RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Another Skymaster Viper

Reply
Old 01-04-2010, 11:45 AM
  #676
digitech
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Duncan

it's more likely to be the Schnapps rather than the cold
he this is holland remember>?legal drugs are cheaper and easyer to get then apfelschnaps..
anyway the lot of you couldnt even hold that schnaps..
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 11:56 AM
  #677
Duncan
 
Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Coventry, Warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

it was the sambuca that gave me a problem, i've not drank since Pampa !!!
Duncan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 02:18 PM
  #678
OttoKranz
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Roma, ITALY
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: NightSwan

Well, I'd thought I'd post some pics of my Viperjet build.
.....
The electronics installations are very similar to mine! I don't have the dual RX but I'm using an Emcotec DPSI RV. You have done a really good job and I haven't thought about separating nose-door and main wheel valves.
You have much longer antenna cables than my three R6014FS [X(], and two are very new, do you have modified the lenght?

Soon I will post some picture.

Ciao
Alessandro

OttoKranz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 10:18 PM
  #679
Selleri
 
Selleri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Keflavik, ICELAND
Posts: 1,116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Duncan

...i've not drank since Pampa !!!
We'll have to do something about that...


I vote for silver on the legs.
Selleri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 02:04 AM
  #680
Dave Burns
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: ENGADINE.N.S.W, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 178
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Hi Sandor,
I will have to get you onto the corn schnapps that David Busken supplies when I go to Germany - I think its old rocket fuel............
Can you flick me some info on your SM Viperjet upgrades you are doing, as I am starting a build - finally.
Hopefully be over for the IJMC meeting in Germany end of this month - 23rd. Will be hard leaving sunny Australia @ 35 degreees to come over to minus ??????
Thanks, Dave
Dave Burns is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 04:45 AM
  #681
chichisport
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tenerife, SPAIN
Posts: 79
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

The extra long antennas can be bought and are simply attached inside the receiver with a tiny connector.

http://shop.lindinger.at/product_inf...ducts_id=72981
chichisport is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 08:38 AM
  #682
NightSwan
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Weert, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: OttoKranz


Quote:
ORIGINAL: NightSwan

Well, I'd thought I'd post some pics of my Viperjet build.
.....
The electronics installations are very similar to mine! I don't have the dual RX but I'm using an Emcotec DPSI RV. You have done a really good job and I haven't thought about separating nose-door and main wheel valves.
You have much longer antenna cables than my three R6014FS [X(], and two are very new, do you have modified the lenght?

Soon I will post some picture.

Ciao
Alessandro


Hi Alessandro,

I indeed swapped the antennas for longer ones. I want two all the way in the nose, and the other two a bit further back. Got them from Emcotec (as I was already ordering the Twin), but more manufacturers stock them. They are original robbe / futaba parts, swapping them is really easy. I think I will do this on more jets.

About the nose-door, it's not scale but now I can close the main doors when the mains are out. Should keep some grass out of the plane (and I think the sequence looks cool )

Hans
NightSwan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 05:48 AM
  #683
kimba
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Australia, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

HI All and John
I have finally finished the Viper no maiden as yet Temp here for the next week is going to be 39 to 41 C so there are fire bans in place
have done quite a few mods some from this forum and some of my own which I have posted. It has been a big help reading what you guys have done thanks for all of the posts I will post a few pics that may be of help to others
Cheers Bronte
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv64132.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	228.4 KB
ID:	1350479   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk31255.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	293.5 KB
ID:	1350480   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qv55132.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	290.2 KB
ID:	1350481   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nh12183.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	220.3 KB
ID:	1350482   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rc39355.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	176.5 KB
ID:	1350483   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ja40287.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	169.8 KB
ID:	1350484   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zb59221.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	188.9 KB
ID:	1350485   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ba90955.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	282.0 KB
ID:	1350486  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Gf67449.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	179.7 KB
ID:	1350487   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ug44030.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	242.0 KB
ID:	1350488   Click image for larger version

Name:	In63551.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	249.1 KB
ID:	1350489  
kimba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 08:34 AM
  #684
NightSwan
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Weert, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Bronte,

you just gave me a good idea for the location for my air-bottles

Hans
NightSwan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 11:48 AM
  #685
DENTO
 
DENTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: herveybay, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kimba

HI All and John
I have finally finished the Viper no maiden as yet Temp here for the next week is going to be 39 to 41 C so there are fire bans in place
have done quite a few mods some from this forum and some of my own which I have posted. It has been a big help reading what you guys have done thanks for all of the posts I will post a few pics that may be of help to others
Cheers Bronte
VERY VERY NICE
Sorry about the fire ban as you know ours has been lifted, Talking to Chris Venter larst night and he is close to finishing his, So I shall leave my maiden untill we can do both at the same time in maryborough maybe early feb,Could be as many as 6 VIPERS at wangeratta, Talk to you soon bronte shall add some shots of my craddle .
REGARDS
JOHN
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig12597.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	110.0 KB
ID:	1350570   Click image for larger version

