RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Jets (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/)
-   -   New CGRCjets super scale A-10 (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/11046459-new-cgrcjets-super-scale-10-a.html)

cgrcjet 04-17-2012 05:28 PM

New CGRCjets super scale A-10

Ok, here we go again! I have decided to remold my 1/9 scale A-10 warthog kit and add a few bits to it. I will be posting here what i have learned over my past kit, machining, plug making etc. to help those in need of any insite on the process. I have endured much trial and error, as i am self taught. Some may do the process differently and have better suggestions. This is how i do it. Hope it helps.

Chris

cgrcjet 04-17-2012 05:41 PM

RE: New CGRCjets super scale A-10

First off, here are some new additives for ver. 2

Initially i was going to update the same airframe with better detail, but thinking of all the things i can make better, i decided to start from the ground up.

1- 3 piece wing for easier transport
2- decelerons
3- true fowler flaps
4- one piece elevator
5- all panels/panel lines, raised and flush rivets
6- removable front canopy
7- more accurate airframe
8- scale cast struts

If i forgot anything, i will add it here. If anyone has any other great suggestions , i will take that into note as well.

thanks
chris

cgrcjet 04-17-2012 05:53 PM

1 Attachment(s)
First set of business on the list was some 3d scanning, with my structured light 3d scanner. I see quite a bit of model makers working off smaller scale hobby models to get there measurments to duplicate it in a larger scale. The model i used was an older monogram version of the a-10 which was the most accurate one i could find but i decided to take a short cut by scanning and bringing it into cad for editing and then to the machine.

Chris

Ron101 04-17-2012 06:13 PM

Wow, your first version is so nice.... good to see you are pushing it even further!