Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Avonds F-104 building Question

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Avonds F-104 building Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2003, 08:53 AM
Aero65
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Avonds F-104 building Question

Hello Jet flyer's

I'm just finishing my F-104 for a RAM 750. The directions say to reinforce the joint between the fuse and the wing with 2 oz cloth and epoxy. For those who have built the kit is this really necessary? I have the version with the panel lines.

I used epoxy to glue the wing on, then used aeropoxy to fill any small gap around the wing and fuse is this enough?

Thank you for your help in advance.
Old 06-28-2003, 12:06 PM
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)

Received 126 Likes on 87 Posts
Default 104

Hi Duke,
I've been flying one of these for 3 years now - a great airplane. As far as the wing joint, I did it on mine. I masked out the panel on the fuselage and used 20z cloth that extended 2" on the wing. Liberal amounts of finishing epoxy to allow it to be sandable. After it cures take a exacto knife and go around the area taped, pull off the tape. You now have a reinforcement that you can feather on the wing and sand the rough areas off on the fuselage to make an invisible reinforcement.

Another area you might want to look at is the gear mounts. Place lots of CF on the plates. I have broken mine 3 times and it is a pain in the a......to fix. Any more questions fire away.
Old 06-28-2003, 05:26 PM
CJ2002

Default 104 root glassing

Hi Duke,