RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Another Skymaster Viper

Reply
Old 07-05-2009, 02:44 AM
  #76
jeanfi
 
jeanfi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BORDEAUX, FRANCE
Posts: 324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Hello

Does the upgrade suggested by Jetpilot have been take into account by Anton ?

Thanks
Jean Fi
jeanfi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 02:31 PM
  #77
McclureMitch
 
McclureMitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Woodbridge, CT
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: JRTRC

Mine is like that.

30 plus flights with no problems.
14 flights here with no problems.
McclureMitch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 08:14 AM
  #78
samo
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagle, ID
Posts: 285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Yes,
I just received the newest batch of Vipers. The cylinders are secured very nicely, the wing/stab tabs have been reinforced, vertical fin spars and gear plates have more hysol reinforcement. From what I've been told, each new batch adds the suggested changes to improve the model.
samo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:09 AM
  #79
Misha Javornik
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lujan de CuyoMendoza, ARGENTINA
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Hi currently building mine and was wndering if you all have added the 75 grams per elevator to mass balance them.
Misha Javornik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:25 AM
  #80
Ali
Thread Starter
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

I have not balanced any of mine ( On number 5 viper jet soon )
I changed the tank hardware out to BVM ( With a TAm Jets aluminum fitting glued to the tank for the rubber bung to go through ) I do this as I prefer the fitment and the BVM tubing has a larger I/D which makes for a better vent thus less pressure on the pump system.
I also use BVM Poly tubing for the clunks as i find Tygon too stiff and during long rolling maneuvers the clunk gets stuck out of the fuel at times.
Regards Al
Ali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 03:53 AM
  #81
pilot tw
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kaohsiung, TAIWAN
Posts: 2,166
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Hi, Ali

here is picture for your new viper jet color scheme....

Best regards

Anton
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq48127.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	1231917  
pilot tw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 05:52 AM
  #82
Ali
Thread Starter
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Very nice work Anton.
I look forward to receiving it next week and hopefully I can keep this one a little longer than the previous ones , but then again I have a few more ideas for colours so it might be good if this one is sold also
Ali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 06:13 AM
  #83
Selleri
 
Selleri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Keflavik, ICELAND
Posts: 1,116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

What!!! You haven't sold it already?
Selleri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 06:23 AM
  #84
Ali
Thread Starter
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

No.. but only as I haven't told anyone about it ( Partly because I didnt know how it would look, and also because I want to have one to fly for what's left of the shows this year )
I have two more customers who are waiting on Vipers on the next batch of three which Anton is making for us. I have a feeling that at least one of these will be in touch soon regarding this new scheme! [:@]
I feel a military scheme Viper coming next!
Regards Al
Ali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 06:48 PM
  #85
snobird
 
snobird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Auburn, ME
Posts: 429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Help. looking to install lights on my SM Viper, can someone tell me if there is a channel for the wires along the leading edge of the wing, where you would cutout for the lights ? or any where in the wing ??
snobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 01:25 AM
  #86
Matt Chapman
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Avondale , PA
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Hello all... New to this thread as I just got into the jet world. My VIPER just showed up and Im drooling over all the nice parts. I thought I would chime in and ask a few questions from the people that have done that and been there. Hope you all dont mind answering a few questions that may have already been asked/answered.
Running a JetCat 160... supplied fuel cells OKay? Cockpit kit...anyone have any ideas as to how to mount this to be user friendly? The MB-339 I flew had the cockpit mounted to the canopy frame. At first glance, im not seeing that this will work on the Viper. Any thoughts or ideas? My kit showed up with 4 airtanks.... how many are you guys running and on what? My stabs dont have the servo hatch cut out. Im guessing thats because I goy the 'new' design that is now mounting the servo on the stab stub off the fuse, how is this working out? Any thoughts on mounting the horns in the control surfaces? No real location is given, I'm hoping there is 'hard piont' in a wide area so general placment for each builder is ok. Thanks for taking the time to read and respond. Cant' wait to light the fire on this one!
Matt-C
Matt Chapman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 01:31 AM
  #87
Matt Chapman
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Avondale , PA
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Quote:
ORIGINAL: snobird

Help. looking to install lights on my SM Viper, can someone tell me if there is a channel for the wires along the leading edge of the wing, where you would cutout for the lights ? or any where in the wing ??
Have you checked with the folks at www.dreamworksrc.com ? I'm told they have ready to install light for the Viper. I hope so, Im ordering a set if they do.
Matt Chapman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 04:21 AM
  #88
philjac94
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Cockpit can be made to fit the frame so it comes out in one piece however the dash board needs to be modded so that it remains in the fuse and under the fwd screen. Good luck with hard points in the flying surfaces, seems to be the luck of the draw. Servos in the fuse section of the hori stab works well and not an issue, even if you want to remove for transport, just means disconnection of the pushrod and rotating servo arm to clear the slot.
philjac94 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 04:23 AM
  #89
philjac94
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: snobird

