Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 17 of 17

  1. #1
    ianober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    4,430
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    I am building a Viper Jet right now and the rudder clamp is a little unclear. Unless I have missed something in the instructions all it says is to slide the fin in and secure with a bolt. Well, I have tried all the bolts that came with the kit and none seem to fit. An M4 bolt is too small and an M5 bolt is too large. I am assuming that one side of the clamp is threaded but it is in too tight of a position for me to tell. Anyone out there have a quick answer?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sq47449.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	1.95 MB 
ID:	1386978   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ql34904.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	1.96 MB 
ID:	1386979   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rw58133.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	1.94 MB 
ID:	1386980  

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
    Posts
    3,116
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp


    ORIGINAL: ianober

    I am building a Viper Jet right now and the rudder clamp is a little unclear. Unless I have missed something in the instructions all it says is to slide the fin in and secure with a bolt. Well, I have tried all the bolts that came with the kit and none seem to fit. An M4 bolt is too small and an M5 bolt is too large. I am assuming that one side of the clamp is threaded but it is in too tight of a position for me to tell. Anyone out there have a quick answer?
    we had the same issue,s on more vipers
    it is chinese thread between imperial and metric.
    the material isa bit soft what most people did was "upgrade"the thread to something bigger and DIY basicly
    In God we trust , the rest we Track \"digitech multirotors\"

  3. #3
    Ali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    4,965
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    Be careful Ian, We just had one delivered to a customer and they had missed the thread out. He removed it and tapped a thread himself.
    Hurry up and get this bad boy finished so that your build time is not one of Presta's excuses for why its not painted in time for Cali jets!
    Regards Al
    Al's Hobbies, Horizon Hobby, Airworld, BVM, Jet Cat, Skymaster, Rc Jet Centre,pull over, Tomahawk, C-ARF, Jet-Teng,Kingtech

  4. #4
    DelGatoGrande's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ATHENS, , GREECE
    Posts
    2,629
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    just use a safety nut with your M4
    Best Regards George
    www.rcjet.gr \"props are for boats\"

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
    Posts
    3,116
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp


    ORIGINAL: DelGatoGrande

    just use a safety nut with your M4
    smart so when attaching the rudder you take out engine and thrust pipe first?
    In God we trust , the rest we Track \"digitech multirotors\"

  6. #6
    DelGatoGrande's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ATHENS, , GREECE
    Posts
    2,629
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    ORIGINAL: digitech


    ORIGINAL: DelGatoGrande

    just use a safety nut with your M4
    smart so when attaching the rudder you take out engine and thrust pipe first?

    i dont take out the fin in any of mine[&o] ..sorry
    Best Regards George
    www.rcjet.gr \"props are for boats\"

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Van Nuys, CA
    Posts
    714
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    What i did is used a 6-32 bolt and locknut. I JB Welded the locknut to the clamp and made a hole under the stab on the side of the fuse so i can remove the tail.
    It's still workeing very well.

  8. #8
    Selleri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Keflavik, ICELAND
    Posts
    1,113
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    Sverrir G. - Icelandic Volcano Yeti

  9. #9
    Jim Cattanach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Larnaca, , CYPRUS
    Posts
    2,051
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    I used a bolt & nut that went through the hole, then drilled a hole each side of the fuz in line with each, so I can get a hex key in one side & a small socket in the other. I no longer take the fin off, as I bought a van to transport my jets.
    JET FLYING:- Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated.

  10. #10
    ianober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    4,430
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    Thanks for the replies guys, I figured I would be scr3wed like that. I guess it shouldn't surprise me. At least I am getting some good info on what NOT to do on my kit.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Heerlen, NETHERLANDS
    Posts
    85
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    I was lucky, everything was OK and i had a screw in the kit.
    As i already wrote in the other thread "Another Skymaster Viperjet", i just drilled a very small hole at the end
    of the screw and then i twisted a thin iron wire in it, so once the screw is in the hole, you are able to tighten/loosen it, but it can't fall out anymore.

    Regards Ron
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ay75655.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	219.8 KB 
ID:	1387162  

  12. #12
    ianober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    4,430
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    Looks like yours is a newer clamp Ron.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Heerlen, NETHERLANDS
    Posts
    85
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    i got my Viperjet last year october.

    Regards Ron

  14. #14
    ianober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    4,430
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    Yep, yours is definitely newer than this one. Anyways thanks guys, shame on me for thinking that something so simple should just work.

  15. #15
    Alex48's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,531
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    Id never rely on a bolt alone, the locking wire is a good idea. I'd put a temperature resistant aeronut on the bolt for added security.


  16. #16
    Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Coventry, Warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,310
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    That wouldn't work for this application Alex as most have the rudder post removable for transport. With no vibration on a jet, a bolt is sufficent for those that remove the rudder for each days flying.

    I had the same clamp and bolt as Ron and did the same mod, although mine has an aluminium bar for the front location pin, which I tapped and drilled for extra security, which is how all of the Vipers Ali has had have been done.


    Duncan
    Aero-creative - Vinyl Design & Application
    www.aero-creative.com

  17. #17
    Alex48's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    , UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,531
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

    Ahhhh fair enough, I keep the fins on for transport. My middle name is 'over engineered' anyhow............Still recovering from Ali's request to have his wings held on with M4 wing nuts................

    Did you ever finish your Viper? The thread on the other forums gone a bit quiet.

    Cheers, Alex


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.