RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Wren turbines.

Reply
Old 01-28-2010, 04:17 PM
  #1
David Gladwin
Thread Starter
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,283
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wren turbines.

Just heard that Wren engines will soon be available with kero start and Projet ECUs. Due Feb I believe so not long now !

Regards, David Gladwin.
David Gladwin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 04:34 PM
  #2
Jetbono
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 180
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.




Sounds good
Jetbono is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 04:53 PM
  #3
jason
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,327
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

I still can't see a single reason to buy a kero start engine over a gas start one, but I can see many reasons to buy a gas start engine over a kero start one. I like my £4.00 glow plug that lasts years and a engine that starts perfectly every time without fail and also doesn't need to be connected to the national electricity grid to do so.

Saying that, theres always the customers who will want this new feature and I'm sure it will help sell even more Wrens for them which is after all the only reason they have done it.

Jason
jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 05:10 PM
  #4
josecilurzo
 
josecilurzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SAO JOSE DO RIO PRETO-SP, BRAZIL
Posts: 769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

I AGREE!!!! GAS START IS EASY TO START, MAINTENANCE, AND LOW COST ( GLOW PLUG, MANIFOLD and FESTO ).

I PREFER GAS STARTING.

JOSE
josecilurzo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 05:14 PM
  #5
Eddie P
 
Eddie P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 1,913
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

I can see for "plug and play" reasons. It's fewer lines, festos, tanks, required supplies, what have you. If I was starting out in turbine, I'd go with Kero start all the way, no question about it. Since I already have all the hardware and a few extra bottles of Powermax sitting in the garage there is no reason for me to do it. I've modified my systems to removable gas tanks to lighten up the airframe by a few ounces but more importantly to remove any possibility of a gas ignited fire in a crash. Yes I know there is some debate on that issue and work arounds but I went ahead and made the change in a small way.
Eddie P is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 05:18 PM
  #6
Couch Potato
 
Couch Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coventry, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

Which Wren turbines will have the kero start option ?

All of them or just the big ones W-120 & W-160 ?

Ta very much.
Couch Potato is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 05:23 PM
  #7
JohnMac
 
JohnMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leeds, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

Well the use of on board gas is optional. It seemed like a good idea when it first came out but it is simply not necessary. Either way gas start has always worked fine for me.
I think that Kero start is a perfect solution to a problem that does not exist. Perfect for those that must have the latest and "best" gadget.
JohnMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 05:28 PM
  #8
Pegasus
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Malibu, CA
Posts: 607
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

Where is the info on the ECU's, I take it parameters will be programmable?
Pegasus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 06:15 PM
  #9
tothemax
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Eastern, OH
Posts: 426
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

What's a "GAS START TURBINE"?
tothemax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 07:16 PM
  #10
Eddie P
 
Eddie P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 1,913
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: tothemax

What's a ''GAS START TURBINE''?
Too many posts and then a whine!
Eddie P is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 07:25 PM
  #11
David Gladwin
Thread Starter
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,283
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

My understanding is that initially, at least, only the 120 and 160s will be kero start.

I am not advocating kero start only passing information on. Two of my engines, JC P70 and 160 SX are kero start the rest are all propane. What I do like about propane is the very obvious start indication when the propane lights, the kero starts are just too quiet in even a slightly noisy environment.

I understand that the latest JC plugs are giving superb service life.

Regards, David Gladwin.
David Gladwin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 03:55 AM
  #12
Geoff White
 
Geoff White's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

Hey Jason,

I said the same thing to John Wright once, he replied that the thermal shock on the turbine when starting via Kero is far less so is gentler on the turbine as a whole.

Geoff.
Geoff White is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 05:06 AM
  #13
jason
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,327
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Geoff White

Hey Jason,

I said the same thing to John Wright once, he replied that the thermal shock on the turbine when starting via Kero is far less so is gentler on the turbine as a whole.

Geoff.
Good Morning Geoffrey

You will be the one in thermal shock when the internal burner goes on your 160 SX at the start of a meet[X(] I'll stick to my gas and glow plugs until kero start problems either do not exist or car be sorted on the field. Anyway, I have 42 Rossi R8 plugs in stock to wear out first

Jason
jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 06:16 AM
  #14
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,088
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

The Projet ECU's have been out on the Wren 160 for a few weeks now. I have two 160's with this ECU.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 06:25 AM
  #15
Geoff White
 
Geoff White's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

Jason,

I can assure you if the burner goes US on my 160SX at an inconvenient moment, Wilshere will have a thermal shock when I have finished with him

Geoff.
Geoff White is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 06:30 AM
  #16
madmodelman
 
madmodelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corby, Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,178
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.


"Anyway, I have 42 Rossi R8 plugs in stock to wear out first"


Now we know why you're anti kero!
madmodelman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 06:32 AM
  #17
smitty1001
 
smitty1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: River Oaks, TX
Posts: 1,962
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

Anyone know why Wren bailed on the Gaspar ECUif that is indeed the case?
smitty1001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 07:00 AM
  #18
Turbotronic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 467
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jason

I still can't see a single reason to buy a kero start engine over a gas start one, but I can see many reasons to buy a gas start engine over a kero start one. I like my £4.00 glow plug that lasts years and a engine that starts perfectly every time without fail and also doesn't need to be connected to the national electricity grid to do so.

