RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

Reply
Old 02-26-2010, 03:20 AM
  #1
ianober
Thread Starter
 
ianober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 4,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

I am building a Viper Jet right now and the rudder clamp is a little unclear. Unless I have missed something in the instructions all it says is to slide the fin in and secure with a bolt. Well, I have tried all the bolts that came with the kit and none seem to fit. An M4 bolt is too small and an M5 bolt is too large. I am assuming that one side of the clamp is threaded but it is in too tight of a position for me to tell. Anyone out there have a quick answer?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sq47449.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	1.95 MB
ID:	1386978   Click image for larger version

Name:	ql34904.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	1.96 MB
ID:	1386979   Click image for larger version

Name:	rw58133.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	1.94 MB
ID:	1386980  
ianober is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 03:50 AM
  #2
digitech
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ianober

I am building a Viper Jet right now and the rudder clamp is a little unclear. Unless I have missed something in the instructions all it says is to slide the fin in and secure with a bolt. Well, I have tried all the bolts that came with the kit and none seem to fit. An M4 bolt is too small and an M5 bolt is too large. I am assuming that one side of the clamp is threaded but it is in too tight of a position for me to tell. Anyone out there have a quick answer?
we had the same issue,s on more vipers
it is chinese thread between imperial and metric.
the material isa bit soft what most people did was "upgrade"the thread to something bigger and DIY basicly
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 03:51 AM
  #3
Ali
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northamptonshire , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,975
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

Be careful Ian, We just had one delivered to a customer and they had missed the thread out. He removed it and tapped a thread himself.
Hurry up and get this bad boy finished so that your build time is not one of Presta's excuses for why its not painted in time for Cali jets!
Regards Al
Ali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 04:03 AM
  #4
DelGatoGrande
 
DelGatoGrande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ATHENS, , GREECE
Posts: 2,807
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

just use a safety nut with your M4
DelGatoGrande is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 04:22 AM
  #5
digitech
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DelGatoGrande

just use a safety nut with your M4
smart so when attaching the rudder you take out engine and thrust pipe first?
digitech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 06:24 AM
  #6
DelGatoGrande
 
DelGatoGrande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ATHENS, , GREECE
Posts: 2,807
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

Quote:
ORIGINAL: digitech


Quote:
ORIGINAL: DelGatoGrande

just use a safety nut with your M4
smart so when attaching the rudder you take out engine and thrust pipe first?

i dont take out the fin in any of mine[&o] ..sorry
DelGatoGrande is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 07:38 AM
  #7
RCI/Skymaster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 714
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

What i did is used a 6-32 bolt and locknut. I JB Welded the locknut to the clamp and made a hole under the stab on the side of the fuse so i can remove the tail.
It's still workeing very well.
RCI/Skymaster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 09:33 AM
  #8
Selleri
 
Selleri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Keflavik, ICELAND
Posts: 1,116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

Ian see > [link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=9493545]http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=9493545[/link]
Selleri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 12:02 PM
  #9
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

I used a bolt & nut that went through the hole, then drilled a hole each side of the fuz in line with each, so I can get a hex key in one side & a small socket in the other. I no longer take the fin off, as I bought a van to transport my jets.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 12:19 PM
  #10
ianober
Thread Starter
 
ianober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 4,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

Thanks for the replies guys, I figured I would be scr3wed like that. I guess it shouldn't surprise me. At least I am getting some good info on what NOT to do on my kit.
ianober is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 12:34 PM
  #11
Ron v U
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Heerlen, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 85
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

I was lucky, everything was OK and i had a screw in the kit.
As i already wrote in the other thread "Another Skymaster Viperjet", i just drilled a very small hole at the end
of the screw and then i twisted a thin iron wire in it, so once the screw is in the hole, you are able to tighten/loosen it, but it can't fall out anymore.

Regards Ron
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75655.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	219.8 KB
ID:	1387162  
Ron v U is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 12:57 PM
  #12
ianober
Thread Starter
 
ianober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 4,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

Looks like yours is a newer clamp Ron.
ianober is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 01:03 PM
  #13
Ron v U
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Heerlen, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 85
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

i got my Viperjet last year october.

Regards Ron
Ron v U is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 01:22 PM
  #14
ianober
Thread Starter
 
ianober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 4,453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

Yep, yours is definitely newer than this one. Anyways thanks guys, shame on me for thinking that something so simple should just work.
ianober is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 01:41 PM
  #15
Alex48
 
Alex48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,729
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

Id never rely on a bolt alone, the locking wire is a good idea. I'd put a temperature resistant aeronut on the bolt for added security.

Alex48 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 03:26 PM
  #16
Duncan
 
Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Coventry, Warwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

That wouldn't work for this application Alex as most have the rudder post removable for transport. With no vibration on a jet, a bolt is sufficent for those that remove the rudder for each days flying.

I had the same clamp and bolt as Ron and did the same mod, although mine has an aluminium bar for the front location pin, which I tapped and drilled for extra security, which is how all of the Vipers Ali has had have been done.


Duncan
Duncan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:25 PM
  #17
Alex48
 
Alex48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,729
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: SM Viper Jet Rudder Clamp

Ahhhh fair enough, I keep the fins on for transport. My middle name is 'over engineered' anyhow............Still recovering from Ali's request to have his wings held on with M4 wing nuts................

Did you ever finish your Viper? The thread on the other forums gone a bit quiet.

Cheers, Alex
Alex48 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:44 PM.