Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 80 of 84 FirstFirst ... 30707879808182 ... LastLast
Results 1,976 to 2,000 of 2088

  1. #1976

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    52
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Boomerang Sprint Build Thread!

    Xairflyer - Thanks!

    That helped a lot...

    I have two questions after the reprogramming:

    1) I set up my elevator mixing at half flaps for 10% down (is this OK?) - but I originally set it up in the program 2 mixing. Now that I see that Flap Sys can do this for me I think it is cleaner to use flap sys instead....the problem is I can't figure out how to disable or reset program mix #2? How do I do this?

    2) The ailerons come in nice and slow at full flaps - I set to -35% for the first flights (is this enough) - The only issue is I can't seem to find how to set the left aileron to deflect up (instead of oppose to the right for normal flight control). In other words if I enable full flaps the plane will go into a spin Must be simple but can't find the function to change direction of L aileron for flaps only...

    Oh ya, and elevator deflection is set 0% at full flap??

    Thanks again - this helped a lot!

    Kurt

  2. #1977
    Xairflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Co. Donegal, IRELAND
    Posts
    2,718
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Boomerang Sprint Build Thread!


    ORIGINAL: kmw1

    Xairflyer - Thanks!

    That helped a lot...

    I have two questions after the reprogramming:

    1) I set up my elevator mixing at half flaps for 10% down (is this OK?) - but I originally set it up in the program 2 mixing. Now that I see that Flap Sys can do this for me I think it is cleaner to use flap sys instead....the problem is I can't figure out how to disable or reset program mix #2? How do I do this?

    2) The ailerons come in nice and slow at full flaps - I set to -35% for the first flights (is this enough) - The only issue is I can't seem to find how to set the left aileron to deflect up (instead of oppose to the right for normal flight control). In other words if I enable full flaps the plane will go into a spin Must be simple but can't find the function to change direction of L aileron for flaps only...

    Oh ya, and elevator deflection is set 0% at full flap??

    Thanks again - this helped a lot!

    Kurt
    (1)Depends what you want the first stage/half flap setting to do, is it a takeoff flap or a reduced flap say for days with stronger winds where full flap is just too slow.
    I use first stage for takeoff in short strips, about 15deg is about right, the figure 10% will vary depending on your linkage setup, long arm short arm etc.

    To clear/deactivate any of the six mixes, when in the mix scroll to the start channel you are mixing e.g. if your mix is RUDD - AUX3 scroll to RUDD and press the CLR button, the mix is now turned off.

    (2)Again 35% will depend on other factors, set the ailerons about 5-10mm up for first flights.
    Both ailerons should go up if you followed the programing I gave you before. - Maybe the mix you added is causing problems, you must make sure there are no other mixes active, other than the FLAP - FPRN mix
    www.letterkennymodelflyingclub.com
    www.jmaireland.com

  3. #1978

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    52
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Boomerang Sprint Build Thread!

    OK - Let me clarify....

    I was only intending to use flaps for landing so right now they are set for 50% (30 degress down) deflection at half with 5 degrees down elevator and at 100% (60 degrees down) at full with no elevator down. Maybe I'm using the 1/2 flap setting wrong and should use for take-off and not landing setting as you stated and only use full flap for landing?

    I found my problem on the direction issue - I was on the same channel. I'm using a Smartfly Super Reg and it only has 8 channels out on it.
    1 - Throttle
    2 - (2) ailerons
    3 - Elevator
    4 - (2) Rudders
    5 - Gear
    6 - Flaps
    7 - Nose Stearing
    8 - Breaks

    So I unplugged the L aileron from the Smart-fly channel 2-B and plugged directly into the AUX 2 of the JR receiver and its works just like you said....do yo think this could be a potenial problem bypassing the Smart-fly when all other servos are plugged into it?

    Other than clarification on flap use and bypassing the Smart-fly I should be good! Please advise as you have been a great help!

    Thanks - Kurt

  4. #1979
    Xairflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Co. Donegal, IRELAND
    Posts
    2,718
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Boomerang Sprint Build Thread!

    How you use the flap is up to you, some like first stage to be takeoff others a half flap that is put on first during downwind then full flap on approach.

    You will need down elevator for full flap more so than half flap.

    Dont have any experience with the smart fly box you are talking about, why have you fitted it?
    You could set your nosewheel steering up mechanically and Y lead it to the rudders if you need another channel.
    www.letterkennymodelflyingclub.com
    www.jmaireland.com

  5. #1980

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chardon, OH
    Posts
    21
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Boomerang Sprint Build Thread!

    About a month ago I got the Sprint too slow on final about a foot in the air and it stalled. Bent the nose gear, ripped out the right main gear and pulled out two flap hinges. Amazingly not much damage. After a month of repairs the airplane flew twice yesterday.

