RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Kolibri fuel ramp

Reply

Old 08-20-2010, 01:50 PM
  #1  
carl.huxford125
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
carl.huxford125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Kolibri fuel ramp

i am having a problem with my kolibri, on start up the gas ignites, the turbine spools up to around 40k rpm and and the GSU reads 'FUELRAMP' but no fuel is being pumped, it then just stays at 40k, What RPM is the fuel pump supposed to start pumping.

The turbine has just come back from Martin Lambert so i am assuming the ecu settings are correct

Thanks for any help

carl.huxford125 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:13 PM
  #2  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 10,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kolibri fuel ramp

Carl

It's common for the pumps to stick...tiny gears and low motor voltages giving it a kick.
Jump it across a 2v starting battery or partly flat 4 cell Nicad Rx pack...

Dave Wilshere
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:23 PM
  #3  
carl.huxford125
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
carl.huxford125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kolibri fuel ramp

Hi Dave,

i have already done this, the pump runs fine

I have just had another go, it runs to 41k on the starter and gas and stays like that for about 30 to 40 seconds and then finally starts to pump fuel, it then continues to idle as normal.

Carl
carl.huxford125 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:29 PM
  #4  
siclick33
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: York, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,702
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kolibri fuel ramp

Carl,

I have a very similar problem with mine. As I may have mentioned I couldn't get it to run properly at all in the model it was in so I've removed it for further testing. I did get a couple of reasonable starts but it wasn't consistent.

I can't rule out fuel supply problems (Which is why I'm starting again from scratch) but my inkling is that it is an ECU setting problem. What is your pump ramp set at? Mine was a number so I've changed it back to an Auto setting which seems to have helped a bit. If I sort mine out I'll let you know what I came up with.
siclick33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:45 PM
  #5  
carl.huxford125
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
carl.huxford125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kolibri fuel ramp

Hi Darren

My start ramp is set to 008, I am also pretty sure it is not a fuel problem, first i thought it was the felt clunk i was using so changed that to a BVM one, then i bypassed the fuel valve, i have gone over the fuel system looking for anything that might be causing a restriction, nothing seems to make much of a difference,

Carl

carl.huxford125 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:49 PM
  #6  
Robrow
Senior Member
 
Robrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southport, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,718
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kolibri fuel ramp

Sounds like the pump start voltage is a little low.

Rob.
Robrow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:50 PM
  #7  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 10,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kolibri fuel ramp

My T-32 is so early figures are probably way off.

D
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 02:50 PM
  #8  
siclick33
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: York, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,702
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kolibri fuel ramp

I would try one of the Auto+ settings for the ramp (I think the gentlest one is Auto+0) and see if that helps. It certainly won't do any harm and you can always set it back to 008 if required. Mine also seemed to much prefer being started the right way up but this may just have been a fluke.
siclick33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 12:19 AM
  #9  
tow
 
tow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Namsostrondelag, NORWAY
Posts: 440
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Anybody sorted this out???? I have exact the same problem with a T-25, Init. starting sequence but never gets off the ramping. What fuel/oil are people using for this little things? Any help/input is appriciated
tow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 03:18 AM
  #10  
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

what is the gas temp?
just check that first
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 03:55 AM
  #11  
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

and if the gas temp is higher then 100 deg ,and the fuelramp starts ,then check the pw
if it go up very slowly , then raize the ramping
but if it go to 200 or higher very quickly , then its a sticky pump
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 07:06 AM
  #12  
tow
 
tow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Namsostrondelag, NORWAY
Posts: 440
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by frema View Post
and if the gas temp is higher then 100 deg ,and the fuelramp starts ,then check the pw
if it go up very slowly , then raize the ramping
but if it go to 200 or higher very quickly , then its a sticky pump
What do you mean by gas temp? The PW seems to rise very slowly stays round 154 or so. The revs ends around 50k so it never really starts at all. I can get the exact figures if that helps- Thnx for replying
tow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 07:14 AM
  #13  
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

yesb but then its realy the pump because at 154 pw , the engine should start already
with gas temp , i ment gas egt for igniting the propain gas
i had engines here for service , and when i want to ignite ,and start on ,then the gas egt dropped under the 100 deg
and the engine went from feulramp to ready agian
but i this case , i realy think its the pump
i know with my engines the engine already runs at idle at 120pw
so it should be with yours too
regards,
martin.
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 07:27 AM
  #14  
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

oh i just checked
my engine runs at idle (100k) at 77 pw
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 07:43 AM
  #15  
tow
 
