out to 1/4 - 20. Is this workable ? Which is the best way to go ?

... zak
Ed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 06:05 PM
  #1427
Aussie1
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: AdelaideSth Australia, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

In my previous post, I was wondering how I could set this plane up with only 8 channels avaliable and still satisfy the Australian MAAA safety requirements of turbine safety. After a couple of glasses of fine local red wine, I figured that I could program the Orbit ECU to accept single channel safety switch operation by fitting a jumper between Ve and control wires on the safety output from the ECU. Now, stopping the engine is simply done by closing the trim and throttle fully. I now had my spare channel, but I still had to be able to remotely stop the fuel pump, as required by our regulations. Onto the internet and I soon found a nice little remote relay made by Pico, rated at 10amps and priced around $20. I enjoy alot of indoor electric flying and probaly like many others have made the switch to brushless motors, and this has left me with lots of obsolete brushed motor equipment. I figured that I could use a old micro speed controller, and use the motor output to operate a 6V micro 10amp relay. For the power input, just splice the red and black wires onto the reciever input wires. Then run the main red positive wire to the fuel pump through the terminals of the relay and now you have a remote controlled relay! The relay cost $4.50 and the little GWS speed controller was about $15. Total weight is around 10 grams, and here is a link to a commercial product that I found.

http://www.dimensionengineering.com/BattleSwitch.htm

The pic shows my creation and it measures about 20mm square.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37279.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	996883  
Aussie1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 06:14 PM
  #1428
Ed
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bemis, NM
Posts: 2,889
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Well, I found part of it from Grodus >

" - as with my current falcon, I will knock out the blind nuts for the wing bolts and booms and install 1/4-20 blind nut and some quality nylon bolts. " Cody

I was just wondering if this idea has any merit ? Especially the idea of just 1/4 - 20 tapping down thru the existing metric #6 blind nuts ?

... zak
Ed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 07:38 PM
  #1429
joeflyer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 2,656
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

The easiest solution is to just get some some 6 mm. steel bolts. My local hardware store had them. If you tap out the blind nuts you run the risk of cross threading them or tearing them loose.

Joe
joeflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 08:02 PM
  #1430
Grodus
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hensley, AR
Posts: 380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Zak,
I'm with Joe, just using 6mm steel bolts are the easiest. I wanted to save a few oz but I could not find the right aluminum metric bolts. So I pushed out the blind nuts and replaced them with 1/4-20. Aluminum is readily available in that size. It will save several oz verses steel if it matters to you.

Cody
Grodus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 08:19 PM
  #1431
B58
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: La Luz, NM
Posts: 618
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Anybody know what length is required for the boom bolts? Thanks, Bob
B58 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 09:06 AM
  #1432
tim777jet
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maidenhead, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi guys, tried out my smoke system in flight yesterday, quite pleased. I used MT smoke fluid and also tried ordinary Diesel. video here.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=dG210SWDLKQ

Also got some inflight footage with the MT fluid, here

www.youtube.com/v/r1r32PDAUnA

On one occasion I dont know why, the system malfunctioned and had to land with the smoke tank full (125ml). ( poss clunk bent back on itself) Didnt make much difference but landed a bit long.
With the extra weight and around 30 degrees yesterday, 90 degree cross wind and long grass, the plane struggled a bit, so tookoff on tarmac and landed on grass after that.
See page 53 for the smoke system set up, with no more chanels left, i used undercarriage up for air to pump the fluid out, so no burnt out electric pumps.
I think a slightly larger opening would give a better thicker flume, so will try next time.

Ref the nose leg, with my home made oil filled damper and soft spring, what a difference. Really pleased. In the video, this was the worst bouncing of the nose that occured all day. All other grass taxiing and landing was really smooth. On last landing, used full flap and the nose stuck to ground well, with out being shot up in the air.

I had increased lenght of my main gears by about 8mm to prevent another occurance that i had last month, when the model became airbourne again after a perfect landing, probably due to a too high angle of attack with model sitting on ground.
I do think the model would benifite from a high angle of attack for take off and low angle for the landing, so i might design an extendable nose leg, to give me the best of both worlds.

The LED light, does not show up too well on the link, but in the flesh, it was brilliant. At 3 volts it was ok, but with 4.5 volts, it could be seen clearly even with the model side on at 90 degrees. The sun was a killer yesterday and we can only fly in one area, so spent all the flights trying to avoid it and you guessed it, as soon as i landed the clouds covered the sun. It was so bright, i wore my prescrition reactalites with polarizing modelflight glasses on top, so it was a credit to the light.

Cheers Tim

tim777jet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 01:01 PM
  #1433
GreenAcre
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eugene OR
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

WOW! I just got my T-750 and its HUGE on my falcon!! I know there were a couple of people flying falcon's with RAM 750's. I don't have enough money to get a bigger jet. And I DON'T want to sell the T-750 for a smaller turbine. In the future I will have money to purchase a bigger jet for the T-750. I want the Velox. I did have a boomer intro and a Rookie. But I want to fly now and I have everything ready. Don't know what to do.......[sm=what_smile.gif]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	If10526.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	998695   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ok29060.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	87.9 KB
ID:	998696   Click image for larger version

Name:	Di10706.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	74.5 KB
ID:	998697  
GreenAcre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 01:30 PM
  #1434
noahb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

When you cut out the opening for the starter to go in, your turbine will go forward around 2 inches or so. This will get your turbine centered over the mounting block. I think you will be ok.
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 02:34 PM
  #1435
GreenAcre
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eugene OR
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Thats what I was thinking too...
GreenAcre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 08:18 AM
  #1436
TURBINATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kingsville, TX
Posts: 131
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

T-750! Any wonder why things are breaking?


