RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Reply

Old 01-15-2004, 02:23 PM
  #1  
STREETKING
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

I was wanting to know will a roto start fit a cen mt2, and could you please tell me what all engines(trucks) it will fit, because I can't stand the pull start method! Thanks.
STREETKING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 02:31 PM
  #2  
mecky33
Senior Member
 
mecky33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

I don't know about a roto start, but you can buy a starter box and it will work with that. And really the pullstart is incredibly reliable. I have gotten kind of frustrated with mine, but you can't beat the portability of it. Also if I remember, you can fit a .18 right in, and a .21 with a different set of engine mounts available from www.newera.com
mecky33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 02:33 PM
  #3  
STREETKING
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

What kind of starter box do oyu have??
STREETKING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 02:43 PM
  #4  
Nitro7-inactive
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ratwood, KS
Posts: 391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

a rotostart should work with the onewaybearing for a savage i have one that i baught that wont work without it on my truck and i decided not to mess with it pm me if your interested
Nitro7-inactive is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 02:46 PM
  #5  
mecky33
Senior Member
 
mecky33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

I personally use the pull start and as I said in my email to you i don't have a problem with it. I know there are a few people on here with starter boxes but cant remember who off the top of my head.
mecky33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 02:51 PM
  #6  
STREETKING
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Dan, i went to the Cenracing site, but where is the best place to get an mt2 for? Here in North Carolina, the hobbyshop prices are so inflated that it dosen't make any sense!
STREETKING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 02:53 PM
  #7  
Nitro7-inactive
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ratwood, KS
Posts: 391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

ehobbies is good www.ehobbies.com
Nitro7-inactive is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 03:00 PM
  #8  
STREETKING
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Ehobbies is out of stock. Anywhere else you know of?? Oh, and thanks for your replies.
STREETKING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 03:01 PM
  #9  
mecky33
Senior Member
 
mecky33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Well, if you have a nitro starter kit www.ehobbies.com would be the best place. If you need a nitro starter kit you could buy one on ebay. there are numerous companies selling new MT2s with starter kits and some even come with a failsafe. the average buy it now on ebay is 300 bucks, so don't pay more than that. www.toyhaus.com also has cen products, but they are a bit more expensive than ehobbies. Also, ehobbies is the best place to buy parts, they are much cheaper than anyone else. If you get stumpe and need a part but cant find it, toyhaus has an interactive blown up parts diagram. IF you have more questions let me know.
mecky33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 05:43 PM
  #10  
Element
Senior Member
 
Element's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

I bought a 1/8th scale universal starter box from toyhaus.com The owner(Steve I believe thats his name).I havent put ti together yet Ill let you know how it goes.

mecky33-did you use tmaxx Integy shocks? I'm going to buy some for my MT2 but not shure if i should get tmaxx or savage shocks.I like the height on yours though.
Element is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 05:55 PM
  #11  
mecky33
Senior Member
 
mecky33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

I am almost positive they are the T-maxx shocks. The savage shocks are to long. I bought the truck with the shocks on it so I am not positive. If you wait a few days, I ordered some new shafts cause I bent one. I can tell you if they are right.
mecky33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 09:31 PM
  #12  
STREETKING
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Can you change the bodies and rims without doing any major work, or do you need some different hex hubs?? Will the rims and tires that fir the t-maxx fit this truck?? Oh, and I'd like to put some paddle tires on it. Would I be able to do this right out of the box, or would I need something else(such as a different size hex) to make the change?
STREETKING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 10:17 PM
  #13  
nitromacguyver
Senior Member
 
nitromacguyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Plymouth, MA
Posts: 829
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

i dont think that a rotostart would fit the MT2 because of the engines orientation on the chassis. the roto start needs to go into the end in line with the crank shaft and the front upper deck is in the way of that.
nitromacguyver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 10:45 PM
  #14  
Sweetshoes90210
Senior Member
 
Sweetshoes90210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: longmeadow, MA
Posts: 510
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Now that I have looked over my MT-2, I noticed that you just might be able to fit a roto start. But on the otherhand, nitromacguyver is correct.


Thats my 0 cents
Sweetshoes90210 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 10:49 PM
  #15  
Sweetshoes90210
Senior Member
 
Sweetshoes90210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: longmeadow, MA
Posts: 510
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Hey elemt, I thought you put your envader shocks on it (i think that whas the car). They sould do. Once I get enough money to start a project, I will. I have about 600 saved up just for the truck.

If you guys wanna sugest some hop-ups for it then I will take it into consiteration.