Name:	Av69864.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	1350571   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lq36530.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	110.3 KB
ID:	1350572  
DENTO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:29 PM
  #686
OttoKranz
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Roma, ITALY
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: NightSwan


Quote:
ORIGINAL: OttoKranz


Quote:
ORIGINAL: NightSwan

Well, I'd thought I'd post some pics of my Viperjet build.
.....
The electronics installations are very similar to mine! I don't have the dual RX but I'm using an Emcotec DPSI RV. You have done a really good job and I haven't thought about separating nose-door and main wheel valves.
You have much longer antenna cables than my three R6014FS [X(], and two are very new, do you have modified the lenght?

Soon I will post some picture.

Ciao
Alessandro


Hi Alessandro,

I indeed swapped the antennas for longer ones. I want two all the way in the nose, and the other two a bit further back. Got them from Emcotec (as I was already ordering the Twin), but more manufacturers stock them. They are original robbe / futaba parts, swapping them is really easy. I think I will do this on more jets.

About the nose-door, it's not scale but now I can close the main doors when the mains are out. Should keep some grass out of the plane (and I think the sequence looks cool )

Hans

Many thanks Hans (and chichisport),

I didn't know about those antennas.

You are right about the doors sequence and there are less risks that the grass could snatch the main doors.
Yes... I have a concrete runway but is short and I'm still having problem in landing velocity [sm=spinnyeyes.gif]..... I think I will do it on my Viper.

Alessandro
OttoKranz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 08:16 PM
  #687
Springbok Flyer
 
Springbok Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,065
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

John,

Which pilots are those in your Viper?

Cheers

Jan
Springbok Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:11 PM
  #688
f106jax
 
f106jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 905
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DENTO


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kimba

HI All and John
I have finally finished the Viper no maiden as yet Temp here for the next week is going to be 39 to 41 C so there are fire bans in place
have done quite a few mods some from this forum and some of my own which I have posted. It has been a big help reading what you guys have done thanks for all of the posts I will post a few pics that may be of help to others
Cheers Bronte
VERY VERY NICE
Sorry about the fire ban as you know ours has been lifted, Talking to Chris Venter larst night and he is close to finishing his, So I shall leave my maiden untill we can do both at the same time in maryborough maybe early feb,Could be as many as 6 VIPERS at wangeratta, Talk to you soon bronte shall add some shots of my craddle .
REGARDS
JOHN
John,

Would you be good enough to post the dimensions of your carrier and templates of the front and rear fuselage cradles? Looks great!

Thanks,

f106jax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:17 PM
  #689
jclittle
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Mike - Happy New Year! Did you get your Viper yet? My F86 arrived today. Looking forward to some warmer weather down south, its feeling a bit like PA here! Take care - Jim
jclittle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:31 PM
  #690
Matt Chapman
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Avondale , PA
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: f106jax


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DENTO


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kimba

HI All and John
I have finally finished the Viper no maiden as yet Temp here for the next week is going to be 39 to 41 C so there are fire bans in place
have done quite a few mods some from this forum and some of my own which I have posted. It has been a big help reading what you guys have done thanks for all of the posts I will post a few pics that may be of help to others
Cheers Bronte
VERY VERY NICE
Sorry about the fire ban as you know ours has been lifted, Talking to Chris Venter larst night and he is close to finishing his, So I shall leave my maiden untill we can do both at the same time in maryborough maybe early feb,Could be as many as 6 VIPERS at wangeratta, Talk to you soon bronte shall add some shots of my craddle .
REGARDS
JOHN
John,

Would you be good enough to post the dimensions of your carrier and templates of the front and rear fuselage cradles? Looks great!

Thanks,

I second that! The carrier looks really nice. Any details to help reproduce would be awsome.

Yah.... not flying in PA this month.... Way too cold.
It's a good time to finish up the cockpits this winter for the upcoming flying season.

