Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

jetjoes starters

Old 09-21-2007, 03:55 PM
  #1  
John Casey
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default jetjoes starters

So.... for anyone thinking about upgrading there airstart turbine with a jetjoe starter,
both the $25.00 starter and the $60 starter have the same Motor..just the bullet nose is longer on the $60 model
otherwise there is no difference. The legs are also the same length and spred.
They are both 6v motors so watch your voltage output.
RK 370SD motors
save your money.... the $60 version "looks "better but internally no more horses under the hood.

There are a great value and will do the job.
John Casey is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 01:37 PM
  #2  
i3dm
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

Any idea if we could convert an AMT 180 Mercury with one? reason i ask is the front nut is rounded and not pointed.
i3dm is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 04:35 PM
  #3  
Ruizmilton
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Carolina, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

I3dm:

You need to purchase the spinner nut, I used a Jetjoe spinner nut to convert my airstart RAM 750 to auto start
Ruizmilton is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 04:46 PM
  #4  
i3dm
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

Ruiz, did the threads fit as it was ? how can we varify the threads before buying ?
i3dm is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:05 PM
  #5  
Ruizmilton
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Carolina, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

I have no idea of what the thread gauge is, I just tried and it fit, it's a revese thread, maybe others here can tell if the thread is a standard size, your other option would be to machne the front of the current nut in other to add another piece of aluminum using friction fit and then machine it in the form of a cone, just remember you have to insert a magnet inside the cone for the RPM pickup sensor.
Ruizmilton is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:24 PM
  #6  
i3dm
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

Can you advise how to machine it ? im not sure i understand.

Also, is there a way to remove the nut without taking any of the motor parts apart ?
i3dm is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 06:05 PM
  #7  
Eric D
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oshawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 122
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

The JJ nut is 6X1.0 mm left hand thread. Most engines are that size.
Eric D is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 06:11 PM
  #8  
i3dm
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

Still puzzled on my second question though - is there a way to remove the nut without taking any of the motor parts apart ?

Also, can anyone confirm if the AMT Mercury is the same 6X1.0 mm left hand thread?
i3dm is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 06:12 PM
  #9  
Ruizmilton
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Carolina, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

I do not know how it is on the AMT, but on the RAM the compressor has a flat side on the front allowing you to use a wrench to hold it, it seems to also be pressure fit or keyed, so it did not loose alignment with the turbine wheel or axle when I removed the nut. I know there is a link here about a guy who builds his own turbines, the website shows how to do the machining and adding the magnet I mention, but I forgot where it is.
Ruizmilton is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 06:27 PM
  #10  
i3dm
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

I dont think ill need to add the magnet, im thinking about converting the current nut somehow and it has its own magnet.

or maybe fitting a JJ one with the magnet already installed.

Maybe i shall remove the current nut, srill and tap it in the center and make an aluminum cone that will thread on it with a center bolt... hmmm..
i3dm is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 11:12 PM
  #11  
Ruizmilton
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Carolina, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

That's basically what the machining does, but when you drill you'll run into the magnet, that's why you have to add it to the new part you'll add
Ruizmilton is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 10:11 AM
  #12  
i3dm
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

The size of the AMT nut (from AMT themselves) is 1/4 inch x 28 UNF left
i3dm is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 10:15 AM
  #13  
AndyAndrews
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,124
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

jet joes start?
AndyAndrews is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 12:42 PM
  #14  
John Casey
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

The nut on the Pegasus was rounded
enough to make good contact with the o-ring with no slippage,
but I shaved a little material off the front of the bendix to
make sure of no metal to metal contact. Like any of the starters centering
and distance set from the front nut is critical.

To really get a good grip, Auto shops sell spray on belt adhesive to keep your belts from slipping and squealing on your car,
put some on a Q-tip and coat the front of the nut and the o-ring. The oring is just a really small belt that grips the nut
... no more squealing starters. Saves on O-ring wear as well.

It turned the motor up faster than the stock starter I have on an another autostart 280.

I don't know about the nut on the mercury.

If you burn up the original motor (RK370SD), the 370c motors
that you find at the local electronic shop will fit
but will not turn motor up to the rpms needed.... so just order a new one.

For $25.00 plus shipping it was fun to play with.

I would not go around machining the nut on the front of the motor as the balance could be way off when you get done.
The starters disengage around 20,000 rpm so trimming the bendix is your safer bet.
John Casey is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 12:45 PM
  #15  
i3dm
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

John yes our nut is rounded in the same way.

did you use the JJ starter mount on the Pegasus ?
i3dm is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 12:54 PM
  #16  
John Casey
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

Its been set up, I have not used it to start the engine as of yet,
I am using it as a "cooling motor" to save on air after a run
plus an aircraft blower to cool the inside of the plane.

I'm waiting to get the means to "turn down the voltage to the starter"

The AMT autostart ecus put out 12v to the starter and will blown up the jetjoe which is a 6v motor.
(thats how I found out, I blew up my first starter motor, but I had some spares.. so live and learn.)

I have no manual airstart ecus which would support manual operation.

You would have to watch your edt and turn the motor off at 20,000. otherwise it would be just like starting a wren.

The motor will only turn the engine up to around 20,000 by itself, after that is drag.

The stock amt autostart starter motor topped at around 17,000.
John Casey is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 10:10 AM
  #17  
MattyC-130
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: columbia, TN
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

Yes the JeJoe JJ1800 Bullit starter will work on the AMT Mercury with round compressor nut.
I have all my turbines set up for semi auto start with with eletric starter, I run the starter with a shunt switch. and control gas, fuel, glow plug ignitor manualy, I like to have full control of everything during the start sequence.
The only thing you will need to do is shorten the 3 starter legs so the bendix clutch will make contact with the compressor nut.
Just modded my AMT Mercury last night and tested it. The bendix clutch has no problem grabbing the round nut and spinning the engine with no slippage.
Hope this helps,
Matty
MattyC-130 is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 12:50 PM
  #18  
Woketman
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,358
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters

I do not think that you need to worry about adding a magnet in the nut on an old manual air start AMT. IIRC, they have no magnet. The RPM sensor detects the compressor blades passing by it. No magnet is involved. At least that's the way I remember it.
Woketman is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 01:32 PM
  #19  
i3dm
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetjoes starters


ORIGINAL: Woketman

I do not think that you need to worry about adding a magnet in the nut on an old manual air start AMT. IIRC, they have no magnet. The RPM sensor detects the compressor blades passing by it. No magnet is involved. At least that's the way I remember it.

Thats correct.

BTW - my friend's AMT Mercury has been modified with a JJ1400 starter and its working great.
i3dm is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.