Saying that, theres always the customers who will want this new feature and I'm sure it will help sell even more Wrens for them which is after all the only reason they have done it.

Jason
Rossi #8 s last about 2 - 3 years in my kerostart engine, will work on any old 4 cell nicad, does not need any service and 100's have done so for 9 years now.
It is also cheaper to manufactue than a "keroplug".
The industry is just so far behind.
Andre Baird

Turbotronic is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 07:53 AM
  #19
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,088
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: smitty1001

Anyone know why Wren bailed on the Gaspar ECU if that is indeed the case?
When I bought my 160's, Sara at Wren said they changed to the Projet ECU as it works better on that turbine. I believe it automatically sets & adjusts many of the parameters to suit conditions.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 08:02 AM
  #20
Couch Potato
 
Couch Potato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coventry, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Jascat100


Quote:
ORIGINAL: smitty1001

Anyone know why Wren bailed on the Gaspar ECU if that is indeed the case?
When I bought my 160's, Sara at Wren said they changed to the Projet ECU as it works better on that turbine. I believe it automatically sets & adjusts many of the parameters to suit conditions.
Did you get the "old" simple ECU ? If so, how does your W-160 run, less than "better" ?
Couch Potato is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 08:08 AM
  #21
jason
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,327
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Turbotronic


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jason

I still can't see a single reason to buy a kero start engine over a gas start one, but I can see many reasons to buy a gas start engine over a kero start one. I like my £4.00 glow plug that lasts years and a engine that starts perfectly every time without fail and also doesn't need to be connected to the national electricity grid to do so.

Saying that, theres always the customers who will want this new feature and I'm sure it will help sell even more Wrens for them which is after all the only reason they have done it.

Jason
Rossi #8 s last about 2 - 3 years in my kerostart engine, will work on any old 4 cell nicad, does not need any service and 100's have done so for 9 years now.
It is also cheaper to manufactue than a ''keroplug''.
The industry is just so far behind.
Andre Baird


Andre

so why don't turbine manufacturers use your system? Did you put a patent on it so they can't without paying or is it difficult or expensive to make?

Jason
jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 08:37 AM
  #22
GrayUK
 
GrayUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dunstable, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,598
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

Gas for me, simple and works....like someone i know
GrayUK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 08:37 AM
  #23
Turbotronic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 467
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

Jason,
The fuel injector/atomiser is difficult to make in the sense you need precision equipment and really small tools but otherwise its really simple. The most expensive part is the 3mm Festo. My system requires no mods to the engine design as such but a few alterations are obviously required to fit. The most surprising thing, even to myself is just how reliable it turned out to be. The really clever bits are in the software. I dont believe in patents really. I have offered this system for sale but with no response. Engine manufacturers lacking electronics knowledge probably has a hard time believing such a system can work.
The picture is of the bussiness end of the device. The OD is 6mm, the flat surface 4mm and the orrifice 0.12mm. We have made them down to 0.08 mm but the flow was too low.

Andre
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Db85805.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	242.6 KB
ID:	1367033  
Turbotronic is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 08:53 AM
  #24
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,088
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Couch Potato


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Jascat100


Quote:
ORIGINAL: smitty1001

Anyone know why Wren bailed on the Gaspar ECU if that is indeed the case?
When I bought my 160's, Sara at Wren said they changed to the Projet ECU as it works better on that turbine. I believe it automatically sets & adjusts many of the parameters to suit conditions.
Did you get the ''old'' simple ECU ? If so, how does your W-160 run, less than ''better'' ?

The Projet ECU supplied is the latest Hornet 3. The turbine runs perfectly on it. My two ECU's are back at Wren to have newer software loaded. I have a friend who has the Wren 160 using the Gaspar ECU. It seems to run perfectly as well. Maybe Wren got a better deal from Projet.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 09:06 AM
  #25
jason
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,327
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wren turbines.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Turbotronic

Jason,
The fuel injector/atomiser is difficult to make in the sense you need precision equipment and really small tools but otherwise its really simple. The most expensive part is the 3mm Festo. My system requires no mods to the engine design as such but a few alterations are obviously required to fit. The most surprising thing, even to myself is just how reliable it turned out to be. The really clever bits are in the software. I dont believe in patents really. I have offered this system for sale but with no response. Engine manufacturers lacking electronics knowledge probably has a hard time believing such a system can work.
The picture is of the bussiness end of the device. The OD is 6mm, the flat surface 4mm and the orrifice 0.12mm. We have made them down to 0.08 mm but the flow was too low.

Andre

Andre

thats very intresting, thanks.

Gaspars first kero start Merlin 160 used atomisers when I saw it Majorca jets about 5 years ago. Not sure why he went away from it though.

Jason
jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:36 AM.