RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

radio battiers

Reply

Old 04-16-2003, 04:32 AM
  #1  
17champ
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: bienfait sask. can.
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio battiers

Hey guys I want to put a 1700mah 6v battery pack on my t-maxx.
Any body done this?will the reciever handle this.
17champ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 05:28 AM
  #2  
dainjarouz
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 90
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio battiers

as long as the voltage is between 4.8 and 6v, mah doesnt really matter
dainjarouz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 08:44 AM
  #3  
adeoliver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Douglas, WY
Posts: 842
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio battiers

It will work fine, I use to run 1800mah 6volt Rx packs in my trucks, and never had any problems, basicaly all that number means is better run time with a little more punch, kinda like a bigger fuel tank with a leaner mixture.
adeoliver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 02:34 AM
  #4  
packfan88
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: staten island , NY
Posts: 1,515
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio battiers

ive found out the voltage on a "6.0 volt" pack fomr somewhere like tower hobbies actually puts out higher than 6.0 volts.
freshly charged it come out closer to 7.0 so in any event ........ditto you can use it with out trouble in your rig.

homemade tip
you can take your existing battery pack and just "add-on" a 5th AA cell to give you the same results.
packfan88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 05:24 AM
  #5  
17champ
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: bienfait sask. can.
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio battiers

THANKS GUYS.I HAVE FLOWN RC PLANES FOR 15 YEARS AND USE THE LARGER PACKS BUT THIS T-MAXX RADIO SEEMED CHEAP,SO I WAS NOT SURE.
17champ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 12:59 PM
  #6  
savageforce
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio battiers

Mah is only a capacity rating...the higher the number, the more "juice" it'll hold. The voltage output is what you need to be concerned with. However, be careful when you charge it. Keep the charge rate at 1amp. Any higher will only shorten the life of the batteries, as well as your run time.

If you're running an electric truck, then you charge around 3-5amp (depending on the quality of the batteries). The higher the amp charge, the more "punch" the batteries will have, but they will discharge quicker.

Being that you don't need to worry about "punch" with the RX battery, keeping the charge rate at 1amp will insure you get a long run time out of it.

I have 1600Mah AA Sanyo's from Ballistic Batteries and I can go ALL day with my Tx and the voltage will barely drop! Good batteries make a world of difference.
savageforce is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 03:36 PM
  #7  
JeDi_MaStEr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio battiers

hey not to switch subjects..however...madforce83..you have the ultimate workshop.kudos to you, i thought I had a sweet setup in my home office, but man you take the cake!!I am green with envy
JeDi_MaStEr is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service