RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

jetlegend f15 set up info

Reply
Old 02-01-2010, 02:51 PM
  #1
3dean
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: london, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 705
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default jetlegend f15 set up info

hi all

can anyone give me some info on the jetlegend f15 , its a taileron version, would like to know throws for these and rudders, also c of g... any tips on the flying would be great.....


cheers
3dean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 03:23 PM
  #2
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

I presume that is the 1/9.5 scale version, so a good setup is 50mm up/down elevator 25mm up/down for the elevon movement with 25% de-sensitizing expo on the three axis . Cg location is not extremely critical, so you can use the recommended one in the instruction manual.

Pretty much the same as the Skymaster F-15, it will not drop a wing at high alpha. Land it on the mains, keeping the nose up on the final approach with about 1/3 throttle. Be very gentle at the rudder commands while taxing , specially while braking if you don´t want to scratch the wingtips, and If you are using the original tailpipe, check it after each flight. Also if you have the grey version, don´t go away too much with it, specially if you are flying in a cloudy day.... you will love the plane.




Enrique
erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 04:00 PM
  #3
3dean
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: london, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 705
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

thanks for the reply,what is wrong with the original pipe?, , , do you know what the specified c of g setting is..
thanks
3dean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 04:26 PM
  #4
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

The ones I saw where very fragile.. And if it collapses you may end with a problem!

CG is on the removable fuselage wood bulkhead, with empty tanks.

erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 05:06 PM
  #5
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

this is the info i was given by GJC when i got mine........

1.75" elevator, 1.25" flaps, .75" aileron, 30% expo on everything and the CG 7.0" back from the leading edge.


my pipe isn't fragil IMO but hunting season has delayed my finishing it up and flying it to see.
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 02:30 AM
  #6
jeff sewell
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: hull, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 702
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

Quote:
ORIGINAL: erbroens

The ones I saw where very fragile.. And if it collapses you may end with a problem!
Really? I've never seen one fail in all the ones I sold and in the case of the F15 people were quite happily running 160's through them. I've seen some poor installations were the turbine wasn't aligned correctly but still not failed. I suspect this is were you've seen a problem?

Jeff
jeff sewell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 08:38 AM
  #7
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jeff sewell

Quote:
ORIGINAL: erbroens

The ones I saw where very fragile.. And if it collapses you may end with a problem!
Really? I've never seen one fail in all the ones I sold and in the case of the F15 people were quite happily running 160's through them. I've seen some poor installations were the turbine wasn't aligned correctly but still not failed. I suspect this is were you've seen a problem?

Jeff
Unfortunately this is not the case. The pipe was made of a very thin steel plate, and the solder points where badly executed as the material won´t allow the use of the correct current for soldering. (It was possible to pop out by hand the soldering points).

Don´t know since when you are selling this stuff, but hope that the tailpipes your are offering now are better than the ones I saw.
erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:25 AM
  #8
jeff sewell
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: hull, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 702
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

They seem to be a strong point in all the jets I've sold here - never had to replace any due to the welds failing or otherwise.

I guess some do sneak thro the QC tho!

Jeff
jeff sewell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:35 AM
  #9
overnout
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UnionvilleOntario, CANADA
Posts: 102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

I'm setting one of these up. Can anyone recommend receiver placement? This will be my first spektrum 2.4 jet (4 satellites) and I'm trying to avoid trial and error .

Cheers
overnout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:37 AM
  #10
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

I already contacted Mr. Yang Zicheng about this issue in 2008.. you may mention this to him, he will remember me.

Perhaps this is one of the reasons the pipes you are selling now are ok, but always worth to check.






erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:49 AM
  #11
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info


Quote:
ORIGINAL: overnout

I'm setting one of these up. Can anyone recommend receiver placement? This will be my first spektrum 2.4 jet (4 satellites) and I'm trying to avoid trial and error .

Cheers

ECU on the lower "tub" in front of the main tank, main receiver under the canopy plate and the satelite glued with velcro tape in the cockpit fuselage side, having the antenas projected in all the three axis. the Fuel pump is in a plate, near the turbine aproximately over the main landing gear wheel when retracted. The UAT or Header Tank is also in the cockpit floor plate so I can easily check if it is full after the flight .

As usual, a 360 degrees range test with the turbine running counting the fades in the Spektrum data terminal is a good idea. 4 satelites not needed, but they wouldn´t hurt either. Try to fix them as far as you can from the CF and metal things.
erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 01:13 PM
  #12
jeff sewell
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: hull, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 702
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

Absolutely right - it does no harm to check.

Cheers buddy,

Jeff
jeff sewell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 01:28 PM
  #13
overnout
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UnionvilleOntario, CANADA
Posts: 102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

Thanks erbroens - exactly what I need...Cheers!
overnout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 01:30 PM
  #14
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

Quote:
ORIGINAL: jeff sewell

Absolutely right - it does no harm to check.

Cheers buddy,

Jeff
Specially if the airplane starts to smoke without a smoke system!


Overnout: Anytime.
erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 08:01 PM
  #15
3dean
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: london, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 705
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

guys
thanks for the info so far, my f15 has tailerons, what are the settings for these?

cheers
3dean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 08:34 PM
  #16
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

see post #2:
erbroens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 02:03 AM
  #17
3dean
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: london, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 705
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

thanks all
3dean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 08:17 PM
  #18
afterburner
 
afterburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 2,931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info


Quote:
ORIGINAL: KC36330

this is the info i was given by GJC when i got mine........

1.75'' elevator, 1.25'' flaps, .75'' aileron, 30% expo on everything and the CG 7.0'' back from the leading edge.


my pipe isn't fragil IMO but hunting season has delayed my finishing it up and flying it to see.
The JL manual shows CG at the 7" back from the wing but mentions to have the header tank full? Not sure if that is correct. Anyone know?

Marty
afterburner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 09:30 PM
  #19
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

you should always balance with the UAT full.
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 09:58 PM
  #20
afterburner
 
afterburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 2,931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info


Quote:
ORIGINAL: KC36330

you should always balance with the UAT full.
I know that the UAT should be full but the way it's written, it almost seems that they mean the main header tank full. The main header on the JL F-15 is a 32oz tank and its about 12" ahead of the CG so it can't be. The only reason I posted is that my F-15 has never landed as slow as I felt it could and I'm in the midst of moving some ballast behind the CG as I believe I've been a bit nose heavy from day one.

Marty
afterburner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 06:15 AM
  #21
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

if you're that far nose heavy you'd have a hard time holding high alpha, how does she do when attempting it??
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 08:37 AM
  #22
afterburner
 
afterburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 2,931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

It's able to hold the nose up but when I recently attempted to keep it off the runway till it slowed down more, it dropped out early. Right now I only have the UAT full/gear up and lifting it by the front "removable" former she's nose heavy. I'm going to move the two A123 packs that were in the nose to the engine compartment almost on the CG. Together they weight 13oz. That still gives me a slight nose down attitude when lifting it.

Marty
afterburner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:41 PM.