RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

FTE 500 solenoid issue?

Reply
Old 08-19-2009, 11:10 PM
  #1
sonito
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: lakeview , OR
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FTE 500 solenoid issue?

Hi new to turbines and have the following issue: I have an FTE 500 that does not get fuel to the motor checked the pump and works fine checked filters and all clear, now the solenoid for the fuel does not let the fuel into the motor, do these little guys go bad? and if so where do I get another one?


I live in the Tampa bay area if anyone can help me out here I would be glad to hear something

thanks,
Forrest
sonito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 12:56 AM
  #2
GSR
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 1,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FTE 500 solenoid issue?

Make sure that you have it plugged into the ECU correctly. With the RAM ECU it is easy to miss the pins making you think it is plugged in when it is not. Also make sure the black wire is oriented towards the black dot on the label. Scotty
GSR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 04:35 PM
  #3
sonito
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: lakeview , OR
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FTE 500 solenoid issue?

Checked the connection and still wont work, where do i buy a new solenoid?
sonito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 04:40 PM
  #4
hooker53
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 2,539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FTE 500 solenoid issue?

RTI
hooker53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 08:15 AM
  #5
B58
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: La Luz, NM
Posts: 618
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FTE 500 solenoid issue?

You could swap it with the gas one and give it a try. Easy way to make sure. Bob
B58 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 09:41 AM
  #6
Chris Smith
 
Chris Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Adams TN, Berea KY
Posts: 813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FTE 500 solenoid issue?

On mine Carlos found the circuit that controls the solenoid in the ECU was the problem not the solenoid. We did not need to fix the ECU, I chose not to run a solenoid. I use a manual fuel shutoff instead.

Chris
Chris Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 01:42 PM
  #7
E.N.T.
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Juan, , PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 1,047
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FTE 500 solenoid issue?

When thr fuel solenoid in my RAM 750 was damage, I talked to Carlos, and he told me
to try it without the solenoid. It worked so well, that since then I run iy without it. Gave
the turbine more power.



ENT
E.N.T. is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:44 AM.