RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Jets (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/)
-   -   Fuel line tie wire? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/11229773-fuel-line-tie-wire.html)

Jonboy2 09-16-2012 12:01 AM

Fuel line tie wire?

Finishing up a Falcon 120 and I read somewhere that it is good practice to tie off your fuel line connections with metal wire so they don't come loose. Just wondering what most guys are using as far as good tie wire? I have some thin gauge wire but when I tie it off with a few good twists, the stuff just breaks. What works for you guys? Thanks Jon

Boomerang1 09-16-2012 12:21 AM

RE: Fuel line tie wire?

I'm an electrician & have wire scraps around.
I just strip some 7 strand wire (7/050 wire being 7 strands of .5mm copper wire)
& use one strand of that.

Or use a stripped strand of 8 core data cable. - John.

lookilook 09-16-2012 01:56 AM

1 Attachment(s)
i am using stainless steel locking wire used on aircrafts, i also bought the plier for it on ebay.

smchale 09-16-2012 02:32 AM

http://shopbvmjets.com/zencart/index...products_id=91

Dr Honda 09-16-2012 03:22 AM

I also use stainless safety wire. I will update with the size later.

********Edit*****

My spool is 0.030". It works, but it's a little thick. I'd recommend something thinner. 0.020" would be better.

Square Nozzle 09-16-2012 03:53 AM

.015 soft stainless steel wire from McMaster Carr and twisting pliers from Harbor Freight.

aquaskiman 09-16-2012 04:06 AM

Dreamworks also sells it and pliers

bcovish 09-16-2012 04:41 AM

http://dreamworksrc.com/catalog/safety-wire-p-455.html
http://dreamworksrc.com/catalog/safe...ers-p-458.html

BaldEagel 09-16-2012 07:11 AM

Don't forget to barb the fuel tube and tie behind that, I solder a bit of paper clip onto the fuel tube and file it smooth after soldering and tie behind that.

Mike

Eddie P 09-16-2012 07:55 AM

ORIGINAL: BaldEagel