My lhs dealer is a ****hole. I ordered a new servo with 85 oz. of tourq about two weeks ago and I'm still waiting. So now I havent been able to use my truck.
Sweetshoes90210 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 11:41 PM
  #16  
PCDEC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Dude if it's not in stock at the LHS order it online yourself. Every time I've ordered from my LHS it has taken forever.
PCDEC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 06:41 AM
  #17  
Element
Senior Member
 
Element's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Sweetshoes90210-I did but I put them back on my evader im not going to junk up one of ym cars for another.Plus the Integy shocks look better

STREETKING-Renagade makes a converter so you can use off set tmaxx rims.But the stock rims are 2.2 so you could use masher2000s on it too.


mecky33-ok ill wait thanks
Element is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 10:45 AM
  #18  
mecky33
Senior Member
 
mecky33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Tony, cancel your order through your LHS for that servo and get the futaba that I sent you the link to forever ago. Its the same torque servo, and its only 35 bucks.

Element, bad news. I won't get those shock shafts till next week. it took them four days to ship my order. So, if you can wait that long I will let you know if they are the right size. If not, email or call integy and ask them if the T-maxx shocks are the right size. I want to say they are, but I don't want you to buy them and end up with the wrong thing.
mecky33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 04:38 PM
  #19  
Element
Senior Member
 
Element's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

ORIGINAL: mecky33

Tony, cancel your order through your LHS for that servo and get the futaba that I sent you the link to forever ago. Its the same torque servo, and its only 35 bucks.

Element, bad news. I won't get those shock shafts till next week. it took them four days to ship my order. So, if you can wait that long I will let you know if they are the right size. If not, email or call integy and ask them if the T-maxx shocks are the right size. I want to say they are, but I don't want you to buy them and end up with the wrong thing.
Ok thanks for all you help mecky I just want to maxx out my height so it will actually look like a monster truck.Again thank you for your help
Element is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 07:50 PM
  #20  
mecky33
Senior Member
 
mecky33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Element, I just got my shock shafts, they are the T-maxx shocks. I would email integy and tell them you need shocks for the MT2. They should be able to hook you up.
mecky33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 01:33 PM
  #21  
378
My Feedback: (4)
 
378's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 2,829
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

unless u put a hole in the fuel tank or diff case u ain't using a rotostart unless u can snake it around the tuned pipe/go 4 stroke and screw the tuned pipe
378 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 04:44 PM
  #22  
Element
Senior Member
 
Element's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

ORIGINAL: mecky33

Element, I just got my shock shafts, they are the T-maxx shocks. I would email integy and tell them you need shocks for the MT2. They should be able to hook you up.
Ok thanks dose it max out the suspension on your truck?
Integy sells there shocks singles should i email them still?Do they give a discount on 4 or something?Thanks again
Element is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 05:30 PM
  #23  
378
My Feedback: (4)
 
378's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 2,829
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

yeah id like more ground clearance and have noticed by disconnecting the shocks(still stock btw)the suspension goes down a bunch i need more ground clearance i do mud/snow/puddle/grass bogging and want more ground clearance so i dont get stuck as much the most annoying thing that happens while im mud bogging is high centering because the tires have their own weight on them and are throwing mud/snow/water/grass clippins i hate that i bash and only bash


to answer the qeustion at hand rotostart might work if 3 things are done
[ul][*] remove the tuned pipe[*] cut header halfway and using long silicone tubing duplicate the length u removed and hang the tuned pipe out the back[*] go 4stroke and remove the need for a tuned pipe alltogether
[/ul]
378 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 05:37 PM
  #24  
mecky33
Senior Member
 
mecky33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

Tony, yes it does max the suspension. If you get shorter or softer springs it will sit closer to stock with the threads all the way up. Then you can adjust it down to suit your taste. As far as a deal on four, they may or may not. You don't have to email them, but it couldn't hurt.

378, go for the integy shocks, hey will give you way more ground clearance. Look in my gallery, there are pics of my MT2 with the integy shocks on it. Also, I am curious if there is some meaning behind your name?
mecky33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 08:03 PM
  #25  
378
My Feedback: (4)
 
378's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 2,829
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WILL A ROTOSTART FIT A CEN MT2?

acually yes there is meaning to my screen name i am a 13 yr old kid who wants to be a trucker later and the 3 numbers i use say what rig i want and my college fund is goin tords the down payment on the thing and ill still be buying used 20k used 90-140(mine will be a top of the line 600hp model if i have any say in it 140k)new


as for the shocks how much of an increase will i notice with them and how much for a full set with oil and springs that will bottom out be4 the failure point on the a arms since ill be staying plastic there and will the stock much longer than the stock shocks springs fit the integy springs i take it they are aluminum bodies and threaded
378 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service