Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Turbine

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Turbine

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2003, 08:53 PM
mair
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbine

I've been flying model airplanes (just about every kind) for 20 years now. I've been to quite a few jet ralleys to see just what kind of skill level is involved for flying jets (paying close attention to low aspect ratio wings, heavy wing loading, thrust lag.....) I'm a pilot and work in the the aviation industry so I understand Turbine systems...hot starts, compressor stalls, cycles....ect. Is there any way to skip the DF stage and go strait to the turbines?
Old 06-01-2003, 09:55 PM
jetfreak
My Feedback: (9)

Default buddy box

I think JPO submitted a proposal to AMA about letting a new jet member get their waiver on a buddy box system. I am just not sure if it was ever approved. Other than that you will have to get your license with a plane "CAPABLE OF DOING A 150 mph" "(preferrably ducted fan). I think that is how it is stated from ama.

Alot of the time it depends on THE CD them self. Some cd's will pass you on a one of those whiplash type aircraft some will not. But that won't simulate the heavy wing loading of a jet. It will simulate the speed though.

I personally today just piloted my Y/A starfire for the first time.(it made its maiden a couple of weeks ago). The flying part of it to me was not as bad as I expected to be. What i got caught up with was having to look down for the gear switch and having to lookdown to adjust my inflight mixture control valve. Prolly not the best thing to have to do. So you really want to be able to hit all switches without having to look down.....and KNOW FOR A FACT THAT YOU HIT THE RIGHT SWITCH.