    To help preclude another stall I put an Eagle Tree Pro telemetry system on the jet with a pitot tube on the side of the fuselage. Took the plane about four mistakes high and did a series of gear up and flap up stalls. Stall speed with a full tank (1 gallon) of fuel turned out to be about 35 miles per hour. For approach I had someone stand beside me and read the airspeed off the handheld telemetry unit. Made for a very nice comfortable approach and landing. Actually touched down a 33 mph, so I have to do some full flap stalls to see what speed it stalls at. Didn't think to do the full flap tests.

  6. #1981
    BaldEagel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    9,598
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Boomerang Sprint Build Thread!

    Try all that again with some reflex on the ailerons and see if it helps, would be interesting to know, to my perception it delays the onset of the stall, would be nice to put some figures on it.

    Mike
    My Gast is Flabered.
    No matter what anyone say's 100% is the maximum you can get.
    If you see a deleted post, my Avatar say's it all.

  7. #1982

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    17
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Boomerang Sprint Build Thread!

    Could anyone post a link to the recommended electric retract set? I assume brakes are still pnuematic?

    Lou
    Don\'t Panic

  8. #1983
    Rocketman612's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Enterprise, AL
    Posts
    2,392
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Boomerang Sprint Build Thread!

    Hello,

    It took a few days but I read the entire thread [X(] Thanks to all who posted lots of good info and answered most of my questions.

    One thing that wasn't discussed much if at all is the wing incidence with the plane on it's gear. My plane and gear have not arrived yet but it looks like it's zero from the numerous photos but one of the later posts suggested negative incidence. Also I read where the incidence of the Horizontal stab may need to be changed is it also zero and how many of you adjusted it. I know the short answer is see how it fly's first

    Using a P70 in mine and will post photo's when done.

    Thanks,

    Pete
    \"Remember, all I\'\'m offering is the truth, nothing more...\"
    Morpheus

  9. #1984
    lxfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    LUXEMBOURG
    Posts
    110
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Boomerang Sprint Build Thread!

    Hi Pete,
    Have the stock gear from Jet-1A mounted on the support without changing anything, Changed a little bit the incidence by underlaying the front of the horizontal stab on the fins (~0,7mm) after some test flights. Mine is powered by a P100RX, so all values may change with the turbine used. I think that the Sprint should fly out of the box, just adapt to your preferences later on.

  10. #1985

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    3
    I am working on a boomerang elan at the moment and none of the tubes fit as the paint in inside the tube, once I sanded out all the paint all the tubes are a nice snug fit but not impossible to put in or remove. Sand all the paint out of the tubes and it will fit well.

  11. #1986

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Baldwin, MI
    Posts
    422
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by DamBo View Post
    I had also questioned Todd at dreamworks about the play between the strut and the brake assembly when I received my brake kit.

    If I remember correctly , "this has been several months" he had said that this was a change that they had made in the brakes and the that the play would not matter as it will not be there when the brakes are applied.

    I kind of saw it as an issue as the brake line get pushed against the strut when the brakes are applied and has clearance when they are off.

    It looked like a possible wear piont on the line.

    I had put a 3/16" strip of heat shrink tubing around the brake line and strut above the fitting just to cushion the rocking some.

    I have not had any issues with it in over 40 flights.
    Finally, ... I had to read 40+ pages to get to this. Whew! It appears to me that the axle hole is drilled from the wrong side of the strut. Or, ... if the axle hole was drilled all the way through the strut, then you could put the axle in from the other direction and swap the brake over to the other side of the strut. Then move the strut/brake components over to the other side of the plane. Then, the machined surfaces on the strut would mate with the machined surface on the brake. If you did not previously already cut the axles to fit the blind hole, the remaining hole would be plugged by the extra axle length. Unfortunately, I already cut my axles. I also have been waiting for an answer from Dreamworks on this problem for several days. I am not so pleased with this as it was discovered and discussed in 2009 but not corrected for 2013. What seems worse is, ... to find the info you have to wade through this thread and it's chit-chat for a couple days. Maybe it is time for a new build thread on this plane to better condense the building information. ? A search did not even lessen the pain in getting here.
    Sprint, P-90rxi, DX18
    AW 35% Extra, DLE 111, DX9
    AW Checkmate, DLE 55, DX8
    Topflite 20% P-40, DLE 55
    3 Helis & 2 PA Electrics
    N8AGS

  12. #1987
    BaldEagel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    9,598
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Nicely volunteered Len, when will you start the new thread, keep us informed.

    Mike
    My Gast is Flabered.
    No matter what anyone say's 100% is the maximum you can get.
    If you see a deleted post, my Avatar say's it all.

