RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Reply
Old 08-04-2007, 07:30 PM
  #201
noahb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi guys, going to order one myself. have a Artes Super Bee for it. Do you guys think this will be a good turbine for it? It's rated at 14lbs.

also, what would your best guess be the straight and level top speed would be with this turbine? Maybe 150?

Thanks


If we could see a few pics of the hardware install like tanks, plumbing, stuff like that.


thanks
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 03:03 AM
  #202
wingart
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ipswich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi noahb
My mate has a super bee in his small mirage its about the the same wieght as the falcon.
And its very fast, i think the performance with your set up will be BALLISTIC.
Now ive set my54 up properley at 160,000 iam proberly getting up to the speeds you mention or at least it seems that way.
UPload pix later iam off too ,dare i say it a heli flyin.
regards Steve.
wingart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 11:06 AM
  #203
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Guys,

As far as servos - can you please list the necessary servos needed fot the Falcon 120 ? a friend ordered one and wants to buy servos already, before he recieved the plane.

thanks.
i3dm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 12:30 PM
  #204
bigplumbs
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,725
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Good servos are

For Rudders 2 Nr HS225 MG

For Elevator 2 Nr HS225 MG

For Ailerons......... 2 Nr any good 4 - 5 kg torque standard size servos

For Flaps.............. 2 Nr any good 4 - 5 kg torque standard size servos

For Steerable Nose wheel 1 Nr any good 3 - 5 kg servo

For Retract switch........... 1 Nr Any thing you want

How does that sound
bigplumbs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 01:09 PM
  #205
BiGToP
 
BiGToP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southend, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Sounds good to me![&:]
BiGToP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 01:41 PM
  #206
noahb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

anyone care to post some pics of the electronics install? Just wondering how you laid out everything for the turbine.
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 01:46 PM
  #207
Grumman
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lauderhill, FL
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hey Guys!!! Some fuel tank shots also please... also what size did you go with?
Thanks
MOJO[>:] Happy Flying Enjoy!!!
Grumman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 01:58 PM
  #208
noahb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Well, I have yet to order my turbine but I was thinking the Artes super bee at 14lbs, however I have looked at the Falcon (22lbs) and I know the thrust is too much, but I can dial that down. however, I am wanting a turbine that will give me a larger choice of models.

Any input from you guys on the turbines?

The falcon weighs about 1.2 pounds heavier which may not be the best match for this jet...but with 22lbs of thrust, it does open up a whole lot more models to be able to fly.

however, the superbee is such a good engine and there is plenty of airplanes out there already.

thanks
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 02:12 PM
  #209
bigplumbs
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,725
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

The Falcon at 22lbs will be far too much for this plane IMO

Dennis
bigplumbs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 02:18 PM
  #210
noahb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

yeah I know. However, I will only be getting one turbine and would like to know from those who fly turbines alot what there idea is. I really don't ever think I will get a large jet, however I think the bee would do me just fine for most of the stuff I might fly. However, there are jets out there that I like where the rec. 18 lbs of thrust and the bee prob. would not do it justice.

On the falcon, I could always limit the rpm down to give me only 14 or so lbs of thrust.

then later, if I go to a diffrent jet, I could have the thrust.

However, the bee is really light and so trouble free.
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 02:27 PM
  #211
Woketman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,332
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I say use the power, but use it responsibly. The only limit should be your thumb's position. Use the appropriate throttle position when flying straight & level or descending. But when going straight up, warp speed Mr. Sulu!!!!! Beef up the structure to match.
Woketman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 02:33 PM
  #212
noahb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

LOL. Here you about the verticle power.

I am torn between this Falcon 120 jet or a boomerang. The price tells me to go to the Falcon. But the boomer has more room to put stuff.

Would like to see some more videos of those that are flying theres already.


as for the turbine, I have yet to decide if the bee or the falcon.

I guess I better make up my mind sometime soon....
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 02:37 PM
  #213
Eric Banner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Norwich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 206
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hi noahb,

I believe either the Super Bee or MW54 Mk3 would be a perfect match for the Nitro Falcon. The MW S/S at 18lbf plus would probably rip the wings off the plane if you ran it at full rpm. After all, the plane is designed only for nitro engines.
The Jet Central Falcon IMO is a complete mismatch to this plane. Yes you can dial the thrust down but you can’t dial down the weight and physical size!

I’d go with the MW S/S, dialled down to 14lbf, if you have future plans for larger planes AND want to fly the Nitro Falcon first.

Otherwise the Super Bee or MW54 fit the bill.

