Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Spektrum 2.4 Did You know? UPDATE Finally

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Spektrum 2.4 Did You know? UPDATE Finally

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2008, 08:29 AM
AnthonyW

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spektrum 2.4 Did You know? UPDATE Finally

So,
I recently decided to convert to 2.4. I have a JR PCM10SXII, a couple of jets and a 1/5 scal P-47. Now I have been flying R/C for 30 years and some old habits never die.
I have always (from the old days) used amplified Y-Harnesses when using dual elevator, ailerons, flaps, nose wheel/rudder etc in most if not all of my planes. It is just something I have always done.
Well, I installed the 2.4 in my Maverick Pro and suddenly my elevators would not work. I traced it to the y-harness. I figured hey, the plane is 8 years old on occasion, things go bad. So I replaced it.

So I am Fentress, VA this weekend for a jet fly and I am speaking with a JR rep and mention in passing the y-harness was bad when I installed the 2.4.
He asked me
JR: "WAS THAT AN AMPLIFIED Y-HARNESS?
A: YES IT WAS.
JR: DO YOU HAVE ANY MORE IN THE PLANE?
A: YES, I HAVE 3 MORE IN THAT PLANE AND 5 IN THE TURBINE
JR: WE (JR REPS) WERE RECENTLY INFORMED THAT JR IS STARTING TO TRACE CRASHES BACK TO AMPLIFIED Y-HARNESSES AND RECOMMEND YOU DO NOT USE THEM.
A: OH REALLY, HOW COME THERE IS NO WARNING IN THE MANUALS, ALERT OR ANYTHING?

I checked with a second JR rep and Bob Violetts Peeps and confirmed that for some reason the 2.4ghz will eventually burn out an amplified Y-Harness. Dave & Pete Malchione confirmed and said they have not converted a couple of jets yet as they do not know what is burried in the plane.

Bottom line is:
DO NOT USE AMPLIFIED Y-HARNESSES WITH 2.4!

I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO HAVE HAD MY 72MHZ MODULE AND RECEIVERS WITH ME AND WAS ABLE TO FLY ALL WEEKEND WITHOUT AN ISSUE.