Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

Beginner here, need some help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2006, 01:55 AM
Max_Tamiya_Fan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner here, need some help!

Hey everyone, i just joined RCU about an hour ago and so far all i can say is... WOW! This has gotta be one of the best RC related sites ive seen. I am just getting into this, so sorry if i ask a lot of questions heh.
Well i have decided that i want to buy a truck, and the one that has really caught my eye is the Tamiya TXT-1. From what i have heard, electrics are a little easier to maintain and whatnot, so i figured i would start out with that. I knew this was gonna cost a bit of money to start out with, but i totally forgot that you have to buy the charger, battery pack, and controller seperate. So i have decided to buy the kit, and then get the rest afterwards. I am looking for any tips that you guys and gals have for me, and i am also searching the forums for anything that will help me. Glad to be hear and hope to hear from y'all soon!
Old 06-26-2006, 02:44 AM
JFACKY

Default RE: Beginner here, need some help!

Well Max, First let me Welcome you to the site. Tamiyas are great kits . I'm on my second Thundershot. The first one I owned was WAAAY back in 88 just after they first came out. I got interested in the hobby again about a year ago and picked up another one.

The kits are pretty easy to assemble, if you follow the directions.

As far as the rest goes.
1) Get a middle to upper end FM computer radio. You'll be better off in the long run. They are far more adjustable then the cheaper AM ones and you can, if you get more than one vehicale you can set up different models on the same radio. I have a Futaba 3PM
2) batteries. read around the site and you'll get an idea of witch ones are better.