HTH
Kind regards,
Eric

Quote:
ORIGINAL: noahb

Well, I have yet to order my turbine but I was thinking the Artes super bee at 14lbs, however I have looked at the Falcon (22lbs) and I know the thrust is too much, but I can dial that down. however, I am wanting a turbine that will give me a larger choice of models.

Any input from you guys on the turbines?

The falcon weighs about 1.2 pounds heavier which may not be the best match for this jet...but with 22lbs of thrust, it does open up a whole lot more models to be able to fly.

however, the superbee is such a good engine and there is plenty of airplanes out there already.

thanks
Eric Banner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 02:43 PM
  #214
Woketman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,332
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I agree that the weight of the Falcon is excessive, but if you are certain to beef the airframe up, and don't mind the higher wing loading and wear & tear on the gear, go for it!
Woketman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 03:52 PM
  #215
noahb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Yeah, I know the falcon is too heavy, even thou it's light for it's size.

I will most likely end up with the bee. I have nothing bad to say about Wrens. Great turbines. However, the Artes Bee runs great, is very light and has a lifetime warrenty all for $2495. Not too bad.

I had considered the Wrens, but after looking at the Artes and reading about how much people liked them and the service...I will stay with Artes turbine. I do like the MK 54 SS. What a great turbine....


noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 04:28 PM
  #216
Edgar Perez
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,153
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Woketman

I say use the power, but use it responsibly. The only limit should be your thumb's position. Use the appropriate throttle position when flying straight & level or descending. But when going straight up, warp speed Mr. Sulu!!!!! Beef up the structure to match.
Don't want to hijack the thread... but I wondering if you can use a Throttle to throttle mix to limit the signal to the receiver in order to mimic the dial down on the turbine. You can use the retract switch so that you have full power for takeoff and aborts. With the retract up, the signal will limit the turbine RPM to whatever value you select, effectively dialing it down.
Edgar Perez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 04:46 PM
  #217
noahb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

I don't see why not. It would be the same as holding the throttle stick say at half way.

noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 05:06 PM
  #218
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Edgar, sounds like a nice idea ! good call.
i3dm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 05:20 PM
  #219
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

You guys using MINI servos (Hitec 225) on the elevator ?? why not 2 full size servos ?
i3dm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 08:43 PM
  #220
noahb
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

hey guys, the few that have there turbines in, can we get some more pics?

Pics of the fuel system, electronic install, turbine electonics too.


Thanks

oh, any more videos would be cool too.
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 10:57 PM
  #221
Johnny Isaiah Woods
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hendersonville, TN
Posts: 187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

All,
If you can go turbine, go with Wrens MW54SS (18 lbs), Artese Falcon (22 lbs),
Jetcat P80 or P70. Use batteries in nose to ballance, the wings are not going
to fly off if you fly reasonable (it is not a Bandit). The stability of this plane
is unbilievable (sp). I lost an engine after taking off today with full 85 oz
of fuel, could not make the runway so landed in the grass, gear up and
the plane was solid in turns (no power) and glided easy (no bad habbits).

Johnny
Johnny Isaiah Woods is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 10:39 AM
  #222
BiGToP
 
BiGToP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southend, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: i3dm

You guys using MINI servos (Hitec 225) on the elevator ?? why not 2 full size servos ?

I believe it's a weight issue?
BiGToP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 11:02 AM
  #223
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Johnny - i hope you got out of it unharmed ?
i3dm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 11:53 AM
  #224
eskwah
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Froya, NORWAY
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Hello !

I have bought myself a Falcon 120 Here in Norway, and are planning to put on a os 1.60 on it...!!! What prop are you guys recomend me to use...???
eskwah is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 12:04 PM
  #225
bigplumbs
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,725
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bob Cat Copy Falcon 120 Jet

Quote:
ORIGINAL: BiGToP


Quote:
ORIGINAL: i3dm

You guys using MINI servos (Hitec 225) on the elevator ?? why not 2 full size servos ?

I believe it's a weight issue?


The prepared cut outs are too small for standard servos the HS225 fit perfectly and have enough power so why make life difficult... Of course you could do what many do when they build an artf which is some or all of the following lol

1) Throw away the hardware on the grounds it is crap
2) Strip off the covering cos you dont like it
3) Fully sheet the whole plane cos you are going to overpower it
4) Make it so heavy by over powering it that it needs better landing gear which of course makes it heavier still which means you need more power.
5) Spend loads on top quality servos that are not needed
6) Make sure that all your servos are digital so you need a bigger battery and hence the weight goes up again

After doing all this you could just decided that you have bought an ARTF and trust it and use sensible equipment and the correct power for the plane..................... Still each to their own

Dennis

bigplumbs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:55 PM.