RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

Reply
Old 10-07-2011, 03:19 PM
  #476
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,031
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

I did the maidan on my Dv8R today it required a lot of up trim about 8 clicks and about 3 clicks right trim, Take of and flying was ok but landing was a problem as
I did not have enough down trim for any of the flap setting soI desided to land without flaps but this plane is a real floater in hind site I should have killed the eng
and glided in. After touch down it was bounce and buck city it broke out the nose gear and all the wood in that area however the nose gear is ok. It also broke out
the canopy hold down plate but otherwise the plane and gears seem fine, I have a appointment with the local model hospitial and the doctor who has seen the
injury thinks some surgery will have me back in the air soon. So in a couple of weeks I hope to try it again.
ira d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 08:22 PM
  #477
noahb
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

This is why in my earlier post I suggested Crow setup. You don't have to have it, but it makes it land 100% easier. I hope all is ok and you get it back together without too much work.
noahb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 10:15 PM
  #478
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,031
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

Yes I did see the info about crow but I will have to free up another channel in order to use it, I do feel if i'm able to use the flaps it should slow down ok I just have
to make sureI have enough down elevator mixed in with the flap to prevent the pitch up, I did have some mixed in but I think all the up trim I put in helped to
cancel out the mix.
ira d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 05:05 AM
  #479
John Redman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lancaster, CA IL
Posts: 2,306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

Model requires a fair amount of up thrust to trim for level flight. You will want to add washers under the aft engine mount bolts until your up trim is almost neutral.

Requires down elevator compensation for flap deployment as well.

Once set up the model will penetrate very slowly on final with a slight nose down attitude. Very solid approach.

Some of this is covered in the instructios.

Do not be afraid to add washers under the aft engine mount bolts.

Anyone who has seen my son fly his would atest to what I am saying here. Trim the model in pitch with thust, not elevator trim. Makes an entirely better flying model.
John Redman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:30 AM
  #480
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,031
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

I will raise the back of the engine some, Thanks John.
ira d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 10:14 AM
  #481
FMRR
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 364
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

Ira d, Congrade's on your maiden sorry to hear about the landing.I saw one fly for the first time about three weeks ago.Same problem, .125(1/8) up ele trim. I agree with John shimming some up thrust will bring the ele back to neutral for landing.Hope you get her fix and back in the air soon

John,How big a shim did you use? I know this will vary from jet to jet /engine to engine.But it will put the rest of us in the ball park.My will be flying with a jet cat 120sx.The plate will be cut to fit in the rails as mention in an earlier post.So it won't have the leverage effect using the full mount footing.
FMRR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:51 PM
  #482
John Redman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lancaster, CA IL
Posts: 2,306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

Okay guys, you are making me work. three pictures for you.

First one is engine thrust and the washer on the back of the mount. I am using the traditional BVM strap mounts. 3/16" up where the bolt is.

Second one is elevator trim at neutral or in flight. Looks like we may still be a bit nose heavy. Kid won't give me enough time to work on it as he flies the crap out of it.[:@]

Third one is elevator trim with full flaps. I cannot remember the flap setting but want to say it is somewhere around 35 degres.

CG is as per the manual.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk27370.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	46.2 KB
ID:	1671276   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ea84213.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	1671277   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ot48041.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	1671278  
John Redman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 03:59 PM
  #483
FMRR
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 364
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

John, sorry to have put you to work lol thanks for the info..much more than I asked....will help a ton.You must of know those question would have followedYour flight trim is not that bad,the one I saw the botton ele edge was 1/8 away from the stab.Top edge would have made it a 1/4.Give your son something else to fly and maybe you can get her done Thanks again.
FMRR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 04:33 PM
  #484
John Redman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lancaster, CA IL
Posts: 2,306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

You bet, glad to help. Only a couple of more flying weekends here before it is just too cold to fly and the white stuff will be all over the runways.

Looking forward to digging back into the DV8R and cleaning it up for next season. Built a new balsa canopy as the plastic one just plain sucks! Tends to warp and deform in the sun. Will get that covered and make some other adjustments for next season.

Enjoy guys, wish we could fly all season long.
John Redman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 04:46 PM
  #485
FMRR
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 364
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

John here's a tip, remove the wheels and replace them with skis.Then you can fly all year. Thanks again for your help.
FMRR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 06:45 AM
  #486
John Redman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lancaster, CA IL
Posts: 2,306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

I love that idea, problem is I am a warm weather flyer.

