RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

Sirio .18 for Tmaxx question...

Reply

Old 06-23-2003, 10:30 PM
  #1  
Epik
Member
Thread Starter
 
Epik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA,
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sirio .18 for Tmaxx question...

I've finally decided to upgrade my Tmaxx's 2.5 to the Sirio .18 6 port engine. For those of you that have this engine in their tmaxx's what else do you suggest on upgrading on the Tmaxx that's a must.
Thanks in advance.
Epik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 10:43 PM
  #2  
Legendary
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Monee, IL,
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I don't have a Sirio,

But, I do have a .21 and a .25 and I would say you would need a steel spur gear and beef up the drive line! I have also added steel and aluminum trans gears but, you may not have to do that!
Legendary is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 12:38 AM
  #3  
Epik
Member
Thread Starter
 
Epik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA,
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sirio .18 for Tmaxx question...

Thanks for the info.
Epik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 01:13 AM
  #4  
maxxdaddy74
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Homestead, FL,
Posts: 177
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sirio .18 for Tmaxx question...

Just remember that you cant expect to beef up one part and solve all the problems. Its like putting a 454 in a chevette, you have to beef up the tranny and the drive shafts as well. The stock parts were engineered to work with the stock powerplant and now you are putting almost twice the H.P. and torque. They will not last long. The Sirio is a great engine and it has tons of power compared to the 2.5. I first beefed up my spur gear and then the clutch bell stripped. After beefing the clutch bell up the drive axles went. After beefing the drive axles the ring & pinion went. After beefing the ring & pinion the diff cup went. To solve that I just loosened the slipper a 1/4 turn. Do you see where I'm going here. The Maxx is a great truck but it is has a costly maintenance program if you plan on upgrading the engine.
maxxdaddy74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 03:00 AM
  #5  
Epik
Member
Thread Starter
 
Epik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA,
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sirio .18 for Tmaxx question...

Thanks for the info Maxxdaddy. I know I will have to upgrade the Tmaxx constantly after the new engine, but I will upgrade those parts as they get broken I was just wondering what was a mandatory upgrade as soon as I slapped on the engine.
Epik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 03:34 AM
  #6  
lamp3y3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sirio .18 for Tmaxx question...

I ran the .18 in my stock tmaxx for a long time without any problems. Just keep the spur slipping enough and you will be ok. Also, If I were you I would stay with the stock pipe and bore it out with a 1/4" drill bit. You will get more torque and a smooth power band with it unlike the sirio .18 pipe - for me anways.

I dont know but after i upgraded all my stuff i got problems now. I lost the rear diff today and I have no clue as to why. I wasnt pushing the truck very hard for it to go out.

These alum knuckles are a pain to get adjusted right for camber and toe and personally I dont like using the upgraded steering servo. It has a tendency to oversteer too easily now.
lamp3y3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 07:43 AM
  #7  
Epik
Member
Thread Starter
 
Epik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA,
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sirio .18 for Tmaxx question...

Thanks for the info lamp3y3. I just ordered the Sirio and I guess I wont upgrade anything that's not mandatory until it breaks
Epik is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service