RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Reply
Old 02-20-2011, 03:53 AM
  #451
Aussie Bart
Thread Starter
 
Aussie Bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sale, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Hi Jeff

Have you had a chance to fly it yet??
Aussie Bart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 08:07 AM
  #452
Edgar Perez
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Edgar Perez

I made a drawing with the full conversion. Can anyone confirm its correct?
Thanks
quick question: Seems to me that using a Y-connector (QSMY-4) or a T-connector (QSMT-4) achieves the same, right?

Just found out I have some T-connectors around...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ax72766.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	15.6 KB
ID:	1566964   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fa87394.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	12.1 KB
ID:	1566965  
Edgar Perez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 08:47 AM
  #453
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Does exactly the same job. The use of one rather than the other, is just a matter of direction of the lines.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 12:26 PM
  #454
enrico63
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lucca, ITALY
Posts: 137
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Hi I ' m Enrico from Italy and I have a question for you. I 've a FEJ viper and I'd like ti convert the landing gear in hiraulic version. Can i Use the same piston of my retract and buy only the ums conversion kit? Best regards Enrico
enrico63 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 12:28 PM
  #455
Aussie Bart
Thread Starter
 
Aussie Bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sale, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Yes Enrico, standard piston and seals are perfect
Aussie Bart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 12:31 PM
  #456
enrico63
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lucca, ITALY
Posts: 137
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

TKS I'll order my conversion tomorrow and if it works well I'll buy it also for my F14. The air system is a very big problem in every model. Regards Enrico
enrico63 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 12:39 PM
  #457
enrico63
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lucca, ITALY
Posts: 137
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Sorry I 've the last question. Why you use the pilot Festo valve ? it 's not in the ums scheme and how do you connect that valve? I 'll be happy if you could answer my question. Then i'll not disturb you. Promise.
enrico63 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 01:25 PM
  #458
jeff sewell
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: hull, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 701
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Bart,

I managed to get enough time to mount a switch tonight...even had the turbine spooled on gas!

Not much to do but little time to do it as usual!

Balancing and set-up to do...

May get to the next meeting at Elvington with it.

looking forward very much to flying it...eventually!

Jeff

jeff sewell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 07:27 PM
  #459
ianober
 
ianober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 4,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum


Quote:
ORIGINAL: enrico63

Sorry I 've the last question. Why you use the pilot Festo valve ? it 's not in the ums scheme and how do you connect that valve? I 'll be happy if you could answer my question. Then i'll not disturb you. Promise.

Enrico, read through this thread and you will find the answers to both of your questions. Good luck.
ianober is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 11:54 PM
  #460
Aussie Bart
Thread Starter
 
Aussie Bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sale, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Enrico
You will not need any locking valves, these are only used on the JL Mig & SU27 because they have NO mechanical locking up or down. I use the standard hydraulic system (no Festo locking valves) in my Vampire and JLT45 as they have mechanical locks built in the trunnions.
Aussie Bart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 10:54 AM
  #461
ianober
 
ianober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 4,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Thanks to Rob I got a jet-tronics sequencer hooked up and it worked a treat!! The timing is good and allows for plenty of time for the gear to stow before closing the doors. I have not hooked up the air to the system yet cause I still need to see about getting the left main fixed so that it gets all the way into the fuse. Once that is done then I should be all set but the hydraulics are working great. Big thanks to Bart for the assistance and education on how to get the system up and running. I think I may be using hydraulics on my A-6 when she is ready to go (long time [])
ianober is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 11:47 AM
  #462
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Going out tomorrow to fly mine & try & solve the out of trim roll problem.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 12:06 PM
  #463
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,843
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Jim Cattanach

Going out tomorrow to fly mine & try & solve the out of trim roll problem.
WHich out of trim roll problem ?
i3dm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 12:26 PM
  #464
ianober
 
ianober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 4,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum


Quote:
ORIGINAL: i3dm


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Jim Cattanach

Going out tomorrow to fly mine & try & solve the out of trim roll problem.
WHich out of trim roll problem ?
Start reading at post #434.
ianober is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 07:58 AM
  #465
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

I changed from elevons to seperate elevator & ailerons. Took off & the jet slowly rolled over. No amount of opposite control made any difference. The jet is a total loss. There was a major flaw in mine, but I could not find the reason.
I think I will avoid Chinese jets for now.
Good luck guys.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:01 AM
  #466
ianober
 
ianober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 4,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

I am sorry to hear that Jim. Did you measure the incidence on each wing to see if they were different? I have a feeling that could have been it.
ianober is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:41 AM
  #467
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

I don't have an incidence meter. I used an electrical protractor & both wings were almost identical. The amount of variation when using elevons was a lot & I was reluctant to try with just ailerons. I thought that with the ailerons being out on the wingtips, it would be enough to counter the variation. WRONG. It is a mystery I could not find any reason for & I checked the jet over for hours, with no result.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 01:27 AM
  #468
enrico63
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lucca, ITALY
Posts: 137
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Tks for the informations but i Have bought a hydraulic conversion kit fro ums india. The order status says COMPLETED but I have no other information from them I tried to contact them.No result. Do you have experience with them? Regards Enrico
enrico63 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 05:32 AM
  #469
Edgar Perez
 
Edgar Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gurabo, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

UMS did deliver ok. I only got an email from them after receiving the parts, for a customer satisfaction survey.

I will say not to worry...
Edgar Perez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 11:23 AM
  #470
JohnMac
 
JohnMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leeds, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Both wings where OK measured whrere? Was there any twist in the wings or the tailplane?
JohnMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 12:20 PM
  #471
Rider-60
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chevrieres, FRANCE
Posts: 1,076
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Jim,

sorry for your loss,[]

might be a bit late but have you had a look at the pipe? if it is twisted it could induce a roll like a vector system.
Rider-60 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 09:30 PM
  #472
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum


Quote:
ORIGINAL: JohnMac

Both wings where OK measured whrere? Was there any twist in the wings or the tailplane?
John. I used the protractor on many different measured points on the surfaces & everything was virtually identical. Line of sight showed nothing. Lateral balance was spot on. The jet appeared straight & true. With the amount of adjustment needed to counter the effect, the cause should have been obvious to see. The effect remained constant at all speeds & throttle settings. It will remain a mystery it seems.

Rider-60. The tailcones have arrows on them to make sure they are fitted correctly. The pipe was straight, true & level. Also as I said, the effect did not alter with the turbine at idle, or full power.

Jeff Sewell (UK Jet Legend rep) has contacted me with a generous offer of a choice of replacement Jet Legend products at around cost price. I would like another Mig, but may chicken out & choose another I like, (the L39). Many thanks Jeff. You provide excellent customer support. I will be in touch later today.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 12:13 AM
  #473
JohnMac
 
JohnMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leeds, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Hi Jim,
Like you say anything that causes such a pronounced roll should be blindingly obvious. It sounds like you can discount radio too as I cannot imagine a scenario were these events would play out due to any kind of radio failure. Like you say, a real mystery. Sorry for your loss and I hope you next project is more succesful.
Regards,
John
JohnMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 01:03 PM
  #474
i3dm
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 3,843
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

Guys,

How are you usually filling up the hydraulic system oil reservoir for the first time, and how do you purge the air on the first few runs of the hydraulic system ?
i3dm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 01:58 PM
  #475
johnls
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: PlaistowWest Sussex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetlegend Mig 29 Fulcrum

With the reservoir vertical, unscrew the top and fill it up. To purge the air out of the system, after a few cycles it will go as the air rises to the top. If you have a problem you may have to stand the model on its nose and cycle the system.



John
johnls is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:35 PM.