RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

Quick MT2 Q?

Reply
Old 05-14-2011, 11:30 AM
  #1
pauly187
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: , CA
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Quick MT2 Q?

so my friend purchesed a MT2 for 120 used and dropped another 50 bucks on it for fails safe and fuel line and little other nuts and bolts
turns out the engine is blow when he tryed to run it
so needs a new engine
he doesnt want to deal with it so went out and bought electric and wants to get rid of the MT2
he offered it to me for a 100
you think its worth if?
if i bought it off him i would buy an os.18 and new transmitter..i would be spending close to 300 including the price of the truck to get it up and running....is it worth it?
pauly187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 04:15 PM
  #2
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,761
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

Sure the engine is shot?
Does it have pinch? try rotating the flywheel with the plug out. If it has resistance at the top of the stroke it probably is ok.
Try a new glow plug. I found MC9's to work fine in it.

$100 ain't bad for a MT2 roller though.
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 05:27 PM
  #3
pauly187
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: , CA
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

ya its done
it fires and runs for five mins then dies....
no pinch
purtty sure shes dead haha

pauly187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 05:30 PM
  #4
unclezesta
 
unclezesta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 742
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

tune it?
unclezesta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 06:34 PM
  #5
pauly187
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: , CA
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

been tuned
shes dead no question
pauly187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 07:41 PM
  #6
unclezesta
 
unclezesta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 742
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

well then let me put it this way... the kit version (18ss+) cost me around 250 without electronics, and i bought an o.s. 18 off my friends. so in my opinion, yeah thats a great deal.
unclezesta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 09:03 AM
  #7
pauly187
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: , CA
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

awesome....
thanks guys
with the os .18 what kind of speed should i be getting?
im looking to woop on my savage ss and lrp 30 xl think its possable with this little mt2? or should i be looking ata bigger motor for the little truck?
pauly187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 02:08 PM
  #8
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,761
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

ahh ok 5 mins yea pinch is shot. Mt 2 MT1's were both like that.

If you have a big block engine laying around could always slap that on the mt2
Quite a few people have put k4.6's, and .30 sized engines in them
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 06:54 PM
  #9
pauly187
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: , CA
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

a bb would rip the drive trainno?
pauly187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 05:22 AM
  #10
Ruger-777
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: grantsburg, WI
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

You will probably want to upgrade to HD/ss diffs even with the o.s. 18.
Ruger-777 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 09:43 AM
  #11
pauly187
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: , CA
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?



i think the plan is to throw in the os 18 and a ths pipe and buy a 2.4ghz for it and call it a day.....the rest ill upgrade as it breaks...hopefully not much haha

pauly187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 11:14 PM
  #12
unclezesta
 
unclezesta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 742
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

with my o.s. 18cv, which i bought used off my good friend who i know did an expert break in on it and maintained it as well as it can be done, i think i am doing over 50mph. i was driving it in short grass alongside a road with a speed limit of 55, and i was consistently passing cars.
unclezesta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 07:05 PM
  #13
pauly187
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: , CA
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

50+ this sounds fun haha
pauly187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 08:00 PM
  #14
unclezesta
 
unclezesta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 742
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Quick MT2 Q?

yeah its pretty awesome. the torque is my favorite though. the closest place to run by my home is a big park with two baseball diamonds. loose dirt under power would be like ICE if my tires weren't so good for it.
unclezesta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:55 AM.