Regards,

Matt
Matt Chapman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 11:50 AM
  #691
DENTO
 
DENTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: herveybay, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

HEY GUYS
Shall take some close ups of my craddle and give you some measurments to go on, Am not computer wise enought to send scale drawings in the forum, So give me a couple of days and I shall post.
REGARDS
JOHN



DENTO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:04 AM
  #692
dubd
 
dubd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

FYI - I installed springs in my landing gear as I wait for new valves. So far so good. Using 1/2" for the mains and 7/16 for the nose.
dubd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 06:47 PM
  #693
OttoKranz
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Roma, ITALY
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Hi all,
also in my viper there is a problem of alignement of the mounting rails of the turbine. I've used two wires across the middle of the rear hole of the fuselage and all the way through the middle of the central air intake and than out from the two front intakes on the fuselage. I know the best way should be the alignment with the wings but is too difficult and this way should be fine. I had to make to wooden wedges.... look the inclination!! Now I think I'll only have to raise the turbine vertically less than 1 cm because the aluminum wings attached on the turbine are not (as usually) in the middle of the turbine.
It's late here in Italy [sm=confused_smile.gif] so I'll post some pictures that speak better than me.

Did you have the same problem? Any suggestions more?
Thanks
Ciao
Alessandro
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv64723.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	50.7 KB
ID:	1354869   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vq51045.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	59.0 KB
ID:	1354870   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wb75714.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	1354871   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pj18384.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	50.5 KB
ID:	1354872  
OttoKranz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 07:00 PM
  #694
InboundLZ
 
InboundLZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,944
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

That is certainly a lot of correction. I know on the Cermark Viper Jet I had, I had to completely redo the engine rails. Just be careful of optical illusions. What I did was string my aircraft on center line and took all measurements from that center line....
InboundLZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 07:41 PM
  #695
heraldoboldrin
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Araras, BRAZIL
Posts: 643
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

is is strange.. but my hawk to.. and i also have more than 50 flight on it with no problem.. don´t.. worry with it....
heraldoboldrin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 01:19 AM
  #696
digitech
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: OttoKranz

Hi all,
also in my viper there is a problem of alignement of the mounting rails of the turbine. I've used two wires across the middle of the rear hole of the fuselage and all the way through the middle of the central air intake and than out from the two front intakes on the fuselage. I know the best way should be the alignment with the wings but is too difficult and this way should be fine. I had to make to wooden wedges.... look the inclination!! Now I think I'll only have to raise the turbine vertically less than 1 cm because the aluminum wings attached on the turbine are not (as usually) in the middle of the turbine.
It's late here in Italy [sm=confused_smile.gif] so I'll post some pictures that speak better than me.

Did you have the same problem? Any suggestions more?
Thanks
Ciao
Alessandro
dont use the intake for alignement , use the pipe as reference to the turbine!
a lot seems to have this problem
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 02:48 AM
  #697
Matt Chapman
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Avondale , PA
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Okay guys... time for some explanation please.
I was under the imprssion that the "incidence" or angle of the engine was not critical. (my first jet....) Please explain the theroy of what you're all speaking about here with the engine mounting rails.
I didnt set a thrust line. I simply mounted the turbine, lined up the tail pipe centered on the engine and set things in place. My tail pipe extends beyond the aft bulkhead by the prescibed 10mm.
Will an incidence + or - have an effect on the pitch of the plane based on power in flight?

I have 15 or so flight on my Vipor. All very good enjoyable flights.... except the last flame out... another story.. but all ended well with a perfect touchdown and roll out to my feet! (i'd rather be lucky than good) and lucky i was! So, all being good in my opinion, am I simply overlooking a problem that my be present through not knowing how it should be? Ignorance is not always bliss!

Thanks for any advice to help me advance.

Matt-C
Matt Chapman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:05 AM
  #698
Carsten Groen
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

I did the same Matt, I raised the engine bracket 5 mm using some plywood (the Jetcat mount is offset 5 mm from center), adjusted thrusttube with eyesight (no strings, no measurement etc), and I have also not detected any (power induced pitch change) difference in flight
Carsten Groen is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:17 AM
  #699
DelGatoGrande
 
DelGatoGrande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ATHENS, , GREECE
Posts: 2,841
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Matt Chapman

....
Will an incidence + or - have an effect on the pitch of the plane based on power in flight? ...
Hey Matt
Yes it can have an effect!
like in prop planes we must fine tune the up down thrust of the engine.. same think in jets.
its like you having a vector thrust set up whrong...
start seting a degree lazer meter to zero on the wing ...then check engines mounts and pipe..

..but if Matt Chapman enjoy fly this toy untill now..then it needs no corection

forgive my poor english
DelGatoGrande is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:27 AM
  #700
Carsten Groen
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

I don't know if you can compare the two things, but on my Elan I have a P160SX, and because of the size of that, I melted the two servo covers on the elavator.
I then raised the turbine by mounting 3 mm thick washers under the front screws of the engine mount. That gave the engine so much "down thrust" that it was easy to see that the engine was tilted (and it has saved my elevator covers since then)
That did not change the trim at all, I could not feel any diffrence whatsoever after installing the washers.
Carsten Groen is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:05 PM.