Help. looking to install lights on my SM Viper, can someone tell me if there is a channel for the wires along the leading edge of the wing, where you would cutout for the lights ? or any where in the wing ??
Yes there is, not a purpose made channel but rather a leading edge void.
philjac94 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 07:05 AM
  #90
snobird
 
snobird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Auburn, ME
Posts: 429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

I understand "Design 4 Scale" has a new plug and play lighting system for the Viper, no trying to understand german engneering to get the lights to work....
snobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 03:56 PM
  #91
CraigG
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 1,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Matt Chapman

Cockpit kit...anyone have any ideas as to how to mount this to be user friendly? The MB-339 I flew had the cockpit mounted to the canopy frame. At first glance, im not seeing that this will work on the Viper. Any thoughts or ideas?

Matt-C
Matt,

I found it fairly easy to mount each cockpit individually. Locate the forward cockpit shroud and retain it with 1/4" balsa strips on the sides (below the flanges). It's light and stays in place without glue or screws.

Trim the cockpit tubs as necessary and put some balsa blocks on the fuselage flanges to center the tubs and provide fore and aft stops.
The tubs will slide in and out easily and are held in place when the canopy is on, again without screws.

FYI: it helps to beef up the flimsy tubs with balsa or fiberglass doublers along the sides below the flanges

I also suggest you add a couple of BV style canopy hooks near the center of the canopy to keep the canopy from bulging at higer speeds and blowing off.

Maybe these pics will help.

Craig


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca82811.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	61.2 KB
ID:	1243993   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rm38333.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	58.6 KB
ID:	1243994   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xc79564.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	46.5 KB
ID:	1243995   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tn32923.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	59.3 KB
ID:	1243996   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ju14243.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	1243997  
CraigG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 04:23 PM
  #92
CraigG
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 1,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Matt Chapman

Running a JetCat 160... supplied fuel cells OKay? Cockpit kit...anyone have any ideas as to how to mount this to be user friendly? The MB-339 I flew had the cockpit mounted to the canopy frame. At first glance, im not seeing that this will work on the Viper. Any thoughts or ideas? My kit showed up with 4 airtanks.... how many are you guys running and on what? My stabs dont have the servo hatch cut out. Im guessing thats because I goy the 'new' design that is now mounting the servo on the stab stub off the fuse, how is this working out? Any thoughts on mounting the horns in the control surfaces? No real location is given, I'm hoping there is 'hard piont' in a wide area so general placment for each builder is ok. Thanks for taking the time to read and respond. Cant' wait to light the fire on this one!
Matt-C
Matt,

The large Viper tank holds 104 ozs and the smaller one 60 for a total of 164 ozs. Should be adequate for your P-160. My kit had one large air tank and two smaller ones. I used the two smaller ones for the brakes and added an additional large one for the gear (2 total). Probably over kill. Mine came with a 4th "hairspray" type tank which is used to charge up the struts.

Guys are mounting their rudder and elevator servos either in the fuselage or just inside the fin/stab root, which is what I did. You have to clear out a space in the roots and it's a little tight with the stabs. Epoxy in some blocks to screw the servos to and cut a slot in the skin as appropriate.

Here's a couple of pics of my rudder servo install.

Craig


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz77611.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	37.2 KB
ID:	1244026   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk31143.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	1244027  
CraigG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 05:28 AM
  #93
snobird
 
snobird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Auburn, ME
Posts: 429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Hi CraigG, where did you get the pilot ??
snobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 06:35 AM
  #94
CraigG
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 1,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: snobird

Hi CraigG, where did you get the pilot ??
From these guys: http://premierpilots.net/id47.html

CraigG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 09:50 AM
  #95
snobird
 
snobird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Auburn, ME
Posts: 429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

Thanks for the quick reply
snobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 10:43 PM
  #96
DENTO
 
DENTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: herveybay, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: CraigG


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Matt Chapman

Running a JetCat 160... supplied fuel cells OKay? Cockpit kit...anyone have any ideas as to how to mount this to be user friendly? The MB-339 I flew had the cockpit mounted to the canopy frame. At first glance, im not seeing that this will work on the Viper. Any thoughts or ideas? My kit showed up with 4 airtanks.... how many are you guys running and on what? My stabs dont have the servo hatch cut out. Im guessing thats because I goy the 'new' design that is now mounting the servo on the stab stub off the fuse, how is this working out? Any thoughts on mounting the horns in the control surfaces? No real location is given, I'm hoping there is 'hard piont' in a wide area so general placment for each builder is ok. Thanks for taking the time to read and respond. Cant' wait to light the fire on this one!
Matt-C
Matt,

The large Viper tank holds 104 ozs and the smaller one 60 for a total of 164 ozs. Should be adequate for your P-160. My kit had one large air tank and two smaller ones. I used the two smaller ones for the brakes and added an additional large one for the gear (2 total). Probably over kill. Mine came with a 4th ''hairspray'' type tank which is used to charge up the struts.

