Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

Help Newbie!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2002, 04:54 PM
SH ByA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help Newbie!!!

I just bought a Savage 21, and after breaking in the engin I find that its not shifting into second gear at all. I am new to the nitro truck arena and need help on the how to adjust the transmission.

I was also wanting to know if there are any sites or anything that can help in tuning the engine. I dont know if i'm doing it right or not. it might be the weather but i have been having probs getting the motor to run smothly. it happens every now and then. I have run a whole tank of fuel through it and it will run great, but then the next time it wont run the same. I'm using a hotter glow plug for breakin, and traxxas 20% fuel.

Can anyone help??? Any help will be much appreciated. thanks.
Old 12-03-2002, 08:38 PM
DFF

Default Help Newbie!!!

Don't want to be a rude frenchman, but:

1- Find your Savage manual
2- Open it page 17
3- Get the provided allen key
4- remove the rubber parts that cover the hole on the side of tranny
5- Move the spur gear with one hand in order to see the shinny part through the hole
6- With your second hand, turn the brake disc until you see the SECOND set screw
7- Adjust the shifting screw as per manual

Be carefull, the adjusting screw isn't the one with a cross mark, read manual carefully

I would higly recommend to get some red loctite and put some on top of the second set screw (cross mark on manual) and tighten-it down firmly.

For your tuning problem, tuning is a science and you need to gain tuning experiences before you can adjust your engine perfectly.

That's the reason why I guess you better:

A- Go back to your LHS and find some help from the guy that sell it to ya
B- If A is not possible, go to a RC track and ask for help.