Jeff
TURBINATOR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 08:44 AM
  #1437
Speny
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Thats just crazy - how far do you want to push this cheapo air frame???

Remember it was built for an IC with a pusher prop - not a semi beefed up missile with an oversized rocket motor!

If you can afford to right off the cost of your turbine and kit then crash on - coz thats whats goint to happen here!!

Why, Why, Why?
Speny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 12:17 PM
  #1438
Ed
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bemis, NM
Posts: 2,889
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Amen Speny ! [>:] Aren't these Forums a tool for learning ? You would think that after Tumblers documented experience, that people would get the message. Apparently not.

More power on-board must be the path to fame and glory. I could care less what he puts into it, but of course he will say that he will just throttle back, but that's a lot of weight on that wimpy airframe. Not to mention additional fuel load to carry, in addition to increased turbine weight.
Yes, we all know that the wings will flex ............................................
So let's all flex 'em some more. Whoopeee !

... zak
Ed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 02:32 PM
  #1439
GreenAcre
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eugene OR
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Selling My T-750 for a SMALLER turbine......
GreenAcre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 02:46 PM
  #1440
TUMBLER
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 822
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

There are a lot more airframes for your 750 than there are for 14lb turbines. Think about that. There are always deals on RCU. I just picked up a Velox with landing gear for $800. Taking all the stuff out of rht Falcon and dropping it right in. That's a 200mph airframe with 18lbs and probably 230+ with your engine!

Tumbler


Quote:
ORIGINAL: GreenAcre

Selling My T-750 for a SMALLER turbine......
TUMBLER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:23 PM
  #1441
mongo
 
mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 2,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

uhh,
i thought "our" speedometers here in the US were supposed to stop registering at 200 mph.
mongo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:32 PM
  #1442
TUMBLER
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 822
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

If you are at a jet event, you better governor it. How's that?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mongo

uhh,
i thought "our" speedometers here in the US were supposed to stop registering at 200 mph.
TUMBLER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:37 PM
  #1443
noahb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

removed.

I think you will be ok if you build it right and check stuff out. Just dial the thrust down to about 16 lbs and you will be fine. Don't yank on it real hard going 150 mph and you should be fine. However, if you can find a smaller (lighter) turbine, that would be best.

I have a super bee I will sell you!

noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 08:52 PM
  #1444
sweetpea01
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lebanon OH
Posts: 3,311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

On sale.........$179.99


sweetpea01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 02:01 PM
  #1445
GreenAcre
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eugene OR
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I have choosen to put a O.S. 1.60! And not go with the T-750. Way to big. NEVER
GreenAcre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 11:09 PM
  #1446
Johnny Isaiah Woods
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hendersonville, TN
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

GA,
You are making a mistake, not going with the T750. It is not to big.
Do not let someone turn you around, when that combo is safe, and
a pleasure to fly. It is always better to have more power, and not use it,
than to not have enough. Yes, a 12 to 14 lb engine will fly the
Falcon, but not make it perform.

Johnny
Johnny Isaiah Woods is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 03:00 AM
  #1447
tim777jet
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maidenhead, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I agree with Johnny, my home made engine is way heavier than say a Wren and lower on power. It is good to have extra power to get off from say a grass runway, then just be easy with throttle in flight. Keep an eye on the engine mount area, especially if you land heavy. cheers Tim
tim777jet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 06:31 AM
  #1448
aquaskiman
 
aquaskiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sedalia, CO
Posts: 1,130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I have a Wren MK3 (14lbs thrust) I fly at 5200 ft and I have unlimited vertical with mine. It looks to be pretty fast 180 to 200. I think it is a great plane for the price; you just have to do a little work to make it strong enough for turbine use. George
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca81619.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	54.2 KB
ID:	1001222  
aquaskiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 09:31 AM
  #1449
Grodus
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hensley, AR
Posts: 380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

George,
What is your AUW? I dont think my Superbee is as strong as a Mk3 and mine is lacking in the verticle. With a full load of fuel, mine will not sustain verticle very long at all. It is just about perfect when I get down to the last 2 minutes of flight. I would guess mine at about 130mph.

Cody
Grodus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 05:20 PM
  #1450
noahb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I doubt it is doing 180-200. I have dove mine full power and come out straight and level and was clocked at 168 mph after a 100 or 200 feet. However, anything is possible. The falcon has a thick wing and stab. However, it could be that his engine is putting out more then 14lbs of thrust. Who knows.

I too have the super bee and I have exellent vert. Not on take off, but once up to speed, it will climb very good for awhile. Not unlimited, but very good.
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:51 AM.