RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Flight Metal and 2.4

Reply

Old 12-06-2008, 05:34 PM
  #1  
JohnMac
Thread Starter
 
JohnMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leeds, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,410
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Flight Metal and 2.4

Hi Guys,
I am starting to build an Airworld English Electric Lightning. I rely want to cover it in Flitemetal but I was also intending to fly it on 2.4 gHz. So my question is, can it be done safely? Won't the ali covering block the signals?
Thanks in advance,

John
JohnMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 07:10 PM
  #2  
u2fast
My Feedback: (37)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: houston, TX
Posts: 2,397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flight Metal and 2.4

i think it is not an issue. however, i have my main rcvr in the cockpit and 2 in the bombs. no problems. barry
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Wt58957.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	41.8 KB
ID:	1085053  
u2fast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 02:26 AM
  #3  
JohnMac
Thread Starter
 
JohnMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leeds, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,410
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flight Metal and 2.4

Very nice bird Barry. I would have never have thought of the bombs-genius! The Lightning will have two Red Top missiles on the fuselage pylons so I could put a remote aerial in one or both of those. Thanks for that idea. I had thought of the cockpit too and I will try putting an aerial in there.
Other possibilities are top of the fin and the nose cone, both of which where radio opaque, But in every position I can think of, each aerial will be blocked by the Flitemetal on the rest of the model in one orientation or other. Still, I will have 4 aerials so it should be ok.
JohnMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 02:44 AM
  #4  
cactusflyer
My Feedback: (4)
 
cactusflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anthem, AZ
Posts: 1,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flight Metal and 2.4

Barry,

I don't care what they say, you are pretty smart!

John,

It would be interesting to see the numbers from the data logger after a range check with the Flight Metal.......And especially after a flight![

Tailwinds,

John
cactusflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 02:45 AM
  #5  
olnico
 
olnico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas.
Posts: 4,046
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flight Metal and 2.4

I have done some tests with blanking all the wires antennas with small aluminium tubes on an AR9000.
The result was impressive: the range was almost the same as before.
Try it yourself. It is really easy to do.

I believe using a 2.4 Ghz system with flight Metal is much easier that with conventional RF link.
olnico is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service