  13. #1988
    rcpete347's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bolton, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    2,138
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    HI, just finished my 5th Sprint, this one is for sale, need to fund my F-104.
    The Sprint does not need any nose weight, as I built everything forward, 3 batteries in the nose and turbine slightly forward, also have about 3/16'' downthrust in the turbine.
    The Sprint does not need Flaps for take off and does not need crow, their simply is not another jet as easy to fly.
    RcpeteClick image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3096.JPG 
Views:	80 
Size:	62.3 KB 
ID:	1938806Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3098.JPG 
Views:	82 
Size:	56.2 KB 
ID:	1938807Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3099.JPG 
Views:	100 
Size:	64.2 KB 
ID:	1938808Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3100.JPG 
Views:	77 
Size:	63.5 KB 
ID:	1938809Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3097.JPG 
Views:	83 
Size:	60.9 KB 
ID:	1938810Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3101.JPG 
Views:	72 
Size:	39.3 KB 
ID:	1938811Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3102.JPG 
Views:	72 
Size:	49.9 KB 
ID:	1938812Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3100.JPG 
Views:	77 
Size:	63.5 KB 
ID:	1938809Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3103.JPG 
Views:	81 
Size:	49.2 KB 
ID:	1938813Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3104.JPG 
Views:	76 
Size:	59.2 KB 
ID:	1938814Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3105.JPG 
Views:	59 
Size:	55.3 KB 
ID:	1938815
    Wear your sun protection

  14. #1989

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    bxl, BELGIUM
    Posts
    4
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Hello,
    I am building my Sprint. I have a Wren100. In order to balance the sprint without adding weight, I need to install the turbine the most forward possible. This means the output of the turbin (cone) is very much inside the fuselage (say 8cm / 3inches from the rear edge). I did paint the rear part with ceramic paint but i am not too sure if such distance is an issue or not.
    Thanks a lot for your help and advice.

  15. #1990
    BaldEagel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    9,598
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    See page 71 Post 1753, still required some weight in the nose.

    Mike
    My Gast is Flabered.
    No matter what anyone say's 100% is the maximum you can get.
    If you see a deleted post, my Avatar say's it all.

  16. #1991
    lxfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    LUXEMBOURG
    Posts
    110
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Yes,no problem, as Mike answered, I saw this installation in some Sprints working perfectly.

    Quote Originally Posted by memejfd View Post
    Hello,
    I am building my Sprint. I have a Wren100. In order to balance the sprint without adding weight, I need to install the turbine the most forward possible. This means the output of the turbin (cone) is very much inside the fuselage (say 8cm / 3inches from the rear edge). I did paint the rear part with ceramic paint but i am not too sure if such distance is an issue or not.
    Thanks a lot for your help and advice.

  17. #1992
    Si_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    , , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    77
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Could someone please confirm that the Boomerangs are covered in Pro film or Oracover. I just discovered my new Sprint has taken a knock under the centre wing (no idea how it happened) which has damaged the wing skin. I don't think I can resolve it without remving the covering, but I want to match the silver after the repair. I'm really gutted, I bought this to replace my Intro which looks well used, so you can imagine how I felt when I saw the damage. Not even flown it yet.

    Cheers,
    Simon

  18. #1993
    chris1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    catoosa, OK
    Posts
    317
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Yes, oracover is what they use. I got that straight from Patricia at boomerang jets.

  19. #1994
    chris1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    catoosa, OK
    Posts
    317
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I now have 180 flights on my Sprint. I have ripped out the gear so many times that i have lost count. But the repairs are easy and it just keeps on ticking! Hard to go wrong with this jet!

  20. #1995

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Perth Australiaaustralia, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    404
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    should pin the hinges for safety. I used tooth picks then trim them off

  21. #1996
    Downwind3Zero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Webster, NY
    Posts
    174
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Hi, could someone measure the length of a single wing for me? I am looking for appropriate wing bags.
    Thanks, CHris

  22. #1997

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Baldwin, MI
    Posts
    422
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    26.5 " x 16"
    Sprint, P-90rxi, DX18
    AW 35% Extra, DLE 111, DX9
    AW Checkmate, DLE 55, DX8
    Topflite 20% P-40, DLE 55
    3 Helis & 2 PA Electrics
    N8AGS

  23. #1998
    Downwind3Zero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Webster, NY
    Posts
    174
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Thanks Len, much appreciated!

  24. #1999
    lov2flyrc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Daytona Beach
    Posts
    5,932
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by Louiedajew1138 View Post
    Could anyone post a link to the recommended electric retract set? I assume brakes are still pnuematic?

    Lou
    Complete electric combo - http://www.dreamworksrc.com/catalog/...ar-Combo-Basic or http://www.dreamworksrc.com/catalog/...Gear-Combo-Pro
    Todd Witkoff
    Dreamworks Model Products LLC
    www.dreamworksrc.com
    Your Source For RC Jet Accessories!

  25. #2000

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Montreal , QC, CANADA
    Posts
    185
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    http://youtu.be/sltcHARIOEI

    Look at the landing and see if it can help, also look at the high speed pass at around 1.27. The sprint is a great airplane and very easy to land . I do not use any flaps on landing or take off , my other jet is an Ultra flash and I use flaps on it cause it is needed .

    Thx
    good luck


Page 80 of 84 FirstFirst ... 30707879808182 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:11 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.