Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

MGT 4.6 used good price or not

Old 12-12-2010, 04:05 PM
davestercrombie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MGT 4.6 used good price or not

Guys I need some help. I'm new to this nitro world and christmas is appraching fast. Iwas wondering is 180 is a good price for a MGT4.6 nitro truck that is about 2 years old. I have been told the thing is in great shape only maybe used 20 times or so,

Let me know what you guys think. Also If you know a better deal for a beginner please let me know. Iam looking at this for my 13 year old son.

Thanks

Old 12-12-2010, 06:31 PM
Mclovin350z

Default RE: MGT 4.6 used good price or not

Whenever you look at a used nitro truck you MUST assume the engine is junk. The only exceptions are if looking / watching it runin person or if the listing says brand new never ran engine. With that being said I would consider the condition of the entire truck minus engine and pay what you think it's worthWITHOUT an engine. You didn't specify if it was something you can examine in person or not, so if it's on ebay or craigslist etc please consider my advice. There are too many people trying to rip you off on ebay / craigslist etc. They all say stuff like "getting out of the hobby" or "only ran half a gallon" etc. It's almost always a load of crap. If you buy a used nitro anything be prepared to buy an engine. You must also consider what mechanical skills the previous owner had or didn't have. You may end up with a nice truck that is poorly built / rebuilt and has many stripped out threads. You may want to research on associated's website and determine exactly what truck you are looking at and look into a new in box one. Sometimes you can stumble on older model stuff that's unopened for a greatprice. Hope this helps, I'd hate to see your kid end up with a junker.
Old 12-12-2010, 07:20 PM
davestercrombie