RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

steering servo for savage

Reply

Old 06-14-2003, 11:56 PM
  #1  
neonspin
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Eastpointe MI
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default steering servo for savage

I just bought a savage recently and I am not to impressed with the steering. I wanted to upgrade the steering servo but am not to sure which one to get. I was wondering if I could get some suggestions from you guys. Thanks.
neonspin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2003, 02:26 AM
  #2  
new72Savage
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: phoenix, AZ
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default steering servo for savage

hi tech 645

metal gears
133 oz @ 6.0v
$50


see the follwing link for installation/mod tips
http://www.savage-central.com/ftopic1924.html
new72Savage is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2003, 04:06 AM
  #3  
badboy2
My Feedback: (13)
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default steering servo for savage

are u talkin about the turns that makes the truck roll over ?would a steering servo takes that off
badboy2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2003, 01:30 PM
  #4  
neonspin
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Eastpointe MI
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default steering servo for savage

No, the promblem I'm having is that the tires won't turn unless your rolling. Maybe it's just me but this is a pain in the butt at times. I've pretty much drive 1/8 scale buggies. This is my first monster truck. I really don't know but I thought these things would turn alittle better. Hell maybe I'm just trying to compare apples to oranges when compared to my buggies.
neonspin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2003, 02:00 PM
  #5  
BUGGIES_R_US
 
BUGGIES_R_US's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 3,342
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default steering servo for savage

Yep!
A Higher Torque servo will fix that.

Iuse the Hitec 945/925 and they are simply awesome!!
But the 6 series might be a better choise if you dont wanna toss money away just to look cool

ram
BUGGIES_R_US is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2003, 02:45 PM
  #6  
Legendary
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Monee, IL,
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Why do you need to turn if your not moving??

Seems to me the only time you need to turn is while you are moving but, that's just me! Even stock if you turn in a direction and blip the throttle it is going that way! I have a high torque steering servo and still can't turn the wheels sitting still because I am not getting the full torque out of the servo at 4.8v (rechargeables) but, my steeing is great IMO!
Legendary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2003, 10:25 PM
  #7  
Wild Gopher
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 202
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default steering servo for savage

do the monster pirate servo saver upgrade ($18) along with the MG servo, I prefer Hitec 5645 Digital MG @ 6v, and those 2 will give you killer steering
Wild Gopher is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service