Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

what do you think?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2009, 03:35 PM
kyle 9

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what do you think?

so i just got back from my LHS and i was talking to the guy. I asked him what i should get, since i am new to the hobby. He told me i should get electric. The thing is i dont really want electric i want nitro. He told me nitro could get to frustrating and can make me get mad. Personally i want nitro, i love the sound of it, and it just seems tougher.

I was looking around, and all they stock is traxxas. No HPI or anything. The guy told me i should either get the rustler, or slash. He said that they race the slashes stock, and he said the rustler wouldnt be able to compete in the 1/10 stadium truck league (compared to AE, Losi).

I wanted an HPI savge XL, but since they only stock traxxas, i would have to get the Revo 3.3, or T-maxx 3.3 (4908). Im alittle angry and disappointed. I thought i could just get a nitro as my first vehicle.

Please tell me what i should do, should i just get the slash, or should i still get a t-maxx or revo. Thanks.
Old 02-27-2009, 04:03 PM
The_Collector

Default RE: what do you think?

Nothing wrong with starting nitro. However, the LHS guy wasn't lying about the frustration. Nitro isn't as easy as plug-and-go electric. You will need to have some patience, especially when breaking-in the engine and adjusting the carb. Nitros are easier than ever to own. Most manufacturers have excellent manuals with their RTR nitro cars. If you follow the instructions and take the time, you will minimalize your frustration.
Old 02-27-2009, 04:15 PM
kyle 9

ORIGINAL: The_Collector