RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Another Skymaster Viper

Reply
Old 11-09-2009, 10:22 AM
  #376
digitech
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,312
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Duncan

Yep Schroeder, aka Touche Turtle
a.k.a lobster head (only summertime)
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 11:39 AM
  #377
hangarman
 
hangarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oxted, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: digitech


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Duncan

Yep Schroeder, aka Touche Turtle
a.k.a lobster head (only summertime)
Sandor,

That's harsh! but fair!

hangarman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 12:02 PM
  #378
schroedm
 
schroedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SevenoaksKent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 5,193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

You guys.........

Anyway, wasn't there a ViperJet build thread here somewhere with some unnecessary hatches and a bald bloke?....

schroedm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 04:13 AM
  #379
DENTO
 
DENTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: herveybay, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

G-DAY EVERYONE Just a reminder guys how about some shots of your turbine install.
REGARDS
JOHN
DENTO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 04:24 AM
  #380
Carsten Groen
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,627
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

John,
a few picturres from my P200SX install, lots of room!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt56113.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	1311380   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hc92264.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	1311381   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wc77612.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	64.9 KB
ID:	1311382  
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 05:29 AM
  #381
hangarman
 
hangarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oxted, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DENTO

G-DAY EVERYONE Just a reminder guys how about some shots of your turbine install.
REGARDS
JOHN
I'm waiting for an engine mount for the P160 unfortunatley it was missing and I only realised at the weekend, but its been dispatched. so I am hopefully going to attack that soon. Just finished installing and pressure checking the fuel tanks. I have always done this , the only time I didnt, was on my Ultra Bandit, and the centre tank had a leak under pressure (when being filled) and it was a complete N*ts ache to find. I also noticed on mine that the lower tank seam was fowling the fuel pipe hardware. I removed some of the seam and cynoed it to seal it.

H

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz78790.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	36.8 KB
ID:	1311394   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt61349.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	83.0 KB
ID:	1311395   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ze86809.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	75.4 KB
ID:	1311396   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jc86619.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	72.5 KB
ID:	1311397  
hangarman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 07:57 AM
  #382
schroedm
 
schroedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SevenoaksKent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 5,193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Does everyone have their tanks in these positions?? Is this a change to newer kits?

Mine was an early kit and my 'second' tank (the curved one) sits on top of the inlet ducts.
schroedm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 07:58 AM
  #383
Carsten Groen
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,627
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Same here Mark,
I took mine with me home from JP (so must be "relative new"), tank also sits on the inlet ducts..
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:05 AM
  #384
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Quote:
ORIGINAL: schroedm

Does everyone have their tanks in these positions?? Is this a change to newer kits?

Mine was an early kit and my 'second' tank (the curved one) sits on top of the inlet ducts.
My kit is only about a month old & it came with the upper tank mounting woodwork to fit it above the inlet ducts. After seeing photos of one tank on top of the other, I thought it a better way to do it. Keeps the weight lower & gave me a platform to mount my I/O board & ECU..
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:18 AM
  #385
hangarman
 
hangarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oxted, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Quote:
ORIGINAL: schroedm

Does everyone have their tanks in these positions?? Is this a change to newer kits?

Mine was an early kit and my 'second' tank (the curved one) sits on top of the inlet ducts.
Chaps,

As "Jascat100" stated mine also came with the mounts, but I decided to keeps the tanks close together for numerous reasons.

Leaves me more room for another hatch.....Jasper!

H

hangarman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:19 AM
  #386
Ali
Thread Starter
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

The tanks are all the same. its just we decided to mount the this way so that I the section behind the cockpit ( Above the inlets ) could be left free for the board with my switches and fill points. As well as keeping fuel lower in the fuselage. I pass this info onto to all our customers and give them the option of doing it this way. ( along with a few other changes and mods, most of which are on this thread by now )
Regards Al
Ali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:28 AM
  #387
schroedm
 
schroedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SevenoaksKent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 5,193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Thought as much. My ply mount was aeropoxied to my tank so I didn't really have a choice
schroedm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:32 AM
  #388
Ali
Thread Starter
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Yep but thats because you got a pre production kit LOL
Ali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:42 AM
  #389
hangarman
 
hangarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oxted, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Ali

Yep but thats because you got a pre production kit LOL
Ali,

They moved the hole in the in the top tank, from the front to the top didn't they? I think I saw some installs with that arrangement. I suppose that was to give the option of different placement?


