Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Starting A Twin Turbine Jet

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Starting A Twin Turbine Jet

Old 08-08-2009, 10:15 PM
BJ64

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting A Twin Turbine Jet

Can anyone explain the procedure to start a Twin Turbine Jet?

The reason I ask is that I'm fairly new to all this, and have a JJ3000 on a test-bench at the moment, with the view of running a pair of them in a longer-term project I've embarked on. The learning-curve has been rather steep, but deeply satisfying just the same

To start the current single Turbine, the FADEC initially requires calibration of No Stick/No Trim, Full Stick/Full Trim, and No Stick/Full Trim positions so that it can work out if you are trying to start the Turbine, increase the throttle, return to idle, or shut down the Turbine.

In a Twin-Turbine situation, I'm guessing that you'd first need some kind of 'throttle splitter' cable/device so that each FADEC receives the Rx throttle information.

If so, do you start both Turbines together? What happens if one of the Turbines doesn't kick off? How do you then go through the start-up procedure on the failed Turbine while the other one is still running? i.e. to get the duffed one to start, you would need to reset the throttle sticks and trim position - and this would then shut-down the running Turbine, no? Or do you simply shut the whole lot down, and start over?

If you do start them independently, there must be some way to tell the Turbine that starts first to sit and wait at idle while you switch the throttle commands coming out of the Rx across to the second Turbine and go through its spool-up procedure i.e. for the Turbine that's already up and running at idle, my Tx is sitting at No Stick/Full Trim and the FADEC has cycled up to 'running' status. Any throttle changes I make from then on will influence that Turbine.