tow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Namsostrondelag, NORWAY
Posts: 440
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by frema View Post
yesb but then its realy the pump because at 154 pw , the engine should start already
with gas temp , i ment gas egt for igniting the propain gas
i had engines here for service , and when i want to ignite ,and start on ,then the gas egt dropped under the 100 deg
and the engine went from feulramp to ready agian
but i this case , i realy think its the pump
i know with my engines the engine already runs at idle at 120pw
so it should be with yours too
regards,
martin.
Thank You. I also initially suspected it to be a pump-error, seems like the pump is running too low? I`ve tried everything - checking fuel-systems, changed fuel, filters,valves, adjusted parameters on the ECU you name it! What happens is, the engine ignites fine on gas, then starts "fuel ramp" up to 50-55k and stays there. The temp rises high, so in fear of damaging anything I shut the turbine down. On One or two attempts I got it up to normal idle, but when increasing throttle, the eng. dies and I get a "flame out" message on the GSU. Where do I get a new pump for this tiny little beast?
tow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:56 AM
  #16  
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

well you can contact Martin Lambert
also i thought that xicoy has a very nice pump for it
i run with the jetjoe junior pumps
no problem at all
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 10:08 AM
  #17  
tow
 
tow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Namsostrondelag, NORWAY
Posts: 440
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by frema View Post
well you can contact Martin Lambert
also i thought that xicoy has a very nice pump for it
i run with the jetjoe junior pumps
no problem at all
M.Lambert is not the easiest person to get in contact with.... Could you give an adress for the xicoy or JJ pumps, maybe shoot me a PM?
I really appriciate any help.
Thnx :-)
tow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 12:06 PM
  #18  
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

yes i know , ok i will help
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 12:09 PM
  #19  
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

http://www.xicoy.com/catalog/product...roducts_id=239
this is a very good pump
Gaspar is back from 17 september
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 12:17 PM
  #20  
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

ohh now i have to ask you something
did you realy checked the valves
i know from experiance that the valves can be a real pain
they seems to be working ,but they let only half of the feul trough
maybe you can try a start without the valve
i can recomment you this pump , but maybe its no use if the valve block is not good
let me know ok?
Kind regards
Martin.
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 01:27 PM
  #21  
tow
 
tow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Namsostrondelag, NORWAY
Posts: 440
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by frema View Post
ohh now i have to ask you something
did you realy checked the valves
i know from experiance that the valves can be a real pain
they seems to be working ,but they let only half of the feul trough
maybe you can try a start without the valve
i can recomment you this pump , but maybe its no use if the valve block is not good
let me know ok?
Kind regards
Martin.
Thanks for the adress. Yes,I have tried running without the fuel-valve. No different, so the solenoid-valves are not the culpit. I thought of testing with a pump from one of my larger turbines (not for use with the kolibri - just testing) will that be OK or will I harm the engine?
tow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 01:31 PM
  #22  
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

what kind of pump is it?
if it is a flightworks 200 , or similar then i think you could try it
but if its a pump from a 80N engine , then dont do it
then the engine will get to much feul
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 01:50 PM
  #23  
Henke Torphammar
 
Henke Torphammar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ljungby, SWEDEN
Posts: 1,941
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by tow View Post
What do you mean by gas temp? The PW seems to rise very slowly stays round 154 or so. The revs ends around 50k so it never really starts at all. I can get the exact figures if that helps- Thnx for replying
Sounds like it's only running on gas. Check the fuel filter, they sometimes jam if you get the little filter inside in the wrong position. Also the valves and finally double check so that you are feeding the fuel to the fuelport and no the gas port ;-)

You can also try the pump by unplugging the fuel tube from the engine and running the primeing command by giveing full throttle for 5sec, fuel should some out then.

The fuelramp starts on 100(I think) and slowly advances until idle which usually is between 150 and 190 on this engines. Starter goes out at about 50000rpm
Henke Torphammar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 01:57 PM
  #24  
tow
 
tow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Namsostrondelag, NORWAY
Posts: 440
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by frema View Post
what kind of pump is it?
if it is a flightworks 200 , or similar then i think you could try it
but if its a pump from a 80N engine , then dont do it
then the engine will get to much feul
Oh Yes it`s for a 80. Better not try it then....
tow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 02:00 PM
  #25  
frema
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sint-maartensdijk, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

not a good idea hahahaa
better wait , or ,maybe you can try and clean the pump.
Maybe that will also work
Kind regards,
martin.
frema is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service