Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 22 of 22

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    london, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    700
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    jetlegend f15 set up info

    hi all

    can anyone give me some info on the jetlegend f15 , its a taileron version, would like to know throws for these and rudders, also c of g... any tips on the flying would be great.....


    cheers

  2. #2
    erbroens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,884
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    I presume that is the 1/9.5 scale version, so a good setup is 50mm up/down elevator 25mm up/down for the elevon movement with 25% de-sensitizing expo on the three axis . Cg location is not extremely critical, so you can use the recommended one in the instruction manual.

    Pretty much the same as the Skymaster F-15, it will not drop a wing at high alpha. Land it on the mains, keeping the nose up on the final approach with about 1/3 throttle. Be very gentle at the rudder commands while taxing , specially while braking if you donΒ΄t want to scratch the wingtips, and If you are using the original tailpipe, check it after each flight. Also if you have the grey version, donΒ΄t go away too much with it, specially if you are flying in a cloudy day.... you will love the plane.




    Enrique

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    london, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    700
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    thanks for the reply,what is wrong with the original pipe?, , , do you know what the specified c of g setting is..
    thanks

  4. #4
    erbroens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,884
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    The ones I saw where very fragile.. And if it collapses you may end with a problem!

    CG is on the removable fuselage wood bulkhead, with empty tanks.


  5. #5
    KC36330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Enterprise, AL
    Posts
    5,935
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    this is the info i was given by GJC when i got mine........

    1.75" elevator, 1.25" flaps, .75" aileron, 30% expo on everything and the CG 7.0" back from the leading edge.


    my pipe isn't fragil IMO but hunting season has delayed my finishing it up and flying it to see.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    hull, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    630
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    ORIGINAL: erbroens

    The ones I saw where very fragile.. And if it collapses you may end with a problem!
    Really? I've never seen one fail in all the ones I sold and in the case of the F15 people were quite happily running 160's through them. I've seen some poor installations were the turbine wasn't aligned correctly but still not failed. I suspect this is were you've seen a problem?

    Jeff
    Exclusive UK JetLegend Dealer

  7. #7
    erbroens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,884
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info


    ORIGINAL: jeff sewell

    ORIGINAL: erbroens

    The ones I saw where very fragile.. And if it collapses you may end with a problem!
    Really? I've never seen one fail in all the ones I sold and in the case of the F15 people were quite happily running 160's through them. I've seen some poor installations were the turbine wasn't aligned correctly but still not failed. I suspect this is were you've seen a problem?

    Jeff
    Unfortunately this is not the case. The pipe was made of a very thin steel plate, and the solder points where badly executed as the material wonΒ΄t allow the use of the correct current for soldering. (It was possible to pop out by hand the soldering points).

    DonΒ΄t know since when you are selling this stuff, but hope that the tailpipes your are offering now are better than the ones I saw.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    hull, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    630
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    They seem to be a strong point in all the jets I've sold here - never had to replace any due to the welds failing or otherwise.

    I guess some do sneak thro the QC tho!

    Jeff
    Exclusive UK JetLegend Dealer

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UnionvilleOntario, CANADA
    Posts
    102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    I'm setting one of these up. Can anyone recommend receiver placement? This will be my first spektrum 2.4 jet (4 satellites) and I'm trying to avoid trial and error .

    Cheers

  10. #10
    erbroens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,884
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    I already contacted Mr. Yang Zicheng about this issue in 2008.. you may mention this to him, he will remember me.

    Perhaps this is one of the reasons the pipes you are selling now are ok, but always worth to check.







  11. #11
    erbroens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,884
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info


    ORIGINAL: overnout

    I'm setting one of these up. Can anyone recommend receiver placement? This will be my first spektrum 2.4 jet (4 satellites) and I'm trying to avoid trial and error .

    Cheers

    ECU on the lower "tub" in front of the main tank, main receiver under the canopy plate and the satelite glued with velcro tape in the cockpit fuselage side, having the antenas projected in all the three axis. the Fuel pump is in a plate, near the turbine aproximately over the main landing gear wheel when retracted. The UAT or Header Tank is also in the cockpit floor plate so I can easily check if it is full after the flight .

    As usual, a 360 degrees range test with the turbine running counting the fades in the Spektrum data terminal is a good idea. 4 satelites not needed, but they wouldnΒ΄t hurt either. Try to fix them as far as you can from the CF and metal things.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    hull, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    630
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    Absolutely right - it does no harm to check.

    Cheers buddy,

    Jeff
    Exclusive UK JetLegend Dealer

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UnionvilleOntario, CANADA
    Posts
    102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    Thanks erbroens - exactly what I need...Cheers!

  14. #14
    erbroens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,884
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    ORIGINAL: jeff sewell

    Absolutely right - it does no harm to check.

    Cheers buddy,

    Jeff
    Specially if the airplane starts to smoke without a smoke system!


    Overnout: Anytime.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    london, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    700
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    guys
    thanks for the info so far, my f15 has tailerons, what are the settings for these?

    cheers

  16. #16
    erbroens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
    Posts
    3,884
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    see post #2:

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    london, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    700
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    thanks all

  18. #18
    afterburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Moseley, VA
    Posts
    2,570
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info


    ORIGINAL: KC36330

    this is the info i was given by GJC when i got mine........

    1.75'' elevator, 1.25'' flaps, .75'' aileron, 30% expo on everything and the CG 7.0'' back from the leading edge.


    my pipe isn't fragil IMO but hunting season has delayed my finishing it up and flying it to see.
    The JL manual shows CG at the 7" back from the wing but mentions to have the header tank full? Not sure if that is correct. Anyone know?

    Marty
    Marty

    BOialsos

  19. #19
    KC36330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Enterprise, AL
    Posts
    5,935
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    you should always balance with the UAT full.

  20. #20
    afterburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Moseley, VA
    Posts
    2,570
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info


    ORIGINAL: KC36330

    you should always balance with the UAT full.
    I know that the UAT should be full but the way it's written, it almost seems that they mean the main header tank full. The main header on the JL F-15 is a 32oz tank and its about 12" ahead of the CG so it can't be. The only reason I posted is that my F-15 has never landed as slow as I felt it could and I'm in the midst of moving some ballast behind the CG as I believe I've been a bit nose heavy from day one.

    Marty
    Marty

    BOialsos

  21. #21
    KC36330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Enterprise, AL
    Posts
    5,935
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    if you're that far nose heavy you'd have a hard time holding high alpha, how does she do when attempting it??

  22. #22
    afterburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Moseley, VA
    Posts
    2,570
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: jetlegend f15 set up info

    It's able to hold the nose up but when I recently attempted to keep it off the runway till it slowed down more, it dropped out early. Right now I only have the UAT full/gear up and lifting it by the front "removable" former she's nose heavy. I'm going to move the two A123 packs that were in the nose to the engine compartment almost on the CG. Together they weight 13oz. That still gives me a slight nose down attitude when lifting it.

    Marty
    Marty

    BOialsos


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.