RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

TBM Shock Jet

Reply
Old 12-05-2011, 12:18 PM
  #1126
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Toprudder, what field are you flying your Shokjet at? Just curious as I moved out here to the west coast 6 years ago from Raleigh.

Tom
Tip22v is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 12:21 PM
  #1127
toprudder
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 248
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Thanks for the info. I will have to decide if it will be worth it to do all of that. I'm thinking of getting a new airframe, either a Boomerang Sprint, or a Modelbau Tornado. Either will take the Falcon and a larger tank. Decisions, decisions.
toprudder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 12:23 PM
  #1128
toprudder
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 248
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Tip22v

Toprudder, what field are you flying your Shokjet at? Just curious as I moved out here to the west coast 6 years ago from Raleigh.

Tom
RDRC - Raleigh Durham RC, close to Rolesville. Years back I flew at the Raleigh Aeromasters field close to Youngsville. Were you a member of either club?

You have my sympathies with the shift to the far left.
toprudder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 12:37 PM
  #1129
rcguy59
 
rcguy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Once on the bench, it took less than an hour. Best mod I made, after replacing the SuperBee with the Rabbit. Don't fret over it, just get it done. You'll be glad you did.
rcguy59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:30 PM
  #1130
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

YeaI was real happy with my shock until I flew the one I set-up for Bob and now it's got me thinking about putting my K-80 in it and the 14# turbine in my Nano. Thanks Bob. Now I may go ahead and get you to order two of those tanks. Ha. Ha. By the way, you can lay one up in a week-end for about 30 bucks. After you make the plug that is. LoL. Bob, you make the plug and I'll make the mold.
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:38 PM
  #1131
rcguy59
 
rcguy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

The TBM tank is blow-molded with no seams to leak. Just throw away the stopper that comes with the tank and use a DuBro gas stopper. Same goes for the included fuel line. I used large Tygon and over a year later it's still fine.
rcguy59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:41 PM
  #1132
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Cool Guy. You wouldn't have the Dimensions of that tank would ya??
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:52 PM
  #1133
rcguy59
 
rcguy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

I'd have to remove it to get solid numbers for you but dimensions were listed on TBM's website when I purchased it. Sorry.
rcguy59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:54 PM
  #1134
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Thats good. I'll check there and thanks.
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 03:02 PM
  #1135
rcguy59
 
rcguy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

The 101 oz. tank is too tall to judge the fuel level by looking through the intakes. It does, however, extend far enough forward to easily view the fuel level with the hatch removed.
rcguy59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 03:26 PM
  #1136
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Hey Guy. I fig with a K-80 I can go with a little smaller tank. (about 90 oz). and that would be good.
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 03:32 PM
  #1137
rcguy59
 
rcguy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

You're correct of course, but the extra 11 oz. is a couple of laps more and nothing says you have to fill the tank in the first place. The weight difference between the two isn't worth worrying about in a 14 lb. airplane. Just my opinion.
rcguy59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 04:18 PM
  #1138
jblloyd
 
jblloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 190
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

I have been flying a P-80 in my ShockJet for about a year now. I have an 80 oz. fuel tank that I got from Ali's Jet Central that gives me about 10-12 minutes depending on throttle management. Plenty of power but I have to resist the temptation to fly much past half throttle.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec88964.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	1695805  
jblloyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 04:33 PM
  #1139
rcguy59
 
rcguy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

With my Rabbit, I use full power often but not for long. This is easy with the newer, faster spooling turbines. With the SuperBee, I firewalled it at take off and pretty much left it there until just before lowering the flaps for landing. Not nearly as much fun as with the Rabbit but simpler when I was new to jets.
rcguy59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 05:00 PM
  #1140
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

I will always have a shock around if I can help it. Just wondering. Is anyone out there flying one with a K-80???? Like Rcguy, I have a just about new Rabbit I could slip over into it but was kinda keeping it around for my Rookie II.
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 05:15 PM
  #1141
rcguy59
 
rcguy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Tip22v has a k80 in his. Having flown it, I can tell you that it's VERY hard to tell from the Rabbit once it's running. His k80 is kero-start and takes longer to start and get ready. Once running, it's a great combo. The k80's greater weight requires more ballast in the nose, but the airplane doesn't seem to mind and I can't tell, either. Hope this helps.
rcguy59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 06:59 PM
  #1142
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

YepIt told me what I needed to know. Think I will have to try that. Ha. Thanks Man.
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 07:48 PM
  #1143
gjhinshaw
 
gjhinshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lathrop, MO
Posts: 1,318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

HEY Hooker!!! I am still flying mine also!!! HEHE.. I have over 300 flights on it!! The Falcon is doing good in it! I will always have one too!!!!
gjhinshaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 03:14 PM
  #1144
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Quote:
ORIGINAL: gjhinshaw

HEY Hooker!!! I am still flying mine also!!! HEHE.. I have over 300 flights on it!! The Falcon is doing good in it! I will always have one too!!!!
Hey Big G. The only thing better than a shock is one of them big Gee Bee's you have. ha. Ha.
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 03:54 PM
  #1145
StevL
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rcguy59

With the SuperBee, I firewalled it at take off and pretty much left it there until just before lowering the flaps for landing. Not nearly as much fun as with the Rabbit but simpler when I was new to jets.
What made the SuperBee more simple as a newbie?


Thx,
Steve
StevL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 05:00 PM
  #1146
rcguy59
 
rcguy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

The thrust output of the SuperBee is low enough to allow the airplane to be flown around at full throttle as long as you don't bang the sticks around. The Bee spools notably slower than the Rabbit, making throttle management more difficult at first. The Rabbit has enough thrust to ensure instant destruction in the event you pull too hard, too fast. Going over 150 mph with an all-wood Chinese ARF means being careful not to do anything silly, as you won't get a second chance. Excess thrust in a Shokjet is best used in the vertical and not for speed. (IMHO)
rcguy59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 05:42 PM
  #1147
gjhinshaw
 
gjhinshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lathrop, MO
Posts: 1,318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

LOL... YES SIR!!!!! We just got the container in with the 150cc GB... SWEET!!!!! It is HUGE!!!!!!
gjhinshaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 06:17 PM
  #1148
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Yep, I will have one some day!!!!! Ha. I saw it for the first time in Toledo this year and thought it was the most gorges plane I ever laid my eyes on.
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 07:10 PM
  #1149
gjhinshaw
 
gjhinshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lathrop, MO
Posts: 1,318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

OK Hooker here she is........ What do you think???????
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37356.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	335.3 KB
ID:	1696429  
gjhinshaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 07:12 PM
  #1150
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

She's nothing but a class act. I'd love to have one sitting out on the runway with a 5 bang radial in her. Ha. Man-thats a big plane for the scale.
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:49 AM.