RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

Reply

Old 05-23-2004, 06:44 PM
  #1  
bonified5
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: chadds ford, PA,
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

Hi, I was driving my mt2 today and my throttle/brake servo stopped working. It only works when I help it move with my finger. After that, it just stops working. My steering servo works fine. Its not the batterys and all the connections are fine. I am thinking of getting a new radio system and servos. What is an affordable radio, preferably with a servo or 2 that comes with it, to get for it. If it doesnt come with the servos, which ones should I get. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
bonified5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 09:20 PM
  #2  
normanski
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Hong Kong, HONG KONG
Posts: 278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

Have you tried the Throttle Servo in the Steering Servo Slot? That should tell you if the Throttle Servo is done for! Then if you plug the steering servo into the throttle slot on the receiver, you should tell know if the receiver is working!

I know most people change out their stock CEN radio set right from the start. I would go with a Futaba!
normanski is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 03:33 PM
  #3  
bonified5
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: chadds ford, PA,
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

Good idea.....I will try it. I plan on getting a new radio in the future or now anyway because it sucks. Will traxxas servos fit in the receiver, cause if its the servo that is broke, i'll replace it with one I have laying around for now.
bonified5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 05:49 PM
  #4  
bonified5
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: chadds ford, PA,
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

The traxxas servo did fit and I will use that for a while. The servo was broken. I am gonna get a new radio soon. Which one would u reccommend?
[link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXENN0**&P=0]futaba[/link]
or
[link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXEDP1**&P=0]this futaba[/link]
or
[link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXCXM5**&P=0]hitec[/link]
bonified5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 01:58 PM
  #5  
mecky33
Senior Member
 
mecky33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

bonified5, You may want to talk to Cen about replacing your reciever for you. I had the same problem with my truck and it was a problem with the reciever not being able to handle two high torque servoes running on it.
mecky33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 04:38 PM
  #6  
bonified5
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: chadds ford, PA,
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

Im just gonna order [link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXEDP1**&P=0]this[/link] futaba radio.
bonified5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2004, 09:48 PM
  #7  
nitromacguyver
Senior Member
 
nitromacguyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Plymouth, MA
Posts: 829
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

that radio is the better choice of the two because it has the high torque steering servo but if i were you i would also order the s3305 servo. it goes for about 35 dollars through tower and it super powerful and has metal gears so it wont ever break. i know you may not be able to afford it but if you can it can hurt to get it. just a thought.
nitromacguyver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 06:38 AM
  #8  
Element
Senior Member
 
Element's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

I would recomend gettign a metal gear servo with that speed of the mt2 and the some tiems harsh braking it can do alot of damage ona nylon geared servo. I have hitech HS-645MGs for my steerign and throttle and I ahve never had a problem since[&:]

Also I recomend a FM radio if you going to upgrade it only about $20 more and well worth the cost
Element is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 02:07 PM
  #9  
bonified5
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: chadds ford, PA,
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

Why is FM so much better. And element, im not sure i get what your sayin.
bonified5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 06:32 PM
  #10  
Element
Senior Member
 
Element's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

what I'm saying is it is better to invest in nice durable servos instead of getting another nylon/plastic geared servo.When my throttle servo went dead I bought a cheap $10 servo thinking it would do the job I could not have been more wrong and wish I would have saved that $10 and invested in a nice high performance servo in the first place.
Element is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 10:36 PM
  #11  
bonified5
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: chadds ford, PA,
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

o ok. You dont think the futaba servo's im getting will be good enough? O well, if they break, ill get better ones.
bonified5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 11:31 PM
  #12  
rdmonster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pittsboro, IN
Posts: 192
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

I would like to reccomend the hitec aggressor.Its an fm radio with dual rate steering and seperate throttle and steering end point adjustments.Its not huge on features but for 80 bucks you can get a nice radio.It also has a jack for rechargeables.It comes with servos but costs more so I opted for a hitec hs5645 digital ultratorque.168 in/oz of torque for about 60 bucks.Seems pricey but it is an awesome servo that is waterproof and has all the goodies.You can even program it for digital radios if your pockets are deep enough for that kind of gear.I was amazed by the response and range I got when I switched to an fm setup.
rdmonster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 12:38 PM
  #13  
bonified5
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: chadds ford, PA,
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with my mt2 servo and radio!!!!!

I already ordered my futaba and i only spent 63 with all the servos and stuff. I wanted to spend the least amount possible.
bonified5 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service