RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

drill start

Reply

Old 06-20-2003, 04:57 PM
  #1  
budlhtfan
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: arcadia, ohio
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default drill start

is it possible to change the recoil starter to a drill start?i keep breaking springs in my maximum pro mt recoil starter and really dont like the whole starting system. any info would be great. or if anybody knows personally about an electric starting box that works on this truck.
budlhtfan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 05:16 PM
  #2  
BUGGIES_R_US
 
BUGGIES_R_US's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 3,342
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default drill start

What kinda truck are you gonna run this on?

Try doing a search on "yank eleminator" or drill start.

A few people have talked about this before.

ram
BUGGIES_R_US is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 07:50 PM
  #3  
Dr. Krass
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default drill start

yes, i did that with my first nitro MT, a Maximum MT (junk), after the recoil unit broke and pissed me off. All i did was remove the starter, get a drill with a socket drill bit, a 4" socket extension, and a 9/16 socket. Just attach the end of the socket to the one-way nut that is in the recoil starter. Works great as long as you have a nice drill.
Dr. Krass is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 08:59 PM
  #4  
Razoo
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ballston Spa, NY
Posts: 576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default drill start

According to Duratrax, there is no starter box that will work with the maximum series vehicles because the fly wheel does not extend far enough thru the chassis.
Razoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 09:40 PM
  #5  
Legendary
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Monee, IL,
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default If you are still using the stock tires??

You will need to watch out or the drill spining can rub a hole in the tires! I know as I have a MT Pro and use a drill start with a much longer extention then 4"! It's more like 12"! Don't buy a "Yank" eliminator they suck! I went through 2 of them in 2 weeks! My MT Pro now has 2.2 tires and rims and it handles way better then it did stock!
Legendary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 02:28 AM
  #6  
budlhtfan
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: arcadia, ohio
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default drill start

this is also going on a maximum pro. thanks for the info to all .
budlhtfan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 03:04 PM
  #7  
Dr. Krass
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default drill start

ya, he makes a good point, if you don't use a socket extention on the drill, the end of the drill will rub the tires. my tires have huge holes.
Dr. Krass is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service