Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

I need an engine expert

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2004, 03:03 PM
Superscott

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need an engine expert

Ok I need some help from an expert. My wife has an Thunder quake that I bought her for christmas. It has a Torq .21 engine in it. Since I am a noob, when I started it for the first time like a dumb A&$ I did not do a radio check. I mean come on, RTR means I should just take it out of the box fuel, batt, GO! Well because I did not do the radio check the servo for the throttle was wide open when it started. If I did not grab the truck it would have gotten away. *** is this some kind of joke from the factory? Anyway I broke in the motor after the incedent, the way the manual said. So now the motor constantly overheats no matter how rich the motor is. I canot drive for more than 5min before the engine shuts down. I am running 10% fuel and a silver glow plug (hot like an O.S. #8 i think). I was wondering if I change the glow plug to a cooler one and got 20% nitro would this fix my problem?. I have e-mailed duratrax and they said that it may overheat because the piston and sleve is damaged. How can this make it overheat, wouldn't that make it lose compression and not cause overheating. Well does anyone think that changing nitro percentages, and a cooler glow plug fix this problem? I really don't want to shell out 50 dollars for a new piston and sleeve. My wife has had this truck for three months and not really gotten to play with it. BTW all this happens with the body off so its not airflow problems. Gets a nice smoke trail at full throttle! I don't know, I am about ready to scrape the TORQ and get a XTM 24.7 with a roto start because pullstart sux!!![>:]
Old 03-27-2004, 03:09 PM
bill61

Default RE: I need an engine expert