Mark you told everybody you paid extra to have all the menial tasks done for you!!

hangarman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:56 AM
  #390
Duncan
 
Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Coventry, Warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Menial?? they are the bits he was struggling with lol.

Are you going to use the bypass Henry? looking at the photo's of one in stall, it looks as if the main part of the bypass bolts from the underside of the rails, with the lid bolting to the top[&:]???
Duncan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:58 AM
  #391
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Quote:
ORIGINAL: hangarman


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Ali

Yep but thats because you got a pre production kit LOL
Ali,

They moved the hole in the in the top tank, from the front to the top didn't they? I think I saw some installs with that arrangement. I suppose that was to give the option of different placement?
Yes, the hole in the top allows the tanks to be placed on top of each other & still get the rear cockpit to fit. You do still have to cut about half an inch off the front of the cockpit tub & grind away the excess at the top of the fuz join, to get it to fit with the tanks in this arrangement.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:05 AM
  #392
Carsten Groen
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,627
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Hmm,
I mounted my tank on the inlets (as I saw Mark did it ), I do still have room for the air and fuel fittings on the panel behind the pilot ?!
I know that the fuel sits "higher" in the plane this way, but what are the difference in flight from this, if any (handling) ?
An added benefit of mounting the tank over the inlets (for me) is that there is a lot of room above the maintank for ECU, pump etc etc
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:10 AM
  #393
Duncan
 
Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Coventry, Warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

i think it's just personal preference, they look very neat and tidy sitting on top of each other.
Duncan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 10:02 AM
  #394
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,908
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Has anyone tried the smaller version ?

http://www.skymasterjet.com/xviperjet.htm
i3dm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 10:45 AM
  #395
hangarman
 
hangarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oxted, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Jascat100
You do still have to cut about half an inch off the front of the cockpit tub & grind away the excess at the top of the fuz join, to get it to fit with the tanks in this arrangement.
I found that out the other day, its not too bad as it only the top bit of the "tub" directly behind the instrument panel so its not an issue.

Duncan I will be using the bypass, Ali has sent me my turbine mount, so I will attacking that quite soon. If you want to talk about it feel free to give me a ring.



Carsten, you will have plenty of room, if you look up Mark Schro. / Ali's install that will give you some good ideas.

hangarman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 10:54 AM
  #396
Duncan
 
Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Coventry, Warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

no worries, i'm off to the masters tomorrow for a building session. Just noticed your avatar !! awesome
Duncan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 11:09 AM
  #397
hangarman
 
hangarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oxted, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Duncan

no worries, i'm off to the masters tomorrow for a building session.

B*gger i wasn't expecting you!!! I've got to get rid of Rinse first.....I think i have a squatter!!Anyway Have fun with Masterali !
hangarman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 11:16 AM
  #398
DENTO
 
DENTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: herveybay, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Carsten Thankes for the shots very helpfull
I allso sat my tank on top of intake gave more room I thought ,I move my cockpit tubs forword 80mm to give room for fill plugs and bat charge points don,t have to remove tubs for start up or shut down, The plugs you see take place of the switches , Push in for on, Pull out OFF Then female becomes charge Point.


Craig thanks allso went back a bit and seen your install must of missed it


REGARDS
John
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qn38394.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	1311467   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gb89789.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	90.6 KB
ID:	1311468  
DENTO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 11:35 AM
  #399
hangarman
 
hangarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oxted, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DENTO

Carsten Thankes for the shots very helpfull
I allso sat my tank on top of intake gave more room I thought ,I move my cockpit tubs forword 80mm to give room for fill plugs and bat charge points don,t have to remove tubs for start up or shut down, The plugs you see take place of the switches , Push in for on, Pull out OFF Then female becomes charge Point.


Craig thanks allso went back a bit and seen your install must of missed it




REGARDS
John
Looks really good! Where did you end up putting your batteries in the nose? Also what batteries did you end up using?

H
hangarman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 01:03 PM
  #400
Carsten Groen
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,627
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

My install so far, need to get batteries (right now it seems that I will need 3 pcs 2S/5000mA/H LiPo in the nose to get proper CG) and thrusttube installed, and the pilots should arrive in a couple of weeks
The feedline from the UAT to the pump needs to be changed to 6mm all the way (with a small piece of 4mm over the inlet of the pump)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vs55787.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	135.4 KB
ID:	1311501   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oj25811.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	59.8 KB
ID:	1311502  
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:53 PM.