Guys are mounting their rudder and elevator servos either in the fuselage or just inside the fin/stab root, which is what I did. You have to clear out a space in the roots and it's a little tight with the stabs. Epoxy in some blocks to screw the servos to and cut a slot in the skin as appropriate.

Here's a couple of pics of my rudder servo install.

Craig


G-DAY CRAIG
Have just received my VIPER and I dont know what we would do with out these build threads,Makes things a lot easy, Just a question on the horns are they ok to use I feel they are not deep enough and have made one up from some composit shall post a photo for some advice from everyone
REGARDS
JOHN
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx71374.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	102.7 KB
ID:	1259613   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mh19755.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	1259614   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xc78602.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	107.1 KB
ID:	1259615  
DENTO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 06:22 AM
  #97
CraigG
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 1,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DENTO

G-DAY CRAIG
Have just received my VIPER and I dont know what we would do with out these build threads,Makes things a lot easy, Just a question on the horns are they ok to use I feel they are not deep enough and have made one up from some composit shall post a photo for some advice from everyone
REGARDS
JOHN
Hello John,

I had the exact same concern about the horns. Why don't they just make them larger and let the builder trim them down if necessary?

The problem is compounded by the fact that solid material in the control surfaces is missing or poorly installed. I went to great lengths to be sure the horns were well secured and used lots of Hysol. I would have made new ones like you did if I had the material to do so.

In any case, the rudder control horn attach has failed on several VJ's and you really need to beef up that area. In these pics you can see that I opened up the entire bottom of the rudder, then packed it with hard balsa/Hysol. I made sure to have good contact with both sides, the bottom and vertical spar. I made it big enough to capture the hinge in that area as well. I used 5 hinges instead of 3.

The other pic shows an insert I made of dowel and balsa and installed at each rudder hinge point. Much more area to attach and support the hinge.

Craig

PS: The hinges supplied with my VJ were "fake" Robart's, very sloppy and flimsy. Replace them with real Robart's or similar.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu59579.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	1259712   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt62841.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	59.6 KB
ID:	1259713   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sx62438.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	50.5 KB
ID:	1259714  
CraigG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 11:54 AM
  #98
InboundLZ
 
InboundLZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,944
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

This is not a viper but this is how I did my Horizontal stabs on my 339. The servo is mounted in the root of the stab and the bottom of the case sticks out a little and sits inside the fuse... I will be using the same method on my Viper (once I finally get it)....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40038.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	41.7 KB
ID:	1259809   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oj28470.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	61.5 KB
ID:	1259810   Click image for larger version

Name:	Va70969.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	1259811   Click image for larger version

Name:	Db85169.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	47.6 KB
ID:	1259812   Click image for larger version

Name:	Je99798.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	46.3 KB
ID:	1259813   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw59487.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	44.9 KB
ID:	1259814   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz77796.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	46.1 KB
ID:	1259815   Click image for larger version

Name:	To43480.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	34.4 KB
ID:	1259816  

InboundLZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 12:29 PM
  #99
Ali
Thread Starter
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper

On the last few viper jets that we have tune keyed ( And my own current example ) we have fitted to horns per surface and bolted a ball link between them. A bit like the large aerobatic models do. This is my preferred attachment and linkage system as its nigh on bullet proof, and has lots of security.
All of the recent Vipers ( by recent I mean maybe 12 weeks) We have supplied have had hard point installed in the correct positions. I still advise a metal servo arm on that rudder servo. Its alot of surface pushing down hard on a plastic horn. I lost a rudder and was lucky not to lose the fin at FJ with my prototype Viper thanks to a servo arm stripping.. and yes it was a JR Super servo arm with the large hub!
Craig has a point with the hinges, but to be honest I think even Robarts will flex. The problem is the un supported area of hinge between the trailing edge of the fin and the radius of the leading edge of the rudder. We put balsa blocks or even build a seat of hysol to support the hinge and eliminate the movement. But to be honest we have never had a hinge fail even on the un supported ones.
Hope this helps, and enjoy your great new toy! and for me what must be one of, if not the best all rounder available on the market today!
Regards Al

Ali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 12:32 PM
  #100
CraigG
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 1,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another Skymaster Viper


Quote:
ORIGINAL: InboundLZ

This is not a viper but this is how I did my Horizontal stabs on my 339. The servo is mounted in the root of the stab and the bottom of the case sticks out a little and sits inside the fuse... I will be using the same method on my Viper (once I finally get it)....
That's a really nice looking servo mount. It should fit the vertical fin OK but it might be a little big for the stabs. It's a squeez to get an 8611 in there.

Craig
CraigG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:13 PM.