RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

Rd Logic pipe Help

Reply

Old 06-13-2003, 01:41 AM
  #1  
cemeb4dk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
cemeb4dk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rd Logic pipe Help

I purchased a one piece rd logic tuned pipe for my savage from hpisavageforum.com

It came with no instructions and i can't figure out the install. and i know a couple of you have this exact one.

This is what i got:
Header, Pipe, 1 lg spring, 3 small, 1 rubber gasket, 1 hex nut, 1 long straight mounting arm with a loop at top.

I know the 3 springs hold the pipe to the header. and the lg spring goes around crank case. header will not fit over stock rubber exhaust gasket, but the new one fits. So i put the new one on the case, and the stock one inbetween the header and pipe.

Not sure if that is right but i can work with that.

My real questoin is the mounting the end to stabilize. I know the rod slips thru the hole and the hex nut tightens but where does the rod mount to the truck. I tried using stock exhaust bracket but to far of a reach.

Sorry for so long thread, but need to get this installed. if any have a picture with the pipe installed that would help.


Thanks
cemeb4dk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 03:16 AM
  #2  
Legendary
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Monee, IL,
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default You need a part!

Something like this!
Legendary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 03:38 AM
  #3  
cemeb4dk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
cemeb4dk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rd Logic pipe Help

See i have a rod like that but it has a loop at the end. The silver cap is attached to my pipe and the hex nut i have.

It is just that the rod is straight and it doesn't reach to anything on the chasis. I guess i may have to custom bend the rod.

Why is it that these after market products say for the savage and I have to alter them or buy an additional piece just so they fit. I had to buy an extension coupler for my motorsaver filter that said it was for the savage. But it doesn't clear the spur gear. so another trip to the hobby shop and another 3 bucks for the coupler.
cemeb4dk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 03:50 AM
  #4  
Legendary
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Monee, IL,
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I know what you mean!

I have bought many parts for my Maxx and had to buy extra stuff to get them to work! The only part or I should say parts I bought that were ready to go (other thaen stock ones) was my XTM .21 conversion kits! They came with everything you needed to finish the job! If they sell something that says for a X truck it should be bolt on ready to go or at least say what is needed on the package!
Legendary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 04:07 AM
  #5  
cemeb4dk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
cemeb4dk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rd Logic pipe Help

Amen
cemeb4dk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 06:00 AM
  #6  
badboy2
My Feedback: (13)
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rd Logic pipe Help

here is how i did it..i did not buy another part but it works great and had a couple of turns and landed on the pipe side and no problem
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	86081_25726.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	31.4 KB
ID:	50280  
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 06:01 AM
  #7  
badboy2
My Feedback: (13)
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rd Logic pipe Help

one more
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	86082_25726.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	40.2 KB
ID:	50281  
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 06:03 AM
  #8  
badboy2
My Feedback: (13)
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rd Logic pipe Help

hope it helps you..the twisting of that wire its not that hard..but before u bend it put the pipe first..then bend it towards the hole ...goodluck dude..
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 06:05 AM
  #9  
badboy2
My Feedback: (13)
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rd Logic pipe Help

the coupler for the motorsaver filter is the one from the pipe u can use that one and it fits perfectly
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 03:22 PM
  #10  
cemeb4dk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
cemeb4dk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rd Logic pipe Help

Thanks for the pics and help....
cemeb4dk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 03:28 PM
  #11  
badboy2
My Feedback: (13)
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rd Logic pipe Help

no problem..
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service