RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

TBM Shock Jet

Reply
Old 01-11-2012, 07:07 PM
  #1201
Baron35R
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Hey guys, just moving along with my shock and realized today that the 92 Jet-Tech probably wont go in since I joined the fuse a while back.
Any recommendations on how to install it without major surgery?

Thx
Andy
Baron35R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:13 PM
  #1202
StevL
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Andy,

Did you use the enclosed nylon hinges, ca hinges, etc.?

I've got the 92oz fuel cell too, haven't glued the fuse together but interested in the answer you get. I have to do a little cutting to get it inplace without being glued together.

Thanks,
Steve
StevL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:18 PM
  #1203
Baron35R
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Steve

I use robarts all around, neither CA nor the enclosed. All installed with BVM Vpoxi

Andy
Baron35R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:44 PM
  #1204
StevL
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Excellent, I've been thinking of using robarts too.

Thx,
Steve
StevL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:50 PM
  #1205
Baron35R
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

we have several more Shocks flying here and they all use the robarts.
Baron35R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 08:38 AM
  #1206
gjhinshaw
 
gjhinshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lathrop, MO
Posts: 1,318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

You can use the CA hinges! If you bend them in half, than take a crayon and mark both sides in the fold the CA will not stick to it. It will push it off and into the unmarked part. As for putting in the JET-TEC tank. Go to page 10 of this thread and go to the very bottom of page. You will also need to cut a little part out of the wing bolt area.
Let me know if you need more Help!!
gjhinshaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:28 PM
  #1207
Baron35R
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Gerry, thanks for all your help. Sent you a pic on how I made a cut based on what some of our folks here did to make room for the FOD screen on the P60.
That took care of both issues.


Andy
Baron35R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 11:19 AM
  #1208
Jprice57
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Got my Shockjet today from Gerry. Everything looks great! Now I'm just waiting on the VT-80 from dreamworks... Is anyone using te included nylon hinges? Also are the slots pre cut? I don't think I saw anything on my quick look over...
Jprice57 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 01:26 PM
  #1209
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Yes the jet is pre slotted for CA hinges and thats what i used. Been flying it now for over two years.
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 07:26 PM
  #1210
FlyinDaddyO
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kings Mountain, NC
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Mine did not have the slots cut. I did use the supplied hinges. All good for 29 flights to date.
FlyinDaddyO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 05:37 AM
  #1211
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

They were well hid on mine. had to hunt and fold the covering back to find them. Have fun with that jet. They are a ball.
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 07:37 AM
  #1212
seflyer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 995
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

the CA hinges are fine, just over 300 flights on mine now with the P-70 and recently upgraded to the P-60se <- yep, that was a upgrade, lost over a pound of all up weight and lands so slow I still can't believe it. all hinges look perfect still. been flying it since 2008.

Kevin
seflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 11:44 AM
  #1213
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

I used CA hinges on the elevator and rudder, and the nylon hinges on the wing. 30 flights to date and everything still looks good.
Tip22v is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:25 PM
  #1214
StevL
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Another newbie question;
Preferred clunk line? I'm now thinking Viton, I bought some BVM but it seems pretty stiff.


Thx,
Steve
StevL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:15 PM
  #1215
gjhinshaw
 
gjhinshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lathrop, MO
Posts: 1,318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Send it back to BVM!! 1. YOU PAID WAY TO MUCH!!! 2. Just use Yellow Tygon.
gjhinshaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 04:07 PM
  #1216
rcguy59
 
rcguy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

+1 !
rcguy59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:01 AM
  #1217
StevL
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

In all my gas planes the Tygon clunk lines get hard as a rock in no time. I found Viton stays flexible for a couple years if not more. Tygon works great for plumbing, just not clunk line IMHO.

The BVM stuff was very stiff already, not too excited about it either. Think I'll just use Viton....

Steve
StevL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 01:45 AM
  #1218
Jprice57
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Just thought I would throw this on here. I've got a near nib red silver shock jet. (does not have nose strut, wheels.) but includes everything else. Vt80 with 4-5 starts, and a jr 11x. For sale in southern Indiana. Will make a good combo deal or trade for a motorcycle. 812-890-3866
Jprice57 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 03:29 PM
  #1219
Jprice57
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

I'm in a bind here... $2200 takes it all turbine, shockjet, and 11x... Really need to get rid of it by next week to cover some hospital bills.
Jprice57 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 02:32 PM
  #1220
raptor30se
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ona, WV
Posts: 86
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

The above listed shockjet with turbine and radio for $2200 is a scam obviously. This user Matt Underwood has been banned here under username maeu2003, he is notarious this is also is listed on craigslists under
this ad http://evansville.craigslist.org/tag/2834179902.html. Here is a full thread devoted to this guy...http://www.flyin giants.com/forums/showthread.php?t=32807

Moderator please delete and ban him again under this account, his email addr is minisprint2001@yahoo.com

Be warned!
raptor30se is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 08:08 PM
  #1221
StevL
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

My rx batteries finally came in today so I plan to maiden this weekend

This is my first jet build and I think I'm going to like this plane for my first. I learned a lot about plumbing the turbine, etc.

I still have to finish the brake, set the nose wheel height, cg (add my batteries), add the vent line to the fuel tank, range check, one more test start in the plane, then I'm flying!! I will be flying it using a max of 16 lbs thrust for a while.

Here is a couple photos of my install.... anything that I need to tend to not mentioned above? Look okay?


Cheers,
Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge96743.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	1730203   Click image for larger version

Name:	Id96691.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	46.5 KB
ID:	1730204   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ty64747.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	84.8 KB
ID:	1730205   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fz74456.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	1730206  
StevL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 07:01 PM
  #1222
StevL
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

Thanks for the one email letting me know the turbine was installed upside down and it should not be that way. I called Eric and he confirmed that is needed to be turned over.

All done, just need a little break in weather now


Thx,
Steve
StevL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 07:13 PM
  #1223
gjhinshaw
 
gjhinshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lathrop, MO
Posts: 1,318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

COOL BEANS STEVE!!!! I sent the other 2 batteries out today.
gjhinshaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 07:42 PM
  #1224
rcguy59
 
rcguy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

StevL: The turbine is mounted too far aft. You will need a BUNCH of nose-weight this way. If you open up the former in front of the turbine, the fod screen will clear it. Even then, I still needed 6 OZ. of lead in the battery compartment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ur52382.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	76.3 KB
ID:	1730956   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx75555.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	70.3 KB
ID:	1730957  
rcguy59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 06:52 AM
  #1225
StevL
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM Shock Jet

rcguy59,

Because of the aft location I decided to use two LiIon packs with a regulator. I placed the two packs as far forward (on the top side) as I could place them, then added the SmartFly Super Reg just in front of the nose gear plate (bottom side) and placed the stater battery as far forward on the bottom side. My CG is exactly 1.5" in front of the main gear with wings on and no weight added.

This is with the BFT full, I was told by a jet pilot to fill the BFT? Is that the cg location? My instructions say it is unless it has changed?

Thx,
Steve

StevL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:48 AM.