Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Ram 500R Parameters

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Ram 500R Parameters

Old 03-20-2015, 10:55 PM
David Gladwin

Received 141 Likes on 90 Posts

Originally Posted by coka
Thanks guys.
Bob, thank you for a quick answer, but i live in Europe.
Im just afraid that the phone call would last long time, since we do not have a turbine flyer population and all i know i learned by my self.
My story goes like this.
I purchased a jetcat p 120, and absolutely have no problem with it.
After that, i wanted a smaller turbine.
Since im a aeronautical engineer, i decided to buy ram 500, since i understood that it do take some skill to use them.
I learned very little from my cat. It start every time, runs fine, cools it self....
Ram was another matter. I bought it without batteries and as soon as i conected a 2 s lipo it burned the starter engine.
I carefully changed the speed 300 engine and switched to 2 s life.
I tried to start it few times,but it was completely dead.
I disambled the outer case and saw that glow plug element was not out enough to protrude in to combustion chamber.
As soon as i extracted it little more, i got it to run.
It runed fine, but the problems with reliable start was still present.
After few starts, i had an issue with propane valve.
It worked when gas tank was empty, but when i filled it with gas, it didnt want to open. I exchanged the valve but nothing changed.
At that time, i pulled out the gas tank and complete gas instalation, including the gas valve, and start starting it directly from gas can.
I open a gas only to hear that it flows, and than push the start button.
After hearing that ignition started, i just open a gas little more.
It worked every time.
The main thing to know is that glow plug ignites only at the beggining of start process and it ignites for only one second.