Got all the yard work done yesterday so I can get some work done on the old girl today in the shop.
John Redman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 04:38 PM
  #487
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,031
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

I rebuilt the nose of my DV8R and put two flights on it today and it is a very stable plane, I mixed in more down elevator with the flaps so now I just have to hold a touch
of up to keep the nose level and it lands nicely. I did get a bounce on my first landing today but not on the second it seem the trick is to keep plane as level as possible
on touch down with the nose only up a couple of inches at touch down. I did shim the back of the engine as John Redman suggested andI was able to take out a few
clicks of up trim.
ira d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 05:09 PM
  #488
k12rc
 
k12rc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: reidsville, NC
Posts: 755
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

know the feeling bounced mine knocked nose off and busted canopy it flying again now made three great landings a few weeks back held nose up a little and let it land itself
k12rc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 06:43 PM
  #489
RC_MAN
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: LaSalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 605
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

Would this plane fly off grass with a KingTech K-80 (19 lbs of thrust)?

Thanks
RC_MAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 07:08 PM
  #490
John Redman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lancaster, CA IL
Posts: 2,306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

Yes it would, all day long and be a sweet ride!!
John Redman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 08:30 PM
  #491
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,031
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

Yup busted my canopy too butI was able glue it back togather.
ira d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 02:09 PM
  #492
k12rc
 
k12rc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: reidsville, NC
Posts: 755
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

have a jet central falcon in mine we fly off of a 375 grass strip comes off at 1/2 strip no problem just bought a new canopy for mine
k12rc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 01:51 PM
  #493
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,031
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

I had two more flights on my DV8R today and all went well andI would say my old P80 is a good match forit.
ira d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:57 AM
  #494
phantom_najd
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Riyadh, SAUDI ARABIA
Posts: 223
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

Would Kingtech K-140 be a good turbine for my DV8R? Thanks in advance guys.
K-140 Turbine Specs:
Diameter: 4-3/8"
Length: 10.5”
Weight: 3 lb. 6oz.
RPM Range: 34,000 - 123,000 RPM
Thrust: 31 lbs @ 123,000 RPM

Azzam
phantom_najd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 04:06 PM
  #495
fombyracing
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cottondale, AL
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

Absolutely!
fombyracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 07:13 PM
  #496
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,031
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: phantom_najd

Would Kingtech K-140 be a good turbine for my DV8R? Thanks in advance guys.
K-140 Turbine Specs:
Diameter: 4-3/8"
Length: 10.5”
Weight: 3 lb. 6oz.
RPM Range: 34,000 - 123,000 RPM
Thrust: 31 lbs @ 123,000 RPM

Azzam
The Kingtech is about the same dia as the Jetcat P80 which I have in my DV8R I did however had to carve quite a bit from the mounting rails
to get the P80 to fit. I think if I was to use a K-140 in mine I would problem derate it to about 25 to 28lb thrust.
ira d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 12:40 PM
  #497
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,031
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

Three more flights on the DV8R this week here in sunny socal all went well.
ira d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 09:17 PM
  #498
Zagzoo
 
Zagzoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Springfield, OH
Posts: 710
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: phantom_najd

Would Kingtech K-140 be a good turbine for my DV8R? Thanks in advance guys.
K-140 Turbine Specs:
Diameter: 4-3/8''
Length: 10.5”
Weight: 3 lb. 6oz.
RPM Range: 34,000 - 123,000 RPM
Thrust: 31 lbs @ 123,000 RPM

Azzam
I fly mine on a JetCentral Cheeta.. great combo 31lbs thrust for the airframe. I fly normal at 1/4 to 3/8 (and do anything I want), punch it full for unlimited vertical, 30ft take off rolls straight up out of site! You'll love that combination!
Zagzoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 09:39 PM
  #499
phantom_najd
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Riyadh, SAUDI ARABIA
Posts: 223
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Zagzoo


Quote:
ORIGINAL: phantom_najd

Would Kingtech K-140 be a good turbine for my DV8R? Thanks in advance guys.
...
Azzam
I fly mine on a JetCentral Cheeta.. great combo 31lbs thrust for the airframe. I fly normal at 1/4 to 3/8 (and do anything I want), punch it full for unlimited vertical, 30ft take off rolls straight up out of site! You'll love that combination!
Thanks allot Frank I am sure it would be great having all this power reserved
I opted a P-120 which is not much different than the K-140 and the Cheeta.

Azzam
phantom_najd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:57 AM
  #500
RC-AERO
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bellefonte, PA
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: TBM DV8R anyone have one or about too?

New to this thread and this is my first jet. Really strange question..... Looks like everyone is using Hysol as opposed to any standard 30 minute epoxy for RC use. Do I need the Hysol ? any opinions ? Thank You.
RC-AERO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:26 AM.