RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

Savage Tuning Question

Reply

Old 06-10-2003, 03:56 PM
  #1  
Justintoxicated
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 421
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Savage Tuning Question

Well i broke in my savage with the factory settings, After about the 7th tank I decided to tune it a Bit.

I leaned both LSN and HSN by 1/2 turn. The manual says between 2.5 & 3 turns after break in.

Well after a couple tanks of gas more (2 or 3) I was hitting second gear pretty nice, there was no bog and it seemed pretty tuned!

Now I put on a motosaver air filter and fuel filter and I feel It may need some richening up, but the manual says between 2.5 & 3 turns, and Im already at 3 turns. Is the manual takeing the stock air filter into consideration? I left it alone my first run, and the engin ran a bit hot, and it bogged slightly after ideling every now n then. So Im guessing that I should probably lean the LSN and ricen the HSN a little past 3 turns due to the new filter?

Is it ok to go over 3 turns rich?
Justintoxicated is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 04:25 PM
  #2  
Legendary
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Monee, IL,
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default It can take some figuring!

From one day to the next you may have to re-tune your truck! From what I have read about the Savage on this forum you should leave the LSN alone and only lean out the HSN! I think it was Unstable that said "If I turn the LSN 1/8 of a turn in either direction from stock it does not run right"!
Legendary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 05:20 PM
  #3  
Justintoxicated
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 421
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Savage Tuning Question

maybe i will richen it some more then, but it was working perfect at 3 tuns out, opposed form stock 3.5
Justintoxicated is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 05:47 PM
  #4  
Alteramod
Senior Member
 
Alteramod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cyclone, PA
Posts: 920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Savage Tuning Question

well really after break just adjust it to where it runs good without over heating. So if you find that richening is working then do it....
Alteramod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 03:53 AM
  #5  
Justintoxicated
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 421
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Savage Tuning Question

what is that article about reading the glow plug? I richened it some and it ran fine, a little cooler. Not sure how to tell if the LSN is tuned or not. It sounds like it idles high, but im new to nitro so i don't really know.
Justintoxicated is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service