Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Monster Trucks
Reload this Page >

Choosing a brushless motor for redcat volcano epx

Community
Search
Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

Choosing a brushless motor for redcat volcano epx

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2017, 10:53 PM
Tdedwar2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choosing a brushless motor for redcat volcano epx

So I am fairly new to the electric rc world and have a quick question about brushless motor and esc combos. I own a 1/10 scale redcat volcano exp brushed and want to upgrade the motor and esc to brushless. I use this truck to bash in my back yard with my son and would like a little more speed out of my 2s lipos and the option for 3s.

So what brand as well as kv rating would you recommend that would direct fit into my truck. I would like something waterproof not too worried about price but want something efficient (no heat issues). Thanks for any help!
Old 01-01-2018, 05:40 PM
Tdedwar2

Ok some people have looked at this but can anyone help me out?
Old 01-02-2018, 02:50 AM
RustyUs

Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

Check out a Hobbywing WP 60A QUICRUN-WP-10BL60 for an ESC. For a motor going in a 4wd monster truck, I'd recommend a 550/3656 size motor, somewhere between 3300~3800Kv.
Old 01-02-2018, 08:36 AM
Tdedwar2

Originally Posted by RustyUs
Check out a Hobbywing WP 60A QUICRUN-WP-10BL60 for an ESC. For a motor going in a 4wd monster truck, I'd recommend a 550/3656 size motor, somewhere between 3300~3800Kv.
Thank you RustyUs for taking the time to help me. Will my stock pinion and spur gearing work for this high of a kv or do I need to re-gear for temps?
Old 01-02-2018, 05:15 